21 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cafe Fistfight - Single Review: King Hit Quiche

03 Dec 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

For anyone who has yet to catch these guys in concert, they are probably best summed up by how they describe their debut single, "An oven baked heavy hitter packed full of protein and sprinkled with cheese." Here we have a band who refuse to take themselves or their music too seriously, yet are producing incredibly complex arrangements, and are a stunning live act. The first time I saw them play they had this as the opener, and last night they used it as a closer, but it works incredibly well in either place either warming up the crowd or leaving them wanting more.

Lead singer Chris Moutter has an incredibly expressive voice, as well as being an excellent acoustic guitarist, and this recording starts with him a cafe asking for pancakes only to be disappointed. He is already gently picking on his guitar, and when he starts with the opening line "I have been working for a lifetime, trading money for my soul" he sounds almost as if he is a grizzled old bluesman, with a voice which sounds far older than his years. Then Josh adds some delicate melody over the top on his 7-string, and then all of a sudden, we are into a bouncing rock number. At the back Dan is always providing complex patterns on the kit, shifting the rhythm in different directions while Jesse moves between following the guitars and creating his own counter melodies on the bass, and Josh is always switching styles and sounds. Then at the heart of it is all is Chris, with everyone fully into the music.

There is always a great deal going on, whether it is the touches on the cymbals or a few additional notes here and there. It certainly never sounds like a young band with their debut release, but as if they are seasoned pros. There are plenty of hooks, and the way they drop Josh out of the song altogether for a few bars so he can come back with emphasis is superb. They keep switching and changing so on never knows where they are really going to end up, but they come back to the main theme and obviously said to Josh "at this point go nuts", so he did. When the song finishes there is the sound of Chris laughing as he steps back from the microphone and that to me is what this band is all about. Complex ripping music with great arrangements, yet they all have fun while they are doing it. This is a young band who are going to go places.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Cafe Fistfight

Cafe Fistfight are New Zealand's leading Cafe-themed Acoustic hard rock band. Nourishing the soul and enriching the eardrums with bopping classics like Service with a Smile and King Hit Quiche these four fellas are sure to get you back for seconds.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cafe Fistfight

Releases

There are no releases to display for Cafe Fistfight.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The RVMES - Album Review: Lifetime
14 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The RVMES (pronounced “rooms”) are back with a ten-track release entitled Lifetime, following from their 9-track self-titled EP in 2019, plus numerous singles. Here we have a band who are determined not to sit within any particular genre, and while much of what they perform could fall under the banners of indie, alternative, pop and/or psychedelic, they bring much more than that into the mix.
Read More...
FYVEYES - Album Review: Elephant Room
12 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
FYVEYES, a young Hawkes Bay trio were formed by Harry Champion (guitar, lead vocals) with Harry Young (bass) and Harper Champion (drums) to play some gigs which had already been booked by Harry C prior to his previous band breaking up. The Champion brothers had already been in a band together called Elephant Room and loved the idea of picking out an elephant in the room when you are in a room full of elephants, so this time around they used it as an album title.
Read More...
Gig Review: Written By Wolves @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 09/04/2021
11 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was going to be a few firsts for me, including that this was going to be my first time at Ding Dong for a sell-out gig, as well as the first time I had seen Written By Wolves in concert. For the latter, I had been told I was a WBW virgin, while a certain photographer commented he must be a WBW slut!
Read More...
Elidi - Single Review: Witches Brew
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Christchurch quintet Elidi are back with their latest single, released just in time for their South Island gigs with Pull Down the Sun in April, before they head out on a NZ-wide tour with Stonehurst in a few months’ time. They describe themselves as progressive, but before you start thinking these guys are Genesis or Pink Floyd clones, understand they are talking progressive in its truest sense, which is blending together different styles and types of music into something which refuses to sit sedately within any particular sub-genre and instead goes wherever it leads, being taken on a journey in the same way as the listener.
Read More...
Album Review: The New Blue - Pixie Williams Reimagined
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Before starting on the music on this tribute album, we first need to understand who Pixie Williams was and the impact she had on NZ music. Pixie was the first wahine Maori vocalist to reach number one on the New Zealand singles chart, with the song Blue Smoke in 1949.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/03/2021
02 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was always going to be interesting, as this was the first time myself and my eldest daughter had been to a concert together for more than 16 years. The last time was for Bowling For Soup, and one of her achievements that night was reducing the average age of the audience, something she did again this evening.
Read More...
Bridge Burner - Album Review: Disempath
30 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from 2018’s Null Apostle, Auckland’s Bridge Burner are back with their second album, Disempath. Featuring guitarist Josh Hughes (Vassafor, Graves), vocalist Ben Read (ex-Ulcerate, In Dread Response), bassist Gary Brown, drummer Louis Malloy (ex-Anabyss) and guitarist Maxwell Gravelle (ex-Hexis, Setentis), here we have a group who are determined to push their music and their listeners to the very limits.
Read More...
Blindfolded and Led to the Woods - Album Review: Nightmare Withdrawals
25 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I first came across Christchurch-based band Blindfolded and Led to the Woods some four years back when they released their second album, Modern Adoxography. It had a huge impact on me, and I described it as having a musical foundation built upon brutal death metal, elements of demented grindcore and bizarre sci-fi tones weaving their way into the complex structures, resulting in an engaging and damaging listening experience.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem