1 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Viices - Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”

01 Dec 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017.

Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box. In these days of "here’s my download code", it’s an absolute joy to get an actual record in the post. There’s no expense spared here; the song Double Denim has been recorded and produced very well, polished to indie perfection. It comes in a full colour gloss printed sleeve, making it a treasure to add to my collection. The song is indie pop, slightly distorted but not fully fuzzed out, guitars play a descending melody for the intro and first verse, then there’s a pre-chorus, and chorus, then coda. Viices is no vocal slouch either, singing in tune with his voice slightly buried in the mix, with the words becoming more audible on second, third and fourth listens.

The 'B' side, Jess Song, simply defies the 'B' side tag, it could easily be an 'A' side. Viices' songwriting and composition skills are right up there. Jess Song is a bit more subdued than Double Denim, and I suppose that why he put it on the flip side. That said it is still a bloody catchy tune. I love that so many bands like Viices are taking a punt on releasing music on artefacts like 7" singles, CDs, long player records, and it seems cassette tapes are making a bit of a resurgence too.

But yes, this Viices 7" is well worth the investment, either digital download, or even better is the 7" taonga version

Viices brings together acoustic and electric noises, and elements from rock and Hip-Hop in his unique approach to live-looping.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Viices

Viices is the solo project of Jake McComb. Bit of indie, bit of rock, usually melancholy.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Viices

Releases

Double Denim
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Toxic
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Big Scout - Single Review: Mr. Slice
27 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Straight Outta Blenheim, noisy angular post-punk band Big Scout have released an addictive new song, Mr. Slice.
Read More...
Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day
06 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand." It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.
Read More...
James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem