27 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Cafe Fistfight - Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 15/01/2021

Cafe Fistfight - Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 15/01/2021

16 Jan 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

After going back home to Canterbury for Christmas, it was back up to Auckland last weekend and looking forward to my first gig of the year. When I realised that Cafe Fistfight had organised a 4-band bill at the Ding Dong Lounge on the Friday then of course that was the only place to be. I had a long catch up with bassist Jesse Hudson before the show, who showed me some exciting new merch the band is designing, and then I noticed the On Tick guys coming into the venue, so I popped over for a chat. I had seen some posts from guitarist/singer Aidan O’Loughlin, which made me wonder, was he really moving from Auckland to Dunedin? The answer to that is “yes”, which means that gigs from On Tick are going to become few and far between, at best. Apparently, their album should be out next month, which should be well worth hearing, but if you have yet to see these guys play then I suggest you get down to The Thirsty in a few weeks when they are playing with White Noise Mafia.

They were kicking off the proceedings tonight, so it was upstairs, and tonight there was a crowd right from the off. They were playing a fairly different set to what I had previously heard them play and they started with Nothing New, which while it has the hard hitting punk hardcore attack one expects from the trio, also has some far quieter moments. The Box also contained interesting dynamics, but when they kicked into Hound it was like the band had suddenly lifted and took it to a new level. There was far more passion and intensity, with the band working as one to really switch the energy levels. Tonight, there was time for just a six-song set from the guys, with their cover of Bullet In The Head also saw them winning many new friends.

Next up was Halo of Ashes, and from the off I was really surprised as while I have seen them before I had never really seen them like this: they were operating at a different level, with incredibly high intensity and real tightness. Matt is one of the most engaging and enjoyable front men around, always with a massive smile on his face (there are few who seem to enjoy themselves as much on stage as he does), and tonight everything gelled, and the band were pulling no punches whatsoever. They started with Won’t Back Down, and Matt was determined the crowd were going to be involved, and there were plenty of people reacting. Kein Herz is incredibly heavy, with a huge number of riffs and many different drum patterns: it really is one of those songs where it is fully driven from the back and the guys all lock in and react, but it was probably their final song, Loaded, which was the highlight. Matt said it is going to be their next single, and it is both strangely commercial and hard hitting, with a chorus and riff that really work. They really stepped it up this evening, and I look forward to catching them again soon.

After two hard-hitting acts it was time for a different style of music with the pop punk of Mariner, which was very different to what had gone before. This is another band I have seen a few times previously, and as soon as they kicked into Treehouse Stories both myself and the crowd started paying very close attention indeed. They are heavily influenced by the likes of Blink 182, and are all about having fun, and this was the first time I had seen them really relax into their music. Their confidence is building, and tonight it showed as they were tight and having fun, and the crowd reacted to it. The energy levels were high, the guitars were cutting through, there was a lot going on in the rhythm section, and at the front singer Adam Salim was in his element. He is starting to revel in his role, and enjoying getting the crowd going, and tonight the audience and band were definitely reacting to each other. One Idea has some wonderful nuances and harmony vocals, while Stabby was far more energetic with some powerful really nice bass and drum patterns. Their version of All The Small Things was massive, with everyone reacting to it and Matt Hammond (On Tick) even jumping onto the stage and straight back off again. The band had the audience exactly where they wanted them and got everyone to squat down on the floor (shades of Slipknot’s Spit It Out), all jumping up at the same time. They finished with Vaype Nayshe, and that was it. The only problem for them was that although this was genuinely the end of the set, and they were starting to changeover, the crowd were egging them on for more. This is one of the few times when I have seen an audience really demand another song, as we all know that encores are planned and they are only ever for the headline, and Mariner were genuinely surprised at what was going on. They soon got over it and reset themselves, then gave the crowd what they wanted. Speaking to the guys at the end of the night they were still somewhat in shock, as they had never had that reaction previously, and it is definitely going to set them up for the future. 2021 is going to be an interesting year for Mariner.

So how do you follow that? Quite simply you have one of the most exciting and interesting bands currently operating in Auckland. Up to this point the night had been a load of fun, with some great acts, but Cafe Fistfight took everything to a whole different level altogether. I was trying to describe the band to someone earlier in the day and I had failed miserably: Chris Moutter is an incredibly powerful singer, and a very strong acoustic guitarist, while to his right there is Josh Barker on seven-string electric guitar who has a totally different style which at times contains some shred elements, and at others more melodic. The two styles should never really go together, but instead of clashing they mesh and create something incredibly exciting. But what makes this work is the platform provided by drummer Daniel Barker, who provides lots of different drum patterns and styles, and his partner in crime bassist Jess Hudson (who also provides backing vocals). Together they constantly move the rhythms and styles, which allows Chris and Josh to ramp up the attack at the front.

Best Before started with just Chris, before Josh started finger tapping, Jesse came in on the bottom end and Dan started a strong bass drum pattern, and we were off. The quartet perform some of the tightest and most complex music around, always within the rock area but truly blending and mixing styles, so they defy being pigeonholed into one sub-genre or another. One of their distinctive elements is the use of short, sharp, breaks in the music where everyone hits their mark then stops for a beat before starting up again, often on a different musical tangent. This relies on the band being incredibly tight as there is no room for error, but this is one of their trademarks and something which they have off to a tee. This is a massively layered song, and it is hard at times to realise there are only four musicians on stage as they are all weaving intricate musical threads which somehow all come together to create a rich tapestry. Dan knows when and what to play, but more importantly also knows when not to play at all, so there are times when he sits quietly, waiting for just the right moment to come back in while at others he is driving complex patterns with both hands and feet.

Pocket Change is going to be the next single, and as with all their songs, is both related to and totally different to anything else they are doing. This bass driven number also contains a great deal of space yet is also hugely complex with loads of harmony, layering, control and power. The arrangements are key, and Free Wifi is built on yet another totally different drum approach and musical approach: it has a really commercial and catchy sound yet is so very different to anything else in the scene. The use of dynamics and contrast is incredibly powerful, yet all the time they are delivering the complexity they are all having a great time with loads of smiles onstage. The band is brimming with confidence, and the only real shock of the night was Jesse wearing a perfectly sensible black polo shirt as opposed to his normal “interesting” taste in clothing. As always, they finished with the most recent single, “King Hit Quiche”, which saw them tearing up the stage in the way only they can. Someone needs to sort out a gig with these guys and Outside In, as surely, they are a match made in heaven, as if ever two bands should be touring together it should be these.

Four bands tonight, all very special in their own way, all of whom I look forward to seeing play again. Yet another great night at Ding Dong Lounge, and I am sure I will be returning there soon.


Photo credit: Kev Rowland

 

About Cafe Fistfight

Cafe Fistfight are New Zealand's leading Cafe-themed Acoustic hard rock band. Nourishing the soul and enriching the eardrums with bopping classics like Service with a Smile and King Hit Quiche these four fellas are sure to get you back for seconds.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cafe Fistfight

Releases

There are no releases to display for Cafe Fistfight.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem