23 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Imugi - Gig Review: Imugi @ Meow, Wellington - 19/12/2020

11 Dec 2020 // A review by Bethany Mountford

Wednesday. Mid-week. Hump day, though I hate the term.  

Something about gigs on a Wednesday always feels a little bit naughty, like you shouldn’t be having so much fun whilst two whole working days still loom in the near future. Maybe this is why I often enjoy mid-week gigs more than weekend gigs. They’re a treat. Imugi at Meow this week was no exception.  

I like to think that I’m quite familiar with the Wellington gig scene, after three years of frequenting three gigs a week. But I proved myself wrong when I showed up at Meow and knew nobody in the crowd. Granted this probably isn’t a gig I would have ordinarily gone to, but it threw me a little out of my comfort zone.  

Leaping Tiger was just taking to the stage as I arrived. I don’t know what to say about their set other than that it was so utterly engaging and fun, albeit completely beyond my comprehension. Thought I’m sure there were 5 plus instruments on stage the only one I recognised was a bass, which was played live over the tracks he’d built up. The lights were bright, the music was loud, it was Wednesday (?!) and the venue was full! It was easy to pretend I was in any number of big cities.  

Imugi were striking as soon as they took the stage. They opened with Reflections, a big, immersive track. The whole venue plunged into the music. Suddenly the shimmery decorations on the stage looked aquatic and the room settled into a steady sway.

A couple of tracks in, vocalist Yery addressed the room. “scream for the girls and the gays” she yelled. If I wasn’t sold already, this was the point of no return. As the show went on it became apparent how much energy is created between Yery and Carl. The two just bounced off each other and interacted so well on stage. And of course, the unsung hero, as my friend commented - drummer Dan all tucked away in the corner of the stage, holding everything together tightly.  

The energy produced from this union of three made the atmosphere so easy and fun; everyone always smiling. I had heard good things about Imugi, but never listened to them. As immersive and beautiful as the show was, I was immediately itching to get home and listen to Somebody Else through biiiig headphones. It’s the kind of music that can be both an energetic show on the stage and ‘chill lo-fi beats to study to’ at home.  

The Yery-crowd interactions were amazing. My personal favourite was “Can I get a wo-ah, can I get a ye-ah, can I get a ‘there’s no such thing as ethical consumption under late capitalism’” - and the crowd went wild.  

Though it was mostly floaty dream-pop type music Imugi definitely made their stances on some very political issues known. The poetry breakdown in a few of their songs gave mad Kilo Kish vibes. As I was doing photos too, I was able to get up on stage and get a full view of the crowd moving, still smiling. The band left the stage - I went to nab a set list from Carl.

The crowd were yelling for encore and I only just managed to put the set list in my pocket before they were playing again. 

I really re-proved to myself with this one that ALL gigs are worth going to, and take my word for it, Imugi are worth seeing. If you can’t make it to a show, listen to the October-released Dragonfruit, right now!! 


Photos courtesy of Bethany Mountford

 

About Imugi

Imugi are the silky electronic duo that released their first EP titled Vacasian in 2017, a trip through the diasporic-Asian-girl-psyche and the healing it takes to go from self-consciousness to self-awareness. Their soon to be released Dragonfruit furthers that narrative.

With roots in South Korea and Aotearoa (New Zealand), Imugi explores the multi-faceted, wholesome identities and complex issues that migrant women of colour face, through a mix of styles ranging from R&B, synth-pop, funk and spoken word.

The poppin’ duo have played many acclaimed shows from St. Jerome’s Laneway Festival New Zealand 2019, Rhythm & Vines Festival 2019/2020, Red Bull Music Presents. International support includes - Confidence man, Cosmo’s Midnight.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Imugi

Releases

Dragonfruit
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Vacasian
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Bethany Mountford

Lunavela - Single Review: Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend
21 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I'm not gonna lie; Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend was stuck in my head for a solid week after I listened to it for the first time – so be warned. Perhaps the reason it stuck so solidly in my head was that I kept finding myself in the painfully mundane and tricky situations that it laments.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Africa
10 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
One thing is for sure. Wellington is not warm enough to do this song justice.
Read More...
Samuel Gaskin - Single/Video Review: Reckoning
31 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Reckoning is a new single and video release from Samuel Gaskin that follows in the wake of his stage production by the same name. New Zealand born and now based in Melbourne, Gaskin intertwines his own roots and the roots of his current placing in this video, with a cast of 20 First Nations Aboriginal and Maori performers.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - Single Review: The Phoenix
19 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Wow! I knew this track would be something else before I even listened to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Bluey Green
08 Jul 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
July 9, 2021, sees the first ever release of Bluey Green – the self-titled EP. As I sometimes do with reviews, I dived right into this EP before reading about, or even having heard of Bluey Green, and nothing could have been a more fitting description than the wavering, reflective shine of the ocean that the name alone evokes.
Read More...
Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Album Review: Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
21 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Everything Is As It Shouldn’t Be is the latest release from Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons, and boy it is a wild ride. The album takes self-proclaimed inspiration from “Bob-Dylan, Talking Heads, Claude Debussy, Velvet Underground and Radiohead,” so I went in with eclectic expectations.
Read More...
Gig Review: Oh Sweet Nothings @ Valhalla, Wellington - 06/06/2021
09 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I’m not sure what I expected, but last Sunday’s Oh Sweet Nothings album release party painted a very interesting scene at Valhalla. The following day, Monday, was to be Queen’s birthday bank holiday and town was consequently busier than the usual Sunday, littered with drunkards and litter.
Read More...
Renée Therése - Single Review: The Train Man
22 Apr 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
The Train Man is the third single from the album Better With Friends by Renée Therése, due to be released in May. The song tells the tale of a passionate train driver, dutiful and modest, a real working-class man.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bethany Mountford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem