25 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Max Earnshaw - Single Review: Love It When You Hate Me

03 Dec 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Love It When You Hate Me is the latest single from young Auckland singer Max Earnshaw, who has already received from recognition and radio airplay for his last release, Lonely Love. What we have this time around is a pop/rock number which is incredibly infectious and annoyingly catchy. Although it was recorded with a full band, the way it has been produced is that it is quite possible to imagine that this was recorded just by Max in the studio, with the drums in particular sounding quite programmed. But somehow it all gels together and one wonders what this is like when he plays it live as I can imagine this having a far greater emphasis on the rock, and less on the pop.

It is a summer single which is fresh and exciting, with his vocals well to the fore, in an early 80’s indie style which is quite reminiscent at times of Blur. There is both picked and jangly guitar, a strong bass, and while I would have preferred for the instrumentation to be richer and more rounded, the fairly flat style does work well in this context. It is only just over three minutes long, but there is a feeling that it has been stretched to reach that length with vocal repetitions, but I can pretty much guarantee I am not the target market and I can imagine this going over very well indeed with a young audience. One to keep an ear out for.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Max Earnshaw

Max Earnshaw is a 23-year old New Zealand artist creating a unique blend of Pop and Rock music. Influenced at an early age by bands like Kings Of Leon and Arctic Monkeys, he discovered a love for song crafting. He spent his childhood busking on the streets of Christchurch. Now based in Auckland, Max has released 5 singles with recognition across the NZ charts, Rock Radio and Media. Max absolutely smashes it live across NZ venues alongside rising artists like There's A Tuesday, Harry Parsons, The Raddlers and Geoff Ong.

His new rock single What We Made was recently released on the 21/5/2021 and has been featured on Rock Radio across the country and the U.S and featured on Media like muzic.net, NightOwl Promotions and 59Seconds. What We Made is about walking away from a relationship and everything that was built together, good and bad. This multi-layered song was created during the first 2020 lockdown.

His recent single Stay debuted at #12 on the Hot NZ Singles Chart. He made his radio debut on RNZ, KAOS FM, and Rock stations across the country with his sophomore single Lonely Love. He has made NZ media like The 13th Floor, Muzic.net, and BUZZMUSIC (U.S). His debut video (Temporarily), featured an international collaboration with LA based smoke bomb artist – ‘Skeleton of Colour’. And Max’s latest summer single Love It When You Hate Me had a headline show that was reviewed favourably by The 13th Floor.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Max Earnshaw

Releases

There are no releases to display for Max Earnshaw.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Claemus - Album Review: Daydream
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When I heard that Hutt Valley band Claemus had released their debut album I was immediately intrigued, as I came across the single Hedonist a few months ago, and given the number of influences and styles they had managed to ram into 5 minutes what could they do with a full album? These guys have managed to secure support slots with bands as diverse as P.
Read More...
Kevin Posey - EP Review: The Story of Francis
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Oklahoma native Kevin Posey lives in Auckland these days, and throughout his musical career he has investigated different types and styles of music, and for this EP he has moved into yet another area, as what we have here is classical music that has been inspired by Halloween and psychological thrillers. Some, such as Fog Forest No.
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: I'm Ready
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is Jolandi Ford’s third single since moving to Aotearoa from her native South Africa, and right from the first note one can why she has already been making a dent in international Country music charts. Although her voice is lighter in some ways, with a nice twang, her approach is quite reminiscent to the more rock-based approach of the likes of Shania Twain.
Read More...
Eurenza - EP Review: Good Luck... You're Gonna Need It
19 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Eurenza were originally formed seven years ago as Timeless, but eventually decided to go with a more uncommon name, and now have delivered their first five-track EP. Interestingly, much of this was recorded some time ago in preparation for an album, but they instead decided to go with the strongest tracks instead and cut it back.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Bring You Down
17 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam Bartells is back with his new single Bring You Down, which finds him taking quite a different approach to Where We'll Go, which also featured Mema Wilda. Whereas he normally sits quite happily within alt country, here we see him using that as a base and then moving in a much rockier direction.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age.
Read More...
Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem