30 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

LearningToDive - Single Review: Falling Leaves

10 Dec 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

This is the second single released by Learning To Dive, the alter ego for musician, producer, vocalist and composer Bravo Bonez. By creating a new persona he is able to create music in a different style to what might be expected from him if he had released it in his normal style, allowing him a great deal of artistic freedom. If this sounds reminiscent of the early Eighties UK pop scene where electronica and New Romanticism collided with the fallout from punk then that is entirely deliberate and is apparently a theme for the Norwegian Pop EP due out next year.

A great deal of work has gone into the production and it is no surprise to discover that he co-produced it with Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, Mel C) while it was mixed by famed producer and engineer Clint Murphy (50cent, Devilskin, Kimbra). That is a lot of firepower to bring to just a second song, but it has worked as there is a real shine to the overall sound, although it must be said this is a very over the top production with little separation so will be best enjoyed by those who enjoy that style.

It took a long time for me to work out who this reminded me of, but in the end, I think it is probably best to describe it as Heaven 17 mixed with some of the styles of Soft Cell and Yazoo. His voice is often quite low in the register, and there is a lot of auto tune, but here it has been used as a device as opposed to something used to make a singer sound like they can hit a note. A special mention should also be made here of backing singer Alba Rose as there are a few times when we hear her voice rise above everything else and it cuts right through the sound with a brightness and vitality.

Although the song was written prior to the advent of Covid 19, lyrically it is dark and while the music may seem like a dance track there are definite undertones which take it away from the happiness one may normally expect. Bonez describes the song as being able to create an apprehension about our state of living, the inevitability of death and knowing that we are slowly passing away as we get closer to the end. Not exactly brightness and light! The vocal delivery is restrained, multi-layered, and designed to make us think about the words in the right frame of mind, while also bringing us something musically which can be enjoyed by many.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About LearningToDive

LearningToDive is a New Zealand based artist with musical themes' surrounding the genres of post-punk, 80’s, alt-rock and pop. LearningToDive is an artistic identity of recently re-established musician, producer, vocalist and composer Bravo Bonez. Stylistically different from his usual music, LTD focuses on the more serious aspects of Bravos life and his perceptions of the world.

LearningToDive has spent the last 20 year following the path of mammon, spending half of his life working between the cities of London and Wellington (New Zealand). Now permanently settled in the capital of NZ due to Covid-19, LearningToDive is spending his time re-connecting with his musical passion through a variety of musical projects, as well as helping to developing and encourage local musicians through owning and running his own music studio called @puresoundstudios.

The release of High & Dry on the 20th of November was LearningToDive's first release under this musical identity, with his debut EP ready to share for early April, 2021. He plans to start touring NZ, playing his music live while performing with the violin, bass and guitar as well as singing. Watch this space for much more to come.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for LearningToDive

Releases

There are no releases to display for LearningToDive.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Jack Mcrae (drums).
Read More...
Trepidations - EP Review: Time Flies
28 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
The latest EP from Trepidations follows a rather unusual format in that we have one vocal track which was recorded in a studio, and then three instrumental tracks which were played live which are quite different in approach and sound quality. Having not played any of their music before I must confess, I do not know if these distinctly different approaches are what one would expect from the trio, or whether one of these paths is new to them.
Read More...
John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem