8 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

James Hunter - EP Review: You

21 Jan 2021 // A review by Darryl Baser

There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary. Then there are times when you listen to an artist you’ve never heard before, you put the recording on, and practically by the first chorus you’re engaged. James Hunter’s You EP is exactly the latter.

It opens up with the title track, which begins with him sighing, then very gentle, and faultless arpeggio on an acoustic guitar. The song builds gradually and so subtlety that you hardly notice its intensity with a massive crescendo near the end.

For those like me, until I heard this EP, who haven’t heard James Hunter’s voice. I urge you, please listen. The upper register of his falsetto makes me think of boy sopranos or, in very much olden times, castrato singers (you don’t have to be a Rhodes scholar to figure out what might make a castrato singer be able to reach very high notes, it’s kind of in the word castrato). Take a minute, think about it if you need to, but make sure you’re listening to this exquisite EP while you do.

There are three other songs on the EP; Let Me Sing To You, Dear Beautiful and Dance of The Woods. All three could easily be singles as they’re stand-out songs in their own right.

Let Me Sing To You is pretty much the perfect love song, it has heart, pathos, it’s a bit a yearning, totally soppy. I love it so much. As a 50-year-old fullah with a pathological revulsion of poorly written schmaltzy clichéd crap, it’s not typically in my lexicon to say I love this love song, but there you go, this song is that song.

I don’t do 5 star reviews lightly at all, but this is a 5 and a half.

It’s like each son was the song that James Hunter had to play and record before the world ended.

An excellent sophomore EP from this song writer who is shining a bright beacon for the future of songwriting in Aotearoa.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About James Hunter

James Hunter is an Independent Singer/Songwriter based in Wellington. James has been writing and producing his own songs all throughout his childhood. Aside from music, Hunter is a very prolific Actor, Performer, and Film Director who is working on multiple projects in all of these areas, whether its Shakespeare in professional theatre, or the creation of original short films.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for James Hunter

Releases

You
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Big Scout - Single Review: Mr. Slice
27 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Straight Outta Blenheim, noisy angular post-punk band Big Scout have released an addictive new song, Mr. Slice.
Read More...
Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day
06 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand." It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem