21 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Colette Rivers - Album Review: Memory Lake

12 Jan 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Colette Rivers is an American-born, New-Zealand raised, self-proclaimed 'Kiwi', with a deep connection to the earth and sea and has named her album after "the bonny, bonny banks of Lake Taupo" where she moved when she was just 11 years old. Her roots are in folk and singer-songwriter, yet while the acoustic guitar is always very important to the sound, she is not averse to bringing in other electric instruments to create soundscapes which mean the songs are very different to each other. The anchor for the album is her wonderful vocals, which are full of depth and passion, as musically this can often lead in directions one simply does not expect.

Take Kamikaze Girlfriend for example, which starts with picked acoustic, gentle percussion and emotive electric guitar and double-tracked vocals. It is gentle, thoughtful, and like all her songs creates a world all of itself which brings the listener in close, and then at 2:51 the synths come in, totally changing the feel of the song while also staying true to what had gone before. Somehow it became darker and someone listening to this section of the song would not have been surprised to learn it was by New Order.

Her vocals have an edge that somehow remind me of Patti Smith each time I play this album, yet her vocals contain far more velvet and richness, and she has obviously been influenced by other American singers such as Sheryl Crow and Stevie Nicks, and has taken all these threads and moved them somewhere else. This never sounds like a debut album, as it is full of confidence and assuredness, as if the person at the heart of it all had been doing this for many years. Songs such as Dipshit, with its backwards sounds, layering of material and strong use of synths is as far away from folk as one can imagine, yet when she starts singing and brings in a mandolin it all makes so much sense. The arrangements are intensely complex, yet also simplistic, all designed to act for the perfect vehicle for her voice and songs, and never taking away from it. While the use of multiple instruments is an important facet of the album one can also imagine Colette being content to be on stage all on her own with just an acoustic for company.

Her vocals are incredibly diverse, sometimes thick and sliding notes, keeping lower in the register, others clear and high, yet others cracking with emotion, so each song feels like a real live performance and the listener is invested throughout, wondering what is next around the corner. This is a very strong debut indeed, from someone who is bringing together diverse styles and textures and bringing them together in a way which definitely works. Warm and inviting while also bringing together genres in a way which may be challenging to some, here we have folk and singer-songwriter styles being mashed together with indie and alternative rock in the hands of someone who knows exactly what she wants to achieve.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Colette Rivers

An indie-folk artist, New Zealand-American songwriter Colette Rivers brings together an eclectic mix of guitars, drums, folk instruments and synths to create music that is both uplifting and melancholic.

Rivers’ voice shivers with the raw expressiveness of greats like Bruce Springsteen or Stevie Nicks coupled with a high, litling range similar to Joni Mitchell or Joan Baez. When she opens up, she's a powerhouse.

Enter EP Wandering Thoughts - a 4 track release featuring Rivers’ latest single Kamikaze Girlfriend written about the twisted ways people can give all to love. It was written and recorded/ produced in Rivers’ home studio in the Wairarapa, NZ, just outside of the capital, Wellington.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Colette Rivers

Releases

Memory Lake
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem