20 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • The First Child - Gig Review: The First Child @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 22/01/2021

The First Child - Gig Review: The First Child @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 22/01/2021

24 Jan 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

When I sent Mariner the review of their gig the previous week, singer Adam told me they were playing Ding Dong again on the Friday, so I thought to myself why not? So, for the second consecutive Friday I made my way into central Auckland to everyone’s favourite rock dive. The gig this week had been organised by Lily Mou from The First Child, with Mariner being the only band I knew on the bill. I caught up with some of the band beforehand, and it was also nice to see Aidan from On Tick and James from Black Sands showing their support for the event.

First band up were Club Ruby, a quintet who from the off provided loads of punky pop energy, with Wearing Me Out being really quite staccato and reminiscent of the early Eighties scene. The band were all working hard, but attention kept being drawn to singer Jade Lewis, who is determined to stand out in a crowd both visually and sonically. As she said at one point, “life is too short not to have crazy hair”, and vocally she kept reminding me of Siouxsie Sioux. Tonight, they were apparently featuring a few new numbers, and they did lose some of the pace and energy with slower songs, while there were times when Jade was singing a little sharp, something not so noticeable when they were blasting through at pace. Their cover of Paramore’s All I Wanted may not have been completely there, but the audience were having loads of fun. The band were having a blast and really enjoying what they were doing, and they are certainly an outfit I will be happy to go and see again. I must also make a mention of drummer Josh Johnston, as he not only kept it all together but was also wearing the coolest Abba t-shirt I have ever seen in my life!

Mariner were next up, returning to the venue where the week before they had definitely made a breakthrough, which had provided a massive boost to their confidence. I must admit to being a little disappointed in Cullen dialling down his sartorial elegance (last week it was Jesse from Cafe Fistfight, what is it with bassists?), but with the same set as the week before and a new-found belief in themselves, they were going to have fun and take the crowd along for the ride. Singer Adam seemed somewhat more animated, as the whole band are beginning to find their feet on stage, really starting to gel as a unit, and as they relax more and enjoy themselves so do the crowd. Right from opening number Treehouse Stories the crowd were with them, dancing and having fun, with plenty of energy both on and off the stage, while One Idea is proving to be a great up-tempo blast. Their version of All The Small Things is definitely a real crowd pleaser, as yet again they get everyone down onto the floor so they can all jump up on cue. Barman Regan, who apparently is a pop punk princess, turned to me after that and admitted it was a really solid version. They again closed with Vaype Nashe, and here was another job well done.

Next up were Dogtooth Amethyst, another band new to me, but as the guys started to set up their gear, I started to pay serious attention. The reason for that is the two guitarists, Joseph Macedo and Aaron Simpson, both had 8-strings attached while Jack Walker-Tate was confidently wearing a 6-string bass. It is generally a truism that musicians who are confident enough to play that sort of equipment are incredibly adept at what they do, meaning the music is often complex and complicated. I had undertaken some research and knew they listed themselves as a progressive metal band, which added to my expectations, and when I positioned myself in readiness to take a few photos I could see that drummer Keoghan Palmer was also setting himself up to be able to trigger some samples and backing tracks as well. Microphone stands were dispensed with, and up stepped singer Alanah Paige who said, “If you haven’t seen us before, well you are about to” and they crunched straight into Discipline. I am not sure what I was expecting from the band, given the line-up and instruments, but it wasn’t this. The band were full-on right from the off, get on board or get out of the way, with a determination to simply blast the audience into submission. Musically the band are producing multiple interweaving patterns of sound, often led by the rhythm section with guitars intermingling and taking it to the next level, and then there is Alanah. In many ways she reminds me of ex-Arch Enemy singer Angela Gossow, with really guttural sounds coming from the diaphragm, but when the time is right, she can also provide more normal vocals, often switching between the two in the same song, reminiscent of the approach of Rody Walker (Protest The Hero).

What really sets this band apart is amidst all the frenetic action and sheer brutality of what they are doing, is there is a real groove inherent in the sound. The set was only five songs long, but that was plenty of enough time for me to come away massively impressed. The use of some backing tracks at certain points allows them to add a few harmony vocals and some basic synth lines, and what this does is add polish on top of what is already a very tight unit indeed. There was nothing flash or fancy about the visual performance, with Alanah often being the focal point as she was the only one moving on what appeared to be a very crowded stage with pedalboards, this was all about the music which contained elements of SOAD, Sepultura, Arch Enemy and so many more. Definitely a band to keep an eye on as they deliver a real aggressive musical approach which grabs the audience from the off and never drops the pace.

I felt really sorry for The First Child, as tonight just was not their night. First off, they had expected to be playing much earlier than the time they made it onto the stage (11:30), and some of the audience had left by the time they got started. There was also a long changeover, and when they started there was obviously massive sound problems. Lily Mou gives his all, and the aggressive over the top approach of the band allows him to vent his venom, but the problem for most of the set was that it was impossible to hear him. For some reason, the vocals were not coming through, and even though they switched microphones, the audience were not getting the sound, and the bass was overly loud and drowning out most of the guitars. This meant that for all their energy and enthusiasm the crowd were just getting part of the overall sonic picture, and although those at the front could probably hear Lily just due to proximity, the rest of us had no chance. They had a guest singer jump on stage for their last number, Stupid Horse, and Lily took over Ariki’s bass, who also grabbed a microphone, but even though the twin vocalist approach looked great, we just could not hear what was taking place. I have been to numerous gigs at Ding Dong, and Dave is a great soundman, so I have no idea what was going on, and it was obvious there was little he could do to resolve it.

But overall, it was another great night at the Ding Dong Lounge, and there was no doubt who was band of the night tonight, as Dogtooth Amethyst just took the intensity to a whole new level.   


Photo credit: Kev Rowland

 

About The First Child

The First Child (previously known as REI) formed in mid 2015 with the single goal of subverting tiring and overdone hardcore and metal tropes in favour of experimental and progressive ideas that welcome all genres to form the basis of the band's sound from the likes of indie emo, funk, alternative rock, and avant-garde.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The First Child

Releases

Greying Into Bloom
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

LearningToDive - Single Review: You Said It Best
17 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Learningtodive is one of a series of projects from Bravo Bonez, a musician and producer currently based in Wellington, New Zealand. He released his first single under this name back in November last year, since when he has followed it up with more singles and his debut album Norwegian Pop, which came out in April.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem