26 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

LearningToDive - Single Review: Falling Leaves

10 Dec 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

This is the second single released by Learning To Dive, the alter ego for musician, producer, vocalist and composer Bravo Bonez. By creating a new persona he is able to create music in a different style to what might be expected from him if he had released it in his normal style, allowing him a great deal of artistic freedom. If this sounds reminiscent of the early Eighties UK pop scene where electronica and New Romanticism collided with the fallout from punk then that is entirely deliberate and is apparently a theme for the Norwegian Pop EP due out next year.

A great deal of work has gone into the production and it is no surprise to discover that he co-produced it with Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, Mel C) while it was mixed by famed producer and engineer Clint Murphy (50cent, Devilskin, Kimbra). That is a lot of firepower to bring to just a second song, but it has worked as there is a real shine to the overall sound, although it must be said this is a very over the top production with little separation so will be best enjoyed by those who enjoy that style.

It took a long time for me to work out who this reminded me of, but in the end, I think it is probably best to describe it as Heaven 17 mixed with some of the styles of Soft Cell and Yazoo. His voice is often quite low in the register, and there is a lot of auto tune, but here it has been used as a device as opposed to something used to make a singer sound like they can hit a note. A special mention should also be made here of backing singer Alba Rose as there are a few times when we hear her voice rise above everything else and it cuts right through the sound with a brightness and vitality.

Although the song was written prior to the advent of Covid 19, lyrically it is dark and while the music may seem like a dance track there are definite undertones which take it away from the happiness one may normally expect. Bonez describes the song as being able to create an apprehension about our state of living, the inevitability of death and knowing that we are slowly passing away as we get closer to the end. Not exactly brightness and light! The vocal delivery is restrained, multi-layered, and designed to make us think about the words in the right frame of mind, while also bringing us something musically which can be enjoyed by many.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About LearningToDive

LearningToDive is a New Zealand based artist with musical themes' surrounding the genres of post-punk, 80’s, alt-rock and pop. LearningToDive is an artistic identity of recently re-established musician, producer, vocalist and composer Bravo Bonez. Stylistically different from his usual music, LTD focuses on the more serious aspects of Bravos life and his perceptions of the world.

LearningToDive has spent the last 20 year following the path of mammon, spending half of his life working between the cities of London and Wellington (New Zealand). Now permanently settled in the capital of NZ due to Covid-19, LearningToDive is spending his time re-connecting with his musical passion through a variety of musical projects, as well as helping to developing and encourage local musicians through owning and running his own music studio called @puresoundstudios.

The release of High & Dry on the 20th of November was LearningToDive's first release under this musical identity, with his debut EP ready to share for early April, 2021. He plans to start touring NZ, playing his music live while performing with the violin, bass and guitar as well as singing. Watch this space for much more to come.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for LearningToDive

Releases

There are no releases to display for LearningToDive.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Power The Light - Single Review: Snowing
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Power The Light is Max Roskilly, an 18-year-old musician who is based in Auckland , and has been self-releasing music for the last four years already, including the album Blueprints a while back. This is his second single in recent months, following on from Skys where he showed an interest more in krautrock than in is normal indie-jazz style.
Read More...
Single Review: Glass Throne
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Glass Throne are an Auckland-based power trio comprising Justin Robinson (lead vocals, bass, guitar), Owen McKibbin (guitar, organ, backing vocals) and Daniel Cutfield (drums, percussion, backing vocals). I have managed to catch them play live a few times over the last year, and what always strikes me is just how different they are to the rest of the local scene, coming through as a mix of classic Seventies hard rock, progressive and modern alt rock.
Read More...
On Tick - Single Review: Nothing New
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick is the brainchild of brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), and was formed from the ashes of their previous musical outfit, Evil Tomato, who began as a band in 2012. They came across 5-string bassist Matt Hammond when they heard the demoes for Black Sands, which he not only produced but played on, and he joined forces to work with them on the album and to allow them to play in the Ding Dong Battle of the Bands.
Read More...
Ravenhall - EP Review: The Coming Storm
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ravenhall were formed by guitarist Joe Ravenhall and singer Chris Brebner in 2015. They were both already veterans of the Auckland scene, and wanted to perform music which concentrated on the power of acoustic guitar, wonderful vocals, plus some gentle electronic backing, and that is certainly what we have here.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem