20 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Colette Rivers - Album Review: Memory Lake

12 Jan 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Colette Rivers is an American-born, New-Zealand raised, self-proclaimed 'Kiwi', with a deep connection to the earth and sea and has named her album after "the bonny, bonny banks of Lake Taupo" where she moved when she was just 11 years old. Her roots are in folk and singer-songwriter, yet while the acoustic guitar is always very important to the sound, she is not averse to bringing in other electric instruments to create soundscapes which mean the songs are very different to each other. The anchor for the album is her wonderful vocals, which are full of depth and passion, as musically this can often lead in directions one simply does not expect.

Take Kamikaze Girlfriend for example, which starts with picked acoustic, gentle percussion and emotive electric guitar and double-tracked vocals. It is gentle, thoughtful, and like all her songs creates a world all of itself which brings the listener in close, and then at 2:51 the synths come in, totally changing the feel of the song while also staying true to what had gone before. Somehow it became darker and someone listening to this section of the song would not have been surprised to learn it was by New Order.

Her vocals have an edge that somehow remind me of Patti Smith each time I play this album, yet her vocals contain far more velvet and richness, and she has obviously been influenced by other American singers such as Sheryl Crow and Stevie Nicks, and has taken all these threads and moved them somewhere else. This never sounds like a debut album, as it is full of confidence and assuredness, as if the person at the heart of it all had been doing this for many years. Songs such as Dipshit, with its backwards sounds, layering of material and strong use of synths is as far away from folk as one can imagine, yet when she starts singing and brings in a mandolin it all makes so much sense. The arrangements are intensely complex, yet also simplistic, all designed to act for the perfect vehicle for her voice and songs, and never taking away from it. While the use of multiple instruments is an important facet of the album one can also imagine Colette being content to be on stage all on her own with just an acoustic for company.

Her vocals are incredibly diverse, sometimes thick and sliding notes, keeping lower in the register, others clear and high, yet others cracking with emotion, so each song feels like a real live performance and the listener is invested throughout, wondering what is next around the corner. This is a very strong debut indeed, from someone who is bringing together diverse styles and textures and bringing them together in a way which definitely works. Warm and inviting while also bringing together genres in a way which may be challenging to some, here we have folk and singer-songwriter styles being mashed together with indie and alternative rock in the hands of someone who knows exactly what she wants to achieve.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Colette Rivers

An indie-folk artist, New Zealand-American songwriter Colette Rivers brings together an eclectic mix of guitars, drums, folk instruments and synths to create music that is both uplifting and melancholic.

Rivers’ voice shivers with the raw expressiveness of greats like Bruce Springsteen or Stevie Nicks coupled with a high, litling range similar to Joni Mitchell or Joan Baez. When she opens up, she's a powerhouse.

Enter EP Wandering Thoughts - a 4 track release featuring Rivers’ latest single Kamikaze Girlfriend written about the twisted ways people can give all to love. It was written and recorded/ produced in Rivers’ home studio in the Wairarapa, NZ, just outside of the capital, Wellington.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Colette Rivers

Releases

Memory Lake
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

LearningToDive - Single Review: You Said It Best
17 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Learningtodive is one of a series of projects from Bravo Bonez, a musician and producer currently based in Wellington, New Zealand. He released his first single under this name back in November last year, since when he has followed it up with more singles and his debut album Norwegian Pop, which came out in April.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem