27 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Alien Weaponry - Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 5/12/2020

Alien Weaponry - Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 5/12/2020

07 Dec 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Saturday evening saw me head towards The Powerstation for the first time in years, and I must confess to really looking forward to the gig as although I interviewed the boys from Waipu a few years ago, this was the first time I was seeing them in concert. I bumped into Matt Holden from White Nøise Mafia outside the venue, perhaps unsurprisingly given he is acting as guitar tech on this tour and was soon chatting with Henry de Jong who really is still very down to earth, even though he has achieved more in his mere 20 years than many metalheads can even comprehend. We went into the venue together and I made my way upstairs to the balcony, where I was somewhat surprised to see this had been turned into an Access All Ages area (no bar!). I decided to stay there as it was the best place to see everything and take notes, but I must admit to being totally surprised when everyone was allowed in as I have never seen so many youngsters at a metal gig in my life. I’ve been attending shows for some 40 years, and there were more pre-High school kids at Alien Weaponry on Saturday than any other gig I have been to. This band really have captured the imagination of so many, with their straightforward attack, their professionalism, and their use of Te Reo and stories about their heritage. I just hope the parents remembered to pack earplugs.

But before the main act, we were treated to Seas of Conflict from Hamilton. They kicked off with Tantalus, and I was a little concerned about the overall mix as the drums were too high, and this stayed throughout the set. In fairness to the band, a lot of that was self-inflicted as Nic Martin hits the kit very hard indeed, but I would have preferred it if the guitar had been brought up and if more prominence had been given to singer Kody Naidoo, as he was working like a trojan, mixing the vocal styles as the band moved through death and hardcore oriented metal. It didn’t take long for the crowd to swell and move forward, and all credit to Alien Weaponry for allowing the support to use all of the lighting rig, something that doesn’t always happen. There were lots of people there for SoC, with quite a few people wearing their t-shirts, and the band revelled in the attention, mixing new songs such as Consume and Back Breaker with old favourites such Edentide. The newer material shows the band moving in a more Fear Factory/Lamb of God territory with interesting drum patterns combining with brutal riffs and great vocals. Naidoo was so into it he even chipped his tooth on the microphone at one point, but apart from a small comment about it, there was no way he was going to allow it to distract him. By the time the band left the audience were a sweaty mess and given the main job of a support band is to warm up the crowd they could relax in a job very well done indeed.

The stage was soon cleared, and shortly all attention was focused on Henry stood behind his kit, performing a karakia. This is their normal way of starting shows, and eventually he was joined onstage by his brother Lewis and new bassist Turanga Morgan-Edmonds. The latter may only have been in the band a few months, but he was a school friend of Henry and he looks and acts as if he has been in the band all his life. With his massive hair and habit of turning the bass vertically to make it look like a spear, he is a huge addition to the visual aspect of the band, so very different indeed to the approach of Ethan who was a more traditional metalhead. Of course, the only way to follow Henry was to launch into the dynamic and brutal PC Bro before following it up with Holding My Breath. It is just as well that it was All Areas upstairs as the mosh became quickly quite brutal, with a circle pit forming at times as well. This is very heavy music, being performed by a band at a totally different level to many of their contemporaries. Here is a group whose debut album entered the national charts at #5 (and was the highest local act), are signed to a European label, have just signed a management deal with Rick Sales (Slayer, Gojira, Mastodon), have played gigs all over Europe and America, and achieved Henry’s stated goal of playing Wacken Open Air before he was 20 (he was just 18, with Lewis two years younger).

There was no let up as the band were striding the stage as if they were born to it, with Henry often to be seen with a massive smile on his face. Turanga and Lewis have already got their positioning sorted out and were quite happy to switch microphones and stage positions, really working the crowd with Turanga throwing so many shapes and images that he was a photographer’s dream. Lewis started Te Ara with a sound from his guitar that was far more like keyboards with heavy use of distortion, but it soon cranked up and new song Tangaroa, which is about saving the environment, is plain brutal from the start.

By now I was thinking there was no way the crowd could get more worked up, but when Lewis announced Urutaa the place went nuts, and even saw some crowd surfing. On Nobody Here everyone was invited to jump and down with the band, which led me to wonder about the safety standards of the venue as the balcony was definitely moving! Kia Tangata saw a brutal circle pit erupt with a massive wave of energy and then…. it all stopped. The reason for this was the band wanted some footage for their next video, which meant lots of choreographed walking forwards from everyone downstairs. This was repeated multiple times, and there were lots of smiles and nudges from those involved as they practiced being zombies.

They finished with Raupatu, but everyone knew that was not going to be the end and they band came back with Buried Underground and a celebratory blast through Ru Ana Te Whenua. All that was left was for Lewis to tell everyone there was an after party taking place at Ding Dong and we were all invited, and then it was over. I have been fortunate enough to see quite a few bands at this venue over the years, and there is no doubt in my mind that the finest band I ever saw there was 8 Foot Sativa back in 2012 when they totally dominated headline act Fear Factory. It has taken 8 years, but there is a new band taking the crown, as on Saturday Alien Weaponry shook the place to its foundations and I just can’t wait for the new album.


Photo Credit: Morgan Creative
Alien Weaponry
Seas of Conflict

 

About Alien Weaponry

Alien Weaponry is a three-piece metal band whose style has been influenced by old school thrash and hardcore

AW was formed in 2010 by brothers Henry and Lewis de Jong, who have been listening to bands like Metallica, Anthrax and Pantera since birth; and started jamming and writing songs before they learnt the alphabet. Current influences include Lamb Of God, Tryvium, Subtract and System of a Down, but the band has developed its own distinctive thrash metal sound, destined to endure into future centuries.

Not content to rely on the shock value of their extreme youth, the group understands the value of professionalism, and works crowds to a frenzy with their tight, thrashy energy and wild stage performances. Their plans for world domination include playing at Wacken in Germany and touring the big international metal festivals. They refuse to play covers, and have enough material to begin recording their first album later this year.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Alien Weaponry

Releases


Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: The First Child @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 22/01/2021
24 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When I sent Mariner the review of their gig the previous week, singer Adam told me they were playing Ding Dong again on the Friday, so I thought to myself why not? So, for the second consecutive Friday I made my way into central Auckland to everyone’s favourite rock dive.
Read More...
Achilles Complex - Single Review: Vice
22 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Achilles Complex started life in Hamilton as a 3-piece power trio in 2019, releasing their debut single Shut It in September of that year, and are now back with their new song Vice having transformed themselves into a quartet of Harley Flynn (guitar, vocals), Jordan Carpenter (bass), Zak Cole (drums) and Reece Gielen (guitar, vocals). They describe themselves as a progressive rock band with roots in rock, funk, indie and metal while also exploring ambient textures such as synthwave, trap, pop and more.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 15/01/2021
16 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
After going back home to Canterbury for Christmas, it was back up to Auckland last weekend and looking forward to my first gig of the year. When I realised that Cafe Fistfight had organised a 4-band bill at the Ding Dong Lounge on the Friday then of course that was the only place to be.
Read More...
Colette Rivers - Album Review: Memory Lake
12 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Colette Rivers is an American-born, New-Zealand raised, self-proclaimed 'Kiwi', with a deep connection to the earth and sea and has named her album after "the bonny, bonny banks of Lake Taupo" where she moved when she was just 11 years old. Her roots are in folk and singer-songwriter, yet while the acoustic guitar is always very important to the sound, she is not averse to bringing in other electric instruments to create soundscapes which mean the songs are very different to each other.
Read More...
Grant Haua - Album Review: Awa Blues
12 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2020 saw me write more than 650 reviews of all manner of music, but the one song which for me really stood head and shoulders above the rest was This is the Place - Tenei Te Ao. It has a raw simplicity and passion which is hard to describe, yet is incredibly effective and grabs me each and every time I play it, and I still enjoy listening to it now as much as I did the very first time.
Read More...
Voodoo Bloo - Album Review: Jacobus
14 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Voodoo Bloo is the new project from ex-Lucifer Gunne frontman Rory McDonald who has decided to take his music in a new direction, and consequently has created a new entity, where for this album he recorded it all himself. Mind you, he hasn’t totally left his old band behind, as the opening song on the album was also the opening number on the last Lucifer Gunne EP, One Day You'll Be The Best Thing That's Ever Happened To Someone, but here Pigs On Antibiotics (Exploding Song) is far more dramatic with the song being way more edgy.
Read More...
Solo Ono - EP Review: Now We Know Who to Blame
14 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Wellington’s Solo Ono are currently operating as a trio, with guitarist/singer Frank Eggleton (Tidal Rave, Echo Beach, Kittentank) and drummer Jordan Stewart (Pleasant Surprise) now joined by bassist Birgit Bachler. It has been two years since their last EP Rogue Planet, which was released as a duo, and these three songs were all partially written that same year, being completed during the 2020 NZ lockdown.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Biggest Pub Gig In The World @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 11/12/2020
13 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
On Friday evening Spark Arena took us all back in time, to a period when many of the punters there that night were going out and having a blast. When I picked up my tickets, I was a little surprised to see they were General Admission, and then as we made our way inside, we had our wrists stamped (with a little guitar).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem