27 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Max Earnshaw - Single Review: Love It When You Hate Me

03 Dec 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Love It When You Hate Me is the latest single from young Auckland singer Max Earnshaw, who has already received from recognition and radio airplay for his last release, Lonely Love. What we have this time around is a pop/rock number which is incredibly infectious and annoyingly catchy. Although it was recorded with a full band, the way it has been produced is that it is quite possible to imagine that this was recorded just by Max in the studio, with the drums in particular sounding quite programmed. But somehow it all gels together and one wonders what this is like when he plays it live as I can imagine this having a far greater emphasis on the rock, and less on the pop.

It is a summer single which is fresh and exciting, with his vocals well to the fore, in an early 80’s indie style which is quite reminiscent at times of Blur. There is both picked and jangly guitar, a strong bass, and while I would have preferred for the instrumentation to be richer and more rounded, the fairly flat style does work well in this context. It is only just over three minutes long, but there is a feeling that it has been stretched to reach that length with vocal repetitions, but I can pretty much guarantee I am not the target market and I can imagine this going over very well indeed with a young audience. One to keep an ear out for.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Max Earnshaw

Max Earnshaw is a 23-year old New Zealand artist creating a unique blend of Pop and Rock music. Influenced at an early age by bands like Kings Of Leon and Arctic Monkeys, he discovered a love for song crafting. He spent his childhood busking on the streets of Christchurch. Now based in Auckland, Max has released 5 singles with recognition across the NZ charts, Rock Radio and Media. Max absolutely smashes it live across NZ venues alongside rising artists like There's A Tuesday, Harry Parsons, The Raddlers and Geoff Ong.

His new rock single What We Made was recently released on the 21/5/2021 and has been featured on Rock Radio across the country and the U.S and featured on Media like muzic.net, NightOwl Promotions and 59Seconds. What We Made is about walking away from a relationship and everything that was built together, good and bad. This multi-layered song was created during the first 2020 lockdown.

His recent single Stay debuted at #12 on the Hot NZ Singles Chart. He made his radio debut on RNZ, KAOS FM, and Rock stations across the country with his sophomore single Lonely Love. He has made NZ media like The 13th Floor, Muzic.net, and BUZZMUSIC (U.S). His debut video (Temporarily), featured an international collaboration with LA based smoke bomb artist – ‘Skeleton of Colour’. And Max’s latest summer single Love It When You Hate Me had a headline show that was reviewed favourably by The 13th Floor.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Max Earnshaw

Releases

There are no releases to display for Max Earnshaw.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem