18 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

LearningToDive - Single Review: Falling Leaves

10 Dec 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

This is the second single released by Learning To Dive, the alter ego for musician, producer, vocalist and composer Bravo Bonez. By creating a new persona he is able to create music in a different style to what might be expected from him if he had released it in his normal style, allowing him a great deal of artistic freedom. If this sounds reminiscent of the early Eighties UK pop scene where electronica and New Romanticism collided with the fallout from punk then that is entirely deliberate and is apparently a theme for the Norwegian Pop EP due out next year.

A great deal of work has gone into the production and it is no surprise to discover that he co-produced it with Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, Mel C) while it was mixed by famed producer and engineer Clint Murphy (50cent, Devilskin, Kimbra). That is a lot of firepower to bring to just a second song, but it has worked as there is a real shine to the overall sound, although it must be said this is a very over the top production with little separation so will be best enjoyed by those who enjoy that style.

It took a long time for me to work out who this reminded me of, but in the end, I think it is probably best to describe it as Heaven 17 mixed with some of the styles of Soft Cell and Yazoo. His voice is often quite low in the register, and there is a lot of auto tune, but here it has been used as a device as opposed to something used to make a singer sound like they can hit a note. A special mention should also be made here of backing singer Alba Rose as there are a few times when we hear her voice rise above everything else and it cuts right through the sound with a brightness and vitality.

Although the song was written prior to the advent of Covid 19, lyrically it is dark and while the music may seem like a dance track there are definite undertones which take it away from the happiness one may normally expect. Bonez describes the song as being able to create an apprehension about our state of living, the inevitability of death and knowing that we are slowly passing away as we get closer to the end. Not exactly brightness and light! The vocal delivery is restrained, multi-layered, and designed to make us think about the words in the right frame of mind, while also bringing us something musically which can be enjoyed by many.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About LearningToDive

LearningToDive is a New Zealand based artist with musical themes' surrounding the genres of post-punk, 80’s, alt-rock and pop. LearningToDive is an artistic identity of recently re-established musician, producer, vocalist and composer Bravo Bonez. Stylistically different from his usual music, LTD focuses on the more serious aspects of Bravos life and his perceptions of the world.

LearningToDive has spent the last 20 year following the path of mammon, spending half of his life working between the cities of London and Wellington (New Zealand). Now permanently settled in the capital of NZ due to Covid-19, LearningToDive is spending his time re-connecting with his musical passion through a variety of musical projects, as well as helping to developing and encourage local musicians through owning and running his own music studio called @puresoundstudios.

The release of High & Dry on the 20th of November was LearningToDive's first release under this musical identity, with his debut EP ready to share for early April, 2021. He plans to start touring NZ, playing his music live while performing with the violin, bass and guitar as well as singing. Watch this space for much more to come.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for LearningToDive

Releases

There are no releases to display for LearningToDive.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem