20 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

James Hunter - EP Review: You

21 Jan 2021 // A review by Darryl Baser

There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary. Then there are times when you listen to an artist you’ve never heard before, you put the recording on, and practically by the first chorus you’re engaged. James Hunter’s You EP is exactly the latter.

It opens up with the title track, which begins with him sighing, then very gentle, and faultless arpeggio on an acoustic guitar. The song builds gradually and so subtlety that you hardly notice its intensity with a massive crescendo near the end.

For those like me, until I heard this EP, who haven’t heard James Hunter’s voice. I urge you, please listen. The upper register of his falsetto makes me think of boy sopranos or, in very much olden times, castrato singers (you don’t have to be a Rhodes scholar to figure out what might make a castrato singer be able to reach very high notes, it’s kind of in the word castrato). Take a minute, think about it if you need to, but make sure you’re listening to this exquisite EP while you do.

There are three other songs on the EP; Let Me Sing To You, Dear Beautiful and Dance of The Woods. All three could easily be singles as they’re stand-out songs in their own right.

Let Me Sing To You is pretty much the perfect love song, it has heart, pathos, it’s a bit a yearning, totally soppy. I love it so much. As a 50-year-old fullah with a pathological revulsion of poorly written schmaltzy clichéd crap, it’s not typically in my lexicon to say I love this love song, but there you go, this song is that song.

I don’t do 5 star reviews lightly at all, but this is a 5 and a half.

It’s like each son was the song that James Hunter had to play and record before the world ended.

An excellent sophomore EP from this song writer who is shining a bright beacon for the future of songwriting in Aotearoa.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About James Hunter

James Hunter is an alternative folk musician hailing from Wellington, New Zealand. Having been a writer and a performer all his life, Hunter writes, records, and produces records that are minimal in scope, but intimate through his vocal delivery.

The abrupt appearance of COVID 19 allowed Hunter the chance to release Two EPs, Last Little While and You which were created entirely from a small room in his Wellington flat.

Hunter’s sounds are created in narratives that allow listeners to journey with him through vulnerable places in the human soul: love, fear, faith, joy, pain. He hopes to share his life with others, in the hope of growing with others and being able to connect with others in the process.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for James Hunter

Releases

You
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Reuben Hudson - Single Review: Baby Bedside
23 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are many things which can derail a musician’s career, although Reuben Hudson’s reasoning may be a little less common than most. He had kidney transplant surgery in 2020.
Read More...
Vann Dizon - Single/Video Review: Let You Go
08 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Wow. Beautifully written, lyrics with heart, the composition is top form, and the production sets this song as a potential chart topper.
Read More...
Jiahu Symbols - Single Review: Northern Exposure
17 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
An interesting song, Jiahu Symbols' Northern Exposure opens with a guitar swathed in chorus, maybe a little tremolo, with a couple of bars before the song crashes into life. The verse structure is played a couple of times, before Andrew Murray-Brown begins singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Veils @ Dive, Dunedin - 08/04/2021
10 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Purple Pilgrims take to the stage. There's a round of polite applause after their first song, and half way through their second, I start to hear a very 4AD sound; think Cocteau Twins, circa the Iceblink Luck period.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ Mornington Tap House, Dunedin - 25/03/2021
27 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
The opening act Marlin's Dreaming slide into a well-chosen opening number. Opening with gently strummed chords, and a drum machine, which the drummer synced with well when he came in.
Read More...
The Infinity Chamber - Single Review: No Honey (Anymore)
22 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
For those of you who aren’t amongst the 1340 subscribers to his YouTube, or the nearly 47,000 who follow his Facebook page, The Infinity Chamber is Dylan Paul Ware. PC, or Pre-Covid, he travelled in the true style of a troubadour, spending time in many countries across Europe, which is kind of documented in one of the lyrics in the song; "…it’s just my old guitar and me..
Read More...
Gig Review: Crowded House & Reb Fountain @ Dunedin Town Hall, Dunedin - 11/03/2021
12 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
The exquisite Reb Fountain opens up with Hawks and Doves, and it's game on right from the get go. Sliding into the second tune, Fountain's dramatic songwriting style really suits opening this sell-out show at Dunedin's Town Hall.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Mr. Slice
27 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Straight Outta Blenheim, noisy angular post-punk band Big Scout have released an addictive new song, Mr. Slice.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem