22 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Solo Ono - EP Review: Now We Know Who to Blame

14 Dec 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Wellington’s Solo Ono are currently operating as a trio, with guitarist/singer Frank Eggleton (Tidal Rave, Echo Beach, Kittentank) and drummer Jordan Stewart (Pleasant Surprise) now joined by bassist Birgit Bachler. It has been two years since their last EP Rogue Planet, which was released as a duo, and these three songs were all partially written that same year, being completed during the 2020 NZ lockdown. They were recorded and mixed by Warwick Donald in Newtown in late 2020 and capture a band who are very inspired by both the garage scene and the music coming out of places like CBGB’s in the Seventies.

One can really imagine them playing in venues like that, as the punky indie vocals are incredibly reminiscent of a time gone by, but somehow, they manage to bring hooks into the grungy downplayed sounds. There is a freshness on the chorus of second song I’ll Have A Double which breaks through the cloying guitars, and even the repetitive slightly out of tune guitar solo definitely has a place. If The Ramones were playing at a slower tempo and mixed it up with The Stooges and some psychedelic bands then one can imagine them coming across like this.

This is indie rock with its feet firmly planted in the Seventies, yet also looking back to the Sixties and forwards to the Nineties to create something which is still relevant today. If the Pistols had dropped some of the vitriol then one can imagine them playing the final song, Since You've Got it All Figured Out. This is an interesting set, and let’s hope we don’t have to wait another two years for the next one.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Solo Ono

Solo Ono are a Poneke/Newtown trio (Frank Eggleton, Birgit Bachler and Jordan Stewart) that shares members with bands such as TidalRave, Once You Know and Lazerpuss. They play garage rock influenced by the dreams of the 80's and 90's indie bands and the bland cynicism of 00's garage.

The band has supported The Chills, She’s So Rad and played at last year’s Newtown Band Crawl.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Solo Ono

Releases

Now We Know Who To Blame
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Rogue Planet
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Solo Ono
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Space Monster
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem