28 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Response - Single Review: New Pair of Pants (Coming Collapse)

07 Dec 2020 // A review by Bethany Mountford

The new single New Pair of Pants (Coming Collapse) from Christchurch's The Response seemed a little common. This may be owing to the fact that the song was created as part of a challenge set out by American band, Deep Sea Diver, to use a drum beat that they created to write a song. Something about the musical aspects of the song seemed somewhat lacking in passion. 

That said, the guitar tone is serene and the song is well produced. It represents a genre of easy-listening soft, pop rock that definitely has a place in New Zealand music. It’s a radio tune for sure.  

The lyrics drop in nicely, slot in well with the drum beat and really are the best feature of the song. They are thought provoking and witty. I interpreted them to be a sarcastic comment on life in late capitalism and the consumerist culture that often distracts from our problems.  It poses a juxtaposition on the listener, with such a pleasant, easy- sounding backing track and occasional glimpses of darkness in the lyrics. That juxtaposition seems to sum up an underlying message nicely; that we’re all preoccupied by these nice distractions and the coming collapse is looming in brackets.  

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About The Response

New Zealand Alternative Pop duo The Response blend electronic minimalism, pop sensibilities and the eclectic influences of vocalist/guitarist Andy Knopp and multi-instrumentalist Victoria Knopp to create what NZ Musician Magazine describes as "indie pop at its carefully crafted best." Their dynamic live show has allowed them to share the stage with such international acts as Baio (of Vampire Weekend fame), Deep Sea Diver (Seattle), Big Scary (Australia) and Kate Boy (Sweden), as well as play local festivals including Electric Avenue.

After two years based in Vancouver, Canada where apartment living and public transit inspired a more minimalistic and increasingly electronic shift in their sound and live set up, The Response made their way back to New Zealand where they have since released singles Holding Out For Something, Only In The Night and Practical, as well as EP's What Are You Waiting For? and Little Worlds. Described as “indie-proper”, the duo write, produce, record, mix and master all their own music, as well as design and artwork.

The Response are set to release their next album late in 2019, with feel-good alt pop gem 'Tallest Walls' out now.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Response

Releases

Escaping This Cold Rotation
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Little Worlds
Year: 2018
Type: EP
What Are You Waiting For?
Year: 2017
Type: EP
North of Nowhere
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Bethany Mountford

Lunavela - Single Review: Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend
21 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I'm not gonna lie; Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend was stuck in my head for a solid week after I listened to it for the first time – so be warned. Perhaps the reason it stuck so solidly in my head was that I kept finding myself in the painfully mundane and tricky situations that it laments.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Africa
10 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
One thing is for sure. Wellington is not warm enough to do this song justice.
Read More...
Samuel Gaskin - Single/Video Review: Reckoning
31 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Reckoning is a new single and video release from Samuel Gaskin that follows in the wake of his stage production by the same name. New Zealand born and now based in Melbourne, Gaskin intertwines his own roots and the roots of his current placing in this video, with a cast of 20 First Nations Aboriginal and Maori performers.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - Single Review: The Phoenix
19 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Wow! I knew this track would be something else before I even listened to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Bluey Green
08 Jul 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
July 9, 2021, sees the first ever release of Bluey Green – the self-titled EP. As I sometimes do with reviews, I dived right into this EP before reading about, or even having heard of Bluey Green, and nothing could have been a more fitting description than the wavering, reflective shine of the ocean that the name alone evokes.
Read More...
Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Album Review: Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
21 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Everything Is As It Shouldn’t Be is the latest release from Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons, and boy it is a wild ride. The album takes self-proclaimed inspiration from “Bob-Dylan, Talking Heads, Claude Debussy, Velvet Underground and Radiohead,” so I went in with eclectic expectations.
Read More...
Gig Review: Oh Sweet Nothings @ Valhalla, Wellington - 06/06/2021
09 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I’m not sure what I expected, but last Sunday’s Oh Sweet Nothings album release party painted a very interesting scene at Valhalla. The following day, Monday, was to be Queen’s birthday bank holiday and town was consequently busier than the usual Sunday, littered with drunkards and litter.
Read More...
Renée Therése - Single Review: The Train Man
22 Apr 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
The Train Man is the third single from the album Better With Friends by Renée Therése, due to be released in May. The song tells the tale of a passionate train driver, dutiful and modest, a real working-class man.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bethany Mountford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem