28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Alien Weaponry - Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 5/12/2020

Alien Weaponry - Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 5/12/2020

07 Dec 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Saturday evening saw me head towards The Powerstation for the first time in years, and I must confess to really looking forward to the gig as although I interviewed the boys from Waipu a few years ago, this was the first time I was seeing them in concert. I bumped into Matt Holden from White Nøise Mafia outside the venue, perhaps unsurprisingly given he is acting as guitar tech on this tour and was soon chatting with Henry de Jong who really is still very down to earth, even though he has achieved more in his mere 20 years than many metalheads can even comprehend. We went into the venue together and I made my way upstairs to the balcony, where I was somewhat surprised to see this had been turned into an Access All Ages area (no bar!). I decided to stay there as it was the best place to see everything and take notes, but I must admit to being totally surprised when everyone was allowed in as I have never seen so many youngsters at a metal gig in my life. I’ve been attending shows for some 40 years, and there were more pre-High school kids at Alien Weaponry on Saturday than any other gig I have been to. This band really have captured the imagination of so many, with their straightforward attack, their professionalism, and their use of Te Reo and stories about their heritage. I just hope the parents remembered to pack earplugs.

But before the main act, we were treated to Seas of Conflict from Hamilton. They kicked off with Tantalus, and I was a little concerned about the overall mix as the drums were too high, and this stayed throughout the set. In fairness to the band, a lot of that was self-inflicted as Nic Martin hits the kit very hard indeed, but I would have preferred it if the guitar had been brought up and if more prominence had been given to singer Kody Naidoo, as he was working like a trojan, mixing the vocal styles as the band moved through death and hardcore oriented metal. It didn’t take long for the crowd to swell and move forward, and all credit to Alien Weaponry for allowing the support to use all of the lighting rig, something that doesn’t always happen. There were lots of people there for SoC, with quite a few people wearing their t-shirts, and the band revelled in the attention, mixing new songs such as Consume and Back Breaker with old favourites such Edentide. The newer material shows the band moving in a more Fear Factory/Lamb of God territory with interesting drum patterns combining with brutal riffs and great vocals. Naidoo was so into it he even chipped his tooth on the microphone at one point, but apart from a small comment about it, there was no way he was going to allow it to distract him. By the time the band left the audience were a sweaty mess and given the main job of a support band is to warm up the crowd they could relax in a job very well done indeed.

The stage was soon cleared, and shortly all attention was focused on Henry stood behind his kit, performing a karakia. This is their normal way of starting shows, and eventually he was joined onstage by his brother Lewis and new bassist Turanga Morgan-Edmonds. The latter may only have been in the band a few months, but he was a school friend of Henry and he looks and acts as if he has been in the band all his life. With his massive hair and habit of turning the bass vertically to make it look like a spear, he is a huge addition to the visual aspect of the band, so very different indeed to the approach of Ethan who was a more traditional metalhead. Of course, the only way to follow Henry was to launch into the dynamic and brutal PC Bro before following it up with Holding My Breath. It is just as well that it was All Areas upstairs as the mosh became quickly quite brutal, with a circle pit forming at times as well. This is very heavy music, being performed by a band at a totally different level to many of their contemporaries. Here is a group whose debut album entered the national charts at #5 (and was the highest local act), are signed to a European label, have just signed a management deal with Rick Sales (Slayer, Gojira, Mastodon), have played gigs all over Europe and America, and achieved Henry’s stated goal of playing Wacken Open Air before he was 20 (he was just 18, with Lewis two years younger).

There was no let up as the band were striding the stage as if they were born to it, with Henry often to be seen with a massive smile on his face. Turanga and Lewis have already got their positioning sorted out and were quite happy to switch microphones and stage positions, really working the crowd with Turanga throwing so many shapes and images that he was a photographer’s dream. Lewis started Te Ara with a sound from his guitar that was far more like keyboards with heavy use of distortion, but it soon cranked up and new song Tangaroa, which is about saving the environment, is plain brutal from the start.

By now I was thinking there was no way the crowd could get more worked up, but when Lewis announced Urutaa the place went nuts, and even saw some crowd surfing. On Nobody Here everyone was invited to jump and down with the band, which led me to wonder about the safety standards of the venue as the balcony was definitely moving! Kia Tangata saw a brutal circle pit erupt with a massive wave of energy and then…. it all stopped. The reason for this was the band wanted some footage for their next video, which meant lots of choreographed walking forwards from everyone downstairs. This was repeated multiple times, and there were lots of smiles and nudges from those involved as they practiced being zombies.

They finished with Raupatu, but everyone knew that was not going to be the end and they band came back with Buried Underground and a celebratory blast through Ru Ana Te Whenua. All that was left was for Lewis to tell everyone there was an after party taking place at Ding Dong and we were all invited, and then it was over. I have been fortunate enough to see quite a few bands at this venue over the years, and there is no doubt in my mind that the finest band I ever saw there was 8 Foot Sativa back in 2012 when they totally dominated headline act Fear Factory. It has taken 8 years, but there is a new band taking the crown, as on Saturday Alien Weaponry shook the place to its foundations and I just can’t wait for the new album.


Photo Credit: Morgan Creative
Alien Weaponry
Seas of Conflict

 

About Alien Weaponry

Alien Weaponry is a three-piece metal band whose style has been influenced by old school thrash and hardcore

AW was formed in 2010 by brothers Henry and Lewis de Jong, who have been listening to bands like Metallica, Anthrax and Pantera since birth; and started jamming and writing songs before they learnt the alphabet. Current influences include Lamb Of God, Tryvium, Subtract and System of a Down, but the band has developed its own distinctive thrash metal sound, destined to endure into future centuries.

Not content to rely on the shock value of their extreme youth, the group understands the value of professionalism, and works crowds to a frenzy with their tight, thrashy energy and wild stage performances. Their plans for world domination include playing at Wacken in Germany and touring the big international metal festivals. They refuse to play covers, and have enough material to begin recording their first album later this year.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Alien Weaponry

Releases

Tangaroa
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem