9 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Cafe Fistfight - Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 15/01/2021

Cafe Fistfight - Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 15/01/2021

16 Jan 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

After going back home to Canterbury for Christmas, it was back up to Auckland last weekend and looking forward to my first gig of the year. When I realised that Cafe Fistfight had organised a 4-band bill at the Ding Dong Lounge on the Friday then of course that was the only place to be. I had a long catch up with bassist Jesse Hudson before the show, who showed me some exciting new merch the band is designing, and then I noticed the On Tick guys coming into the venue, so I popped over for a chat. I had seen some posts from guitarist/singer Aidan O’Loughlin, which made me wonder, was he really moving from Auckland to Dunedin? The answer to that is “yes”, which means that gigs from On Tick are going to become few and far between, at best. Apparently, their album should be out next month, which should be well worth hearing, but if you have yet to see these guys play then I suggest you get down to The Thirsty in a few weeks when they are playing with White Noise Mafia.

They were kicking off the proceedings tonight, so it was upstairs, and tonight there was a crowd right from the off. They were playing a fairly different set to what I had previously heard them play and they started with Nothing New, which while it has the hard hitting punk hardcore attack one expects from the trio, also has some far quieter moments. The Box also contained interesting dynamics, but when they kicked into Hound it was like the band had suddenly lifted and took it to a new level. There was far more passion and intensity, with the band working as one to really switch the energy levels. Tonight, there was time for just a six-song set from the guys, with their cover of Bullet In The Head also saw them winning many new friends.

Next up was Halo of Ashes, and from the off I was really surprised as while I have seen them before I had never really seen them like this: they were operating at a different level, with incredibly high intensity and real tightness. Matt is one of the most engaging and enjoyable front men around, always with a massive smile on his face (there are few who seem to enjoy themselves as much on stage as he does), and tonight everything gelled, and the band were pulling no punches whatsoever. They started with Won’t Back Down, and Matt was determined the crowd were going to be involved, and there were plenty of people reacting. Kein Herz is incredibly heavy, with a huge number of riffs and many different drum patterns: it really is one of those songs where it is fully driven from the back and the guys all lock in and react, but it was probably their final song, Loaded, which was the highlight. Matt said it is going to be their next single, and it is both strangely commercial and hard hitting, with a chorus and riff that really work. They really stepped it up this evening, and I look forward to catching them again soon.

After two hard-hitting acts it was time for a different style of music with the pop punk of Mariner, which was very different to what had gone before. This is another band I have seen a few times previously, and as soon as they kicked into Treehouse Stories both myself and the crowd started paying very close attention indeed. They are heavily influenced by the likes of Blink 182, and are all about having fun, and this was the first time I had seen them really relax into their music. Their confidence is building, and tonight it showed as they were tight and having fun, and the crowd reacted to it. The energy levels were high, the guitars were cutting through, there was a lot going on in the rhythm section, and at the front singer Adam Salim was in his element. He is starting to revel in his role, and enjoying getting the crowd going, and tonight the audience and band were definitely reacting to each other. One Idea has some wonderful nuances and harmony vocals, while Stabby was far more energetic with some powerful really nice bass and drum patterns. Their version of All The Small Things was massive, with everyone reacting to it and Matt Hammond (On Tick) even jumping onto the stage and straight back off again. The band had the audience exactly where they wanted them and got everyone to squat down on the floor (shades of Slipknot’s Spit It Out), all jumping up at the same time. They finished with Vaype Nayshe, and that was it. The only problem for them was that although this was genuinely the end of the set, and they were starting to changeover, the crowd were egging them on for more. This is one of the few times when I have seen an audience really demand another song, as we all know that encores are planned and they are only ever for the headline, and Mariner were genuinely surprised at what was going on. They soon got over it and reset themselves, then gave the crowd what they wanted. Speaking to the guys at the end of the night they were still somewhat in shock, as they had never had that reaction previously, and it is definitely going to set them up for the future. 2021 is going to be an interesting year for Mariner.

So how do you follow that? Quite simply you have one of the most exciting and interesting bands currently operating in Auckland. Up to this point the night had been a load of fun, with some great acts, but Cafe Fistfight took everything to a whole different level altogether. I was trying to describe the band to someone earlier in the day and I had failed miserably: Chris Moutter is an incredibly powerful singer, and a very strong acoustic guitarist, while to his right there is Josh Barker on seven-string electric guitar who has a totally different style which at times contains some shred elements, and at others more melodic. The two styles should never really go together, but instead of clashing they mesh and create something incredibly exciting. But what makes this work is the platform provided by drummer Daniel Barker, who provides lots of different drum patterns and styles, and his partner in crime bassist Jess Hudson (who also provides backing vocals). Together they constantly move the rhythms and styles, which allows Chris and Josh to ramp up the attack at the front.

Best Before started with just Chris, before Josh started finger tapping, Jesse came in on the bottom end and Dan started a strong bass drum pattern, and we were off. The quartet perform some of the tightest and most complex music around, always within the rock area but truly blending and mixing styles, so they defy being pigeonholed into one sub-genre or another. One of their distinctive elements is the use of short, sharp, breaks in the music where everyone hits their mark then stops for a beat before starting up again, often on a different musical tangent. This relies on the band being incredibly tight as there is no room for error, but this is one of their trademarks and something which they have off to a tee. This is a massively layered song, and it is hard at times to realise there are only four musicians on stage as they are all weaving intricate musical threads which somehow all come together to create a rich tapestry. Dan knows when and what to play, but more importantly also knows when not to play at all, so there are times when he sits quietly, waiting for just the right moment to come back in while at others he is driving complex patterns with both hands and feet.

Pocket Change is going to be the next single, and as with all their songs, is both related to and totally different to anything else they are doing. This bass driven number also contains a great deal of space yet is also hugely complex with loads of harmony, layering, control and power. The arrangements are key, and Free Wifi is built on yet another totally different drum approach and musical approach: it has a really commercial and catchy sound yet is so very different to anything else in the scene. The use of dynamics and contrast is incredibly powerful, yet all the time they are delivering the complexity they are all having a great time with loads of smiles onstage. The band is brimming with confidence, and the only real shock of the night was Jesse wearing a perfectly sensible black polo shirt as opposed to his normal “interesting” taste in clothing. As always, they finished with the most recent single, “King Hit Quiche”, which saw them tearing up the stage in the way only they can. Someone needs to sort out a gig with these guys and Outside In, as surely, they are a match made in heaven, as if ever two bands should be touring together it should be these.

Four bands tonight, all very special in their own way, all of whom I look forward to seeing play again. Yet another great night at Ding Dong Lounge, and I am sure I will be returning there soon.


Photo credit: Kev Rowland

 

About Cafe Fistfight

Cafe Fistfight are New Zealand's leading Cafe-themed Acoustic hard rock band. Nourishing the soul and enriching the eardrums with bopping classics like Service with a Smile and King Hit Quiche these four fellas are sure to get you back for seconds.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cafe Fistfight

Releases

There are no releases to display for Cafe Fistfight.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Evan Rhys - EP Review: Flickering Stars
08 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Evan Rhys first came to public attention when he was front man for Somersault, and after working on other people’s material and also with Maori Television, he is now back with an EP of four of his own songs. Recorded with Sam Johnson at Rhythm Ace Studios with drummer Ben Payne and bassist Nate Betteridge, this is a release where the music is brutally honest, and the singer wears his heart on his sleeve.
Read More...
Aro - Single Review: Baby Beat
08 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Any parent will say that the feeling of hearing their baby’s heartbeat for the very first time is an overwhelming experience, but there cannot be many who turn that sound into the basis for a song. Less than three weeks after their appearances at Auckland Folk Festival, Charles and Emily Looker celebrated the birth of Olive Koanui Terangioteata Looker, who took the words of the chorus, "kaua e aukumea" (don't take too long) to heart and appeared three weeks before due date.
Read More...
Elmo Strauss - Album Review: Light and Dark
02 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Elmo Strauss began his musical career on Waiheke Island with the B Squared Blues Band which he formed with Louie Bo Charles IV. Eventually they morphed into Vessel, making the Battle of the Bands final in 2012.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: This Is What I Heard
02 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This 22-minute-long 5-track EP is the latest release from Daniel Brown, proudly recorded in his shed, in Feilding with Daniel providing guitars, drums and vocals. For those who have previously not come across Polaroids of Polarbears, this is lo-fi which combines shoegaze, post punk, Simple Minds and ambient styles in a way that is naively engaging.
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 27/02/2021
28 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Saturday at the Ding Dong is always guaranteed to be a good night, and tonight was to be no exception with Primacy finally launching their album Seeds of Change. I say “finally” as previous gigs had been cancelled due to lockdown, and in fact this was going to be their first gig since 2019!
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - Single Review: Pocket Change
16 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Cafe Fistfight describe themselves as New Zealand's premiere Acoustic-driven Progressive Rock band, with their music fitting in somewhere between John Mayer/Six60 and Incubus/Tool. To be honest, that is probably as good a description as any, but before someone expects to see the latest Yes, Genesis or Pink Floyd clone, be aware that when they describe themselves as progressive, they mean it in the true sense of the word, in that they are blending and mixing  genres and pushing the music in unusual directions.
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Interpretation
05 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled. Instead of just being a studio project, multi-instrumentalist Ben Ruegg was convinced to turn it into a full operational live band which quickly gelled into an incredibly tight unit which grew with experience and confidence each time they gigged.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Planet B
04 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is the ninth album from David, and while he wrote all the songs, he was assisted in the performances by his son Joseph, and between them we get plenty of keyboards, electronic drums, acoustic, bass, Stratocaster, harmonica and vocals. The result is something that does not really sound like a multi-instrumentalist performance, but rather a band, and even before putting it on I had to smile as while the CD booklet itself is low key, I cannot remember before seeing a track listing for Side A and Side B for a CD, plus the album is less than 45 minutes long so it really is harkening back to the 70’s.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem