18 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

James Hunter - EP Review: You

21 Jan 2021 // A review by Darryl Baser

There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary. Then there are times when you listen to an artist you’ve never heard before, you put the recording on, and practically by the first chorus you’re engaged. James Hunter’s You EP is exactly the latter.

It opens up with the title track, which begins with him sighing, then very gentle, and faultless arpeggio on an acoustic guitar. The song builds gradually and so subtlety that you hardly notice its intensity with a massive crescendo near the end.

For those like me, until I heard this EP, who haven’t heard James Hunter’s voice. I urge you, please listen. The upper register of his falsetto makes me think of boy sopranos or, in very much olden times, castrato singers (you don’t have to be a Rhodes scholar to figure out what might make a castrato singer be able to reach very high notes, it’s kind of in the word castrato). Take a minute, think about it if you need to, but make sure you’re listening to this exquisite EP while you do.

There are three other songs on the EP; Let Me Sing To You, Dear Beautiful and Dance of The Woods. All three could easily be singles as they’re stand-out songs in their own right.

Let Me Sing To You is pretty much the perfect love song, it has heart, pathos, it’s a bit a yearning, totally soppy. I love it so much. As a 50-year-old fullah with a pathological revulsion of poorly written schmaltzy clichéd crap, it’s not typically in my lexicon to say I love this love song, but there you go, this song is that song.

I don’t do 5 star reviews lightly at all, but this is a 5 and a half.

It’s like each son was the song that James Hunter had to play and record before the world ended.

An excellent sophomore EP from this song writer who is shining a bright beacon for the future of songwriting in Aotearoa.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About James Hunter

James Hunter is an alternative folk musician hailing from Wellington, New Zealand. Having been a writer and a performer all his life, Hunter writes, records, and produces records that are minimal in scope, but intimate through his vocal delivery.

The abrupt appearance of COVID 19 allowed Hunter the chance to release Two EPs, Last Little While and You which were created entirely from a small room in his Wellington flat.

Hunter’s sounds are created in narratives that allow listeners to journey with him through vulnerable places in the human soul: love, fear, faith, joy, pain. He hopes to share his life with others, in the hope of growing with others and being able to connect with others in the process.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for James Hunter

Releases

You
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Last Little While
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Nigel Parry - Single Review: One Word War
02 Dec 2021 // by Darryl Baser
“Me job to pick off the Hun, In the sights a lad like me, One shot, and I’m alone;” just a few of the lines of this stunning, beautiful and at times harrowing poem based on Nigel Parry’s family history of relations serving in World War I. 7:56 is typically too long for a single, Queen found that out when they first tried to release Bohemian Rhapsody.
Read More...
Aidan Ripley - Single Review: Let Us Bloom
24 Nov 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Teenage singer-songwriter Aidan Ripley released his new single Let Us Bloom on all platforms October 2021. The song is a stripped back acoustic guitar song which sounds like a solo love ballad, until Ripley’s partner Caspian Wilder adds her voice.
Read More...
Bundy Lore - Album Review: Failures Peach
30 Oct 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Duncan Harwood (Dumb Dumb Head, Happy Hearse) releases his debut solo album Failures Peach under the moniker Bundy Lore. I’ve heard a lot of great first albums and Failures Peach sits nicely amongst them.
Read More...
Michael Llewellyn - Album Review: Oh My Darling
14 Oct 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Even though the press for Michael Llewellyn’s Oh My Darling album describe it as "a break up album in its purest", it seems he may have worked through some of the heartache and misery by the time he recorded it. It begins with the up-tempo Doolie, which sounds like a new romance beginning, full of love and hope.
Read More...
Montgomery - Single Review: Lonely, Only
17 Sep 2021 // by Darryl Baser
George Manning AKA Montgomery releases Lonely, Only today, and, oh my gosh, it’s a hauntingly beautiful song. In a world where for many artists their next single release has to be even more of a banger than their last, Montgomery’s Lonely, Only is packed full of heart and gentle charm.
Read More...
Gig Review: PRINS @ Dog With Two Tails, Dunedin - 31/07/2021
01 Aug 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Solo guy Alex Dykes opens up the evening using a kick drum trigger for a regular thump, an acoustic guitar, and a voice which is well-worn beyond his years. As he begins playing those who were hanging out in the cafe come through.
Read More...
Miss Leading - Album Review: Minor Thing
23 Jul 2021 // by Darryl Baser
When reviewing albums by artists you’ve never heard of can be a lottery, sometimes you don’t quite ‘get’ the album, and sometimes you’re like ‘wow’. Minor Thing by Miss Leading is totally in the ‘wow’ category.
Read More...
Gig Review: Drax Project @ Dunedin Town Hall, Dunedin - 02/06/2021
04 Jul 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Auckland based singer AACACIA was onstage and singing with her band as many people walked in at 7:25pm ahead of the advertised start time. In 2019 AACACIA posted a clip asking to play support to Drax Project, and last night she did.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem