17 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Voodoo Bloo - Album Review: Jacobus

14 Dec 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Voodoo Bloo is the new project from ex-Lucifer Gunne frontman Rory McDonald who has decided to take his music in a new direction, and consequently has created a new entity, where for this album he recorded it all himself. Mind you, he hasn’t totally left his old band behind, as the opening song on the album was also the opening number on the last Lucifer Gunne EP, One Day You'll Be The Best Thing That's Ever Happened To Someone, but here Pigs On Antibiotics (Exploding Song) is far more dramatic with the song being way more edgy. What one notices right from the off is that McDonald has an incredibly strong voice, in which he has enormous confidence, which means his vocals are clear and he often holds long notes with ease. There is never any strain, and there is no doubt that his style has been hugely impacted by honorary Kiwi, Serj Tankian. Musically there is also a great deal going on to back up the Tankian reference, as System of a Down are an obvious influence, although McDonald also references softer acts such as Car Seat Headrest and Neutral Milk Hotel as being important as well.

From here on in the album takes on a life of its own, crunching and heavy, yet with those wonderful vocals to the fore, always at the front of what is going on. There are times when it is incredibly catchy, going into territory more normally considered the home of the likes of Panic! At The Disco, and it is often hard to realise that not only is this a solo album, but it is by someone who has only been in the music scene for a relatively small number of years. That it comes across as really punchy is of no surprise when one realises that it was produced by Greg Haver, mixed by Scott Seabright and mastered by Ryan Smith, all of whom have ensured it hits hard. There are also times when it is incredibly progressive, and there are sections on Her Name Was Human which could easily have come from Geoff Mann and Twelfth Night. It is an album which is incredibly layered, with plenty of depth so the more that one listens to it, the more there is to get out of it. This is also one where it pays to concentrate on the lyrics, as McDonald has a very important message to get out to everyone.

In 2019 a close friend of his committed suicide while McDonald was overseas. Not only did that have a massive impact on him but being away from all his friends made him feel even more isolated and he wrote lyrics describing how he felt, using it as a cathartic experience during one of the strangest and scariest times of his life. When asked how to describe the album he said, “it is split into two different parts: The first half sharing how I believe a lot of young people in this country (and even worldwide) get into these situations where they feel lost or that the world is against them. The second part, describing the grief and acceptance of the loss of a very dear friend, who I promised would not just become another statistic in a problem that doesn’t seem to be declining.”

The band have been performing charity events, raising funds for mental health,  and I am looking forward to catching up with them live in the near future, as this is an incredibly powerful album in absolutely every area. It punches when it needs to, sits back, and takes a break when it is time for contrast and dynamics, yet with wonderful vocals and loads of hooks which keep the listener invested throughout. This is something which really benefits from being played on good headphones, very loudly indeed, and letting the rest of the world just slip past. This is something which anyone into SOAD or that style of metal will get a great deal from, yet it is also broad ranging with numbers such as Ha Ha Ok Ok designed to be anthems both on the airwaves and at the gig.

This really is an essential release from an exciting band.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Voodoo Bloo

Voodoo Bloo is a powerful rock-driven project, led by Rory McDonald. Our sounds are very much influenced by harder hitting acts like Marilyn Manson and System of a Down, as well as some singer-songwriter artists such as Car Seat Headrest and Neutral Milk Hotel, which brings a great blend of emotional and conceptual songwriting with a very catchy and frequently danceable distorted mess.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Voodoo Bloo

Releases

Jacobus
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 15/01/2021
16 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
After going back home to Canterbury for Christmas, it was back up to Auckland last weekend and looking forward to my first gig of the year. When I realised that Cafe Fistfight had organised a 4-band bill at the Ding Dong Lounge on the Friday then of course that was the only place to be.
Read More...
Colette Rivers - Album Review: Memory Lake
12 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Colette Rivers is an American-born, New-Zealand raised, self-proclaimed 'Kiwi', with a deep connection to the earth and sea and has named her album after "the bonny, bonny banks of Lake Taupo" where she moved when she was just 11 years old. Her roots are in folk and singer-songwriter, yet while the acoustic guitar is always very important to the sound, she is not averse to bringing in other electric instruments to create soundscapes which mean the songs are very different to each other.
Read More...
Grant Haua - Album Review: Awa Blues
12 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2020 saw me write more than 650 reviews of all manner of music, but the one song which for me really stood head and shoulders above the rest was This is the Place - Tenei Te Ao. It has a raw simplicity and passion which is hard to describe, yet is incredibly effective and grabs me each and every time I play it, and I still enjoy listening to it now as much as I did the very first time.
Read More...
Solo Ono - EP Review: Now We Know Who to Blame
14 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Wellington’s Solo Ono are currently operating as a trio, with guitarist/singer Frank Eggleton (Tidal Rave, Echo Beach, Kittentank) and drummer Jordan Stewart (Pleasant Surprise) now joined by bassist Birgit Bachler. It has been two years since their last EP Rogue Planet, which was released as a duo, and these three songs were all partially written that same year, being completed during the 2020 NZ lockdown.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Biggest Pub Gig In The World @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 11/12/2020
13 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
On Friday evening Spark Arena took us all back in time, to a period when many of the punters there that night were going out and having a blast. When I picked up my tickets, I was a little surprised to see they were General Admission, and then as we made our way inside, we had our wrists stamped (with a little guitar).
Read More...
Learning To Dive - Single Review: Falling Leaves
10 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
This is the second single released by Learning To Dive, the alter ego for musician, producer, vocalist and composer Bravo Bonez. By creating a new persona he is able to create music in a different style to what might be expected from him if he had released it in his normal style, allowing him a great deal of artistic freedom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 5/12/2020
07 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Saturday evening saw me head towards The Powerstation for the first time in years, and I must confess to really looking forward to the gig as although I interviewed the boys from Waipu a few years ago, this was the first time I was seeing them in concert. I bumped into Matt Holden from White Nøise Mafia outside the venue, perhaps unsurprisingly given he is acting as guitar tech on this tour and was soon chatting with Henry de Jong who really is still very down to earth, even though he has achieved more in his mere 20 years than many metalheads can even comprehend.
Read More...
The Finalists - Album Review: First
03 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
The Finalists may be currently based in Sydney, but ¾ of the guys are actually from prominent Auckland bands with guitarist Robert Young (Semi Lemon Kola), bassist Chris Familton (Fontanelle, Thorazine Shuffle) and drummer Matt Brown (Shaft, {SLK)) joining forces with singer/guitarist and songwriter Mark Tobin (Scarlet, Panic Syndrome, The Black Halo). The coming together of these musicians has resulted in jangly guitar-based indie rock, with elements of psychedelia, power pop, shoegaze and post-punk.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem