26 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cloudy - Single Review: I'll Stay

28 Jan 2021 // A review by Bethany Mountford

Claudia Paine AKA Cloudy is an alternative-pop singer songwriter from Auckland. I’ll Stay is the first single to be released from her upcoming EP, titled Good Grief.

This single fits snug within the alt-pop genre. It begins gently with just the guitar and muted, echoey vocals, setting up an ethereal vibe that remains throughout the song. It picks up at around a minute when the drums drop in to a fun and poppy chorus that increases the danceability of the song tenfold. The sing-songy chorus is repeated throughout the song, maybe a few too many times, but even so it remains nice to listen to.

Cloudy has a really lovely voice and the production of the song does it justice. The tidy drums and sweet guitar make for an all-round catchy song that will linger in your head all day.

If you’re after an easy, atmospheric song for a summer afternoon then I’ll Stay is a winner. I’m sure the rest of the EP will be well worth a listen too.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Cloudy

Cloudy is a Kiwi-Austrian alternative-pop singer songwriter from Auckland, New Zealand. Her passions of songwriting are brought to life in the comforts of her bedroom where she brings forth a personal and unique voice. Cloudy captures you with her raw and honest emotions which can be a vulnerable and compelling experience. Her music is original and imaginative crossing worlds of alternative-pop and indie sounds.

With the success of her two first studio releases, Dear Dunkin (2019) and Addicted to You (2020), she began her journey in the recording studio working closely with her producer Harry Charles to record her debut EP titled Good Grief which is set to be released early February/March 2021 . The first track Ill Stay from her EP will be released 8th of January 2021.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cloudy

Releases

There are no releases to display for Cloudy.

Other Reviews By Bethany Mountford

Lunavela - Single Review: Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend
21 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I'm not gonna lie; Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend was stuck in my head for a solid week after I listened to it for the first time – so be warned. Perhaps the reason it stuck so solidly in my head was that I kept finding myself in the painfully mundane and tricky situations that it laments.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Africa
10 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
One thing is for sure. Wellington is not warm enough to do this song justice.
Read More...
Samuel Gaskin - Single/Video Review: Reckoning
31 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Reckoning is a new single and video release from Samuel Gaskin that follows in the wake of his stage production by the same name. New Zealand born and now based in Melbourne, Gaskin intertwines his own roots and the roots of his current placing in this video, with a cast of 20 First Nations Aboriginal and Maori performers.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - Single Review: The Phoenix
19 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Wow! I knew this track would be something else before I even listened to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Bluey Green
08 Jul 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
July 9, 2021, sees the first ever release of Bluey Green – the self-titled EP. As I sometimes do with reviews, I dived right into this EP before reading about, or even having heard of Bluey Green, and nothing could have been a more fitting description than the wavering, reflective shine of the ocean that the name alone evokes.
Read More...
Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Album Review: Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
21 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Everything Is As It Shouldn’t Be is the latest release from Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons, and boy it is a wild ride. The album takes self-proclaimed inspiration from “Bob-Dylan, Talking Heads, Claude Debussy, Velvet Underground and Radiohead,” so I went in with eclectic expectations.
Read More...
Gig Review: Oh Sweet Nothings @ Valhalla, Wellington - 06/06/2021
09 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I’m not sure what I expected, but last Sunday’s Oh Sweet Nothings album release party painted a very interesting scene at Valhalla. The following day, Monday, was to be Queen’s birthday bank holiday and town was consequently busier than the usual Sunday, littered with drunkards and litter.
Read More...
Renée Therése - Single Review: The Train Man
22 Apr 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
The Train Man is the third single from the album Better With Friends by Renée Therése, due to be released in May. The song tells the tale of a passionate train driver, dutiful and modest, a real working-class man.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bethany Mountford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem