28 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Corduroy. - Single Review: I'm So Bored

03 Dec 2020 // A review by Bethany Mountford

I’m So Bored is the first single release from Corduroy.’s upcoming EP Poor Man’s Velvet.

As the first release of the EP, it shows a crisp, vibrant progression from previous releases which builds excitement for what's still to come. With a jangly guitar tone, an excellent anticipatory drum intro and a sweet bassline too, this song just sort of makes sense.   

The song frames false promises made to yourself in a way that isn’t guilt inducing, just a part of life. It’s light, uplifting and what’s more is that the lyrics come with the implication that dancing is the answer, which is a philosophy I can totally get behind. It’s fun, poppy, bedroom dancing music.  

Definitely don’t miss Corduroy. on their 10 stop tour this season! It will sound like summer personified. 

The full EP is to be release late February, so stay tuned.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Corduroy.

Corduroy. are a 5 piece band formed in 2017 in Wellington, New Zealand.

Since forming, they have gained a large following in Wellington, and a loyal fan base all around New Zealand. They have played sold out shows at Venues such as Caroline and Meow, and played alongside bands such as Mako Road and Mild Orange.

Corduroy. have two singles released on all streaming platforms, with their first single The Usual already gaining over 50,000 streams on Spotify. Their new single Waiting Game has recently been released, be sure to check them out!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Corduroy.

Releases

There are no releases to display for Corduroy..

Other Reviews By Bethany Mountford

Lunavela - Single Review: Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend
21 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I'm not gonna lie; Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend was stuck in my head for a solid week after I listened to it for the first time – so be warned. Perhaps the reason it stuck so solidly in my head was that I kept finding myself in the painfully mundane and tricky situations that it laments.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Africa
10 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
One thing is for sure. Wellington is not warm enough to do this song justice.
Read More...
Samuel Gaskin - Single/Video Review: Reckoning
31 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Reckoning is a new single and video release from Samuel Gaskin that follows in the wake of his stage production by the same name. New Zealand born and now based in Melbourne, Gaskin intertwines his own roots and the roots of his current placing in this video, with a cast of 20 First Nations Aboriginal and Maori performers.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - Single Review: The Phoenix
19 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Wow! I knew this track would be something else before I even listened to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Bluey Green
08 Jul 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
July 9, 2021, sees the first ever release of Bluey Green – the self-titled EP. As I sometimes do with reviews, I dived right into this EP before reading about, or even having heard of Bluey Green, and nothing could have been a more fitting description than the wavering, reflective shine of the ocean that the name alone evokes.
Read More...
Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Album Review: Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
21 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Everything Is As It Shouldn’t Be is the latest release from Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons, and boy it is a wild ride. The album takes self-proclaimed inspiration from “Bob-Dylan, Talking Heads, Claude Debussy, Velvet Underground and Radiohead,” so I went in with eclectic expectations.
Read More...
Gig Review: Oh Sweet Nothings @ Valhalla, Wellington - 06/06/2021
09 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I’m not sure what I expected, but last Sunday’s Oh Sweet Nothings album release party painted a very interesting scene at Valhalla. The following day, Monday, was to be Queen’s birthday bank holiday and town was consequently busier than the usual Sunday, littered with drunkards and litter.
Read More...
Renée Therése - Single Review: The Train Man
22 Apr 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
The Train Man is the third single from the album Better With Friends by Renée Therése, due to be released in May. The song tells the tale of a passionate train driver, dutiful and modest, a real working-class man.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bethany Mountford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem