17 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Solo Ono - EP Review: Now We Know Who to Blame

14 Dec 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Wellington’s Solo Ono are currently operating as a trio, with guitarist/singer Frank Eggleton (Tidal Rave, Echo Beach, Kittentank) and drummer Jordan Stewart (Pleasant Surprise) now joined by bassist Birgit Bachler. It has been two years since their last EP Rogue Planet, which was released as a duo, and these three songs were all partially written that same year, being completed during the 2020 NZ lockdown. They were recorded and mixed by Warwick Donald in Newtown in late 2020 and capture a band who are very inspired by both the garage scene and the music coming out of places like CBGB’s in the Seventies.

One can really imagine them playing in venues like that, as the punky indie vocals are incredibly reminiscent of a time gone by, but somehow, they manage to bring hooks into the grungy downplayed sounds. There is a freshness on the chorus of second song I’ll Have A Double which breaks through the cloying guitars, and even the repetitive slightly out of tune guitar solo definitely has a place. If The Ramones were playing at a slower tempo and mixed it up with The Stooges and some psychedelic bands then one can imagine them coming across like this.

This is indie rock with its feet firmly planted in the Seventies, yet also looking back to the Sixties and forwards to the Nineties to create something which is still relevant today. If the Pistols had dropped some of the vitriol then one can imagine them playing the final song, Since You've Got it All Figured Out. This is an interesting set, and let’s hope we don’t have to wait another two years for the next one.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Solo Ono

It has been six years between releases, for Wellington’s most casual two piece (sometimes three piece) - Solo Ono; Frank Eggleton (Tidal Rave, Echo Beach, Kittentank) and Jordan Stewart (Pleasant Surprise). So, they decided it was time to put something out. Having just got a Synthstrom Deluge, they added synths and bass to their otherwise straight up; guitar and drum sound. The tracks were recorded by Warwick Donald at his hide out in Newtown. Mastered by Steve John Marr.

The band has supported The Chills, She’s So Rad and played at last year’s Newtown Band Crawl.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Solo Ono

Releases

Now We Know Who To Blame
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Rogue Planet
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Solo Ono
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Space Monster
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 15/01/2021
16 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
After going back home to Canterbury for Christmas, it was back up to Auckland last weekend and looking forward to my first gig of the year. When I realised that Cafe Fistfight had organised a 4-band bill at the Ding Dong Lounge on the Friday then of course that was the only place to be.
Read More...
Colette Rivers - Album Review: Memory Lake
12 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Colette Rivers is an American-born, New-Zealand raised, self-proclaimed 'Kiwi', with a deep connection to the earth and sea and has named her album after "the bonny, bonny banks of Lake Taupo" where she moved when she was just 11 years old. Her roots are in folk and singer-songwriter, yet while the acoustic guitar is always very important to the sound, she is not averse to bringing in other electric instruments to create soundscapes which mean the songs are very different to each other.
Read More...
Grant Haua - Album Review: Awa Blues
12 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2020 saw me write more than 650 reviews of all manner of music, but the one song which for me really stood head and shoulders above the rest was This is the Place - Tenei Te Ao. It has a raw simplicity and passion which is hard to describe, yet is incredibly effective and grabs me each and every time I play it, and I still enjoy listening to it now as much as I did the very first time.
Read More...
Voodoo Bloo - Album Review: Jacobus
14 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Voodoo Bloo is the new project from ex-Lucifer Gunne frontman Rory McDonald who has decided to take his music in a new direction, and consequently has created a new entity, where for this album he recorded it all himself. Mind you, he hasn’t totally left his old band behind, as the opening song on the album was also the opening number on the last Lucifer Gunne EP, One Day You'll Be The Best Thing That's Ever Happened To Someone, but here Pigs On Antibiotics (Exploding Song) is far more dramatic with the song being way more edgy.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Biggest Pub Gig In The World @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 11/12/2020
13 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
On Friday evening Spark Arena took us all back in time, to a period when many of the punters there that night were going out and having a blast. When I picked up my tickets, I was a little surprised to see they were General Admission, and then as we made our way inside, we had our wrists stamped (with a little guitar).
Read More...
Learning To Dive - Single Review: Falling Leaves
10 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
This is the second single released by Learning To Dive, the alter ego for musician, producer, vocalist and composer Bravo Bonez. By creating a new persona he is able to create music in a different style to what might be expected from him if he had released it in his normal style, allowing him a great deal of artistic freedom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 5/12/2020
07 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Saturday evening saw me head towards The Powerstation for the first time in years, and I must confess to really looking forward to the gig as although I interviewed the boys from Waipu a few years ago, this was the first time I was seeing them in concert. I bumped into Matt Holden from White Nøise Mafia outside the venue, perhaps unsurprisingly given he is acting as guitar tech on this tour and was soon chatting with Henry de Jong who really is still very down to earth, even though he has achieved more in his mere 20 years than many metalheads can even comprehend.
Read More...
The Finalists - Album Review: First
03 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
The Finalists may be currently based in Sydney, but ¾ of the guys are actually from prominent Auckland bands with guitarist Robert Young (Semi Lemon Kola), bassist Chris Familton (Fontanelle, Thorazine Shuffle) and drummer Matt Brown (Shaft, {SLK)) joining forces with singer/guitarist and songwriter Mark Tobin (Scarlet, Panic Syndrome, The Black Halo). The coming together of these musicians has resulted in jangly guitar-based indie rock, with elements of psychedelia, power pop, shoegaze and post-punk.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem