22 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Max Earnshaw - Single Review: Love It When You Hate Me

03 Dec 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Love It When You Hate Me is the latest single from young Auckland singer Max Earnshaw, who has already received from recognition and radio airplay for his last release, Lonely Love. What we have this time around is a pop/rock number which is incredibly infectious and annoyingly catchy. Although it was recorded with a full band, the way it has been produced is that it is quite possible to imagine that this was recorded just by Max in the studio, with the drums in particular sounding quite programmed. But somehow it all gels together and one wonders what this is like when he plays it live as I can imagine this having a far greater emphasis on the rock, and less on the pop.

It is a summer single which is fresh and exciting, with his vocals well to the fore, in an early 80’s indie style which is quite reminiscent at times of Blur. There is both picked and jangly guitar, a strong bass, and while I would have preferred for the instrumentation to be richer and more rounded, the fairly flat style does work well in this context. It is only just over three minutes long, but there is a feeling that it has been stretched to reach that length with vocal repetitions, but I can pretty much guarantee I am not the target market and I can imagine this going over very well indeed with a young audience. One to keep an ear out for.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Max Earnshaw

Fresh off the release of his latest single Stay which debuted at #12 on the Hot NZ Singles Chart, Auckland Pop-Rocker Max Earnshaw is an act to watch. He made his radio debut on RNZ, KAOS FM, and Rock stations across the country with his sophomore single Lonely Love. He has made NZ media like The 13th Floor, Muzic.net.nz, and BUZZMUSIC (U.S). His debut video for Temporarily featured an international collaboration with LA based smoke bomb artist – Skeleton of Colour. After successful shows between lockdowns alongside rising NZ artists like ASHY and Geoff Ong, Max is bringing the party to The Wine Cellar this December with the release of his latest summer tune; Love It When You Hate Me!




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Max Earnshaw

Releases

There are no releases to display for Max Earnshaw.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The RVMES - Album Review: Lifetime
14 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The RVMES (pronounced “rooms”) are back with a ten-track release entitled Lifetime, following from their 9-track self-titled EP in 2019, plus numerous singles. Here we have a band who are determined not to sit within any particular genre, and while much of what they perform could fall under the banners of indie, alternative, pop and/or psychedelic, they bring much more than that into the mix.
Read More...
FYVEYES - Album Review: Elephant Room
12 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
FYVEYES, a young Hawkes Bay trio were formed by Harry Champion (guitar, lead vocals) with Harry Young (bass) and Harper Champion (drums) to play some gigs which had already been booked by Harry C prior to his previous band breaking up. The Champion brothers had already been in a band together called Elephant Room and loved the idea of picking out an elephant in the room when you are in a room full of elephants, so this time around they used it as an album title.
Read More...
Gig Review: Written By Wolves @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 09/04/2021
11 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was going to be a few firsts for me, including that this was going to be my first time at Ding Dong for a sell-out gig, as well as the first time I had seen Written By Wolves in concert. For the latter, I had been told I was a WBW virgin, while a certain photographer commented he must be a WBW slut!
Read More...
Elidi - Single Review: Witches Brew
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Christchurch quintet Elidi are back with their latest single, released just in time for their South Island gigs with Pull Down the Sun in April, before they head out on a NZ-wide tour with Stonehurst in a few months’ time. They describe themselves as progressive, but before you start thinking these guys are Genesis or Pink Floyd clones, understand they are talking progressive in its truest sense, which is blending together different styles and types of music into something which refuses to sit sedately within any particular sub-genre and instead goes wherever it leads, being taken on a journey in the same way as the listener.
Read More...
Album Review: The New Blue - Pixie Williams Reimagined
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Before starting on the music on this tribute album, we first need to understand who Pixie Williams was and the impact she had on NZ music. Pixie was the first wahine Maori vocalist to reach number one on the New Zealand singles chart, with the song Blue Smoke in 1949.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/03/2021
02 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was always going to be interesting, as this was the first time myself and my eldest daughter had been to a concert together for more than 16 years. The last time was for Bowling For Soup, and one of her achievements that night was reducing the average age of the audience, something she did again this evening.
Read More...
Bridge Burner - Album Review: Disempath
30 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from 2018’s Null Apostle, Auckland’s Bridge Burner are back with their second album, Disempath. Featuring guitarist Josh Hughes (Vassafor, Graves), vocalist Ben Read (ex-Ulcerate, In Dread Response), bassist Gary Brown, drummer Louis Malloy (ex-Anabyss) and guitarist Maxwell Gravelle (ex-Hexis, Setentis), here we have a group who are determined to push their music and their listeners to the very limits.
Read More...
Blindfolded and Led to the Woods - Album Review: Nightmare Withdrawals
25 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I first came across Christchurch-based band Blindfolded and Led to the Woods some four years back when they released their second album, Modern Adoxography. It had a huge impact on me, and I described it as having a musical foundation built upon brutal death metal, elements of demented grindcore and bizarre sci-fi tones weaving their way into the complex structures, resulting in an engaging and damaging listening experience.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem