14 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Solomon Cole Band - Single Review: Lucifer's Rising

26 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

The Solomon Cole Band comprise Solomon (vocals, guitar), Fonnie Jo Davies (vocals), Lee Catlin (bass) and Loujean (LJ) Philander (drums), and one has to ask the question as to when did Waiheke Island become part of the Deep South and go back in time? Their latest release, Lucifer’s Rising, is taken from their second album, A Little South Of Heaven, and takes us almost 100 years into the past and geographically into the Southern states of America. It starts off as if it is a chain gang recording, the traditional pre-war blues style, with just vocals, simple guitars (including a steel) and a bass tied in with the bass drum. More vocals are layered on top, and the song gradually builds, with more than small amount of influence taken from the likes of the mighty Son House.

Away from the introduction, the band evoke the spirit of Dr John, the Night Tripper, bringing forth a Cajun-inspired voodoo blues which is so evocative the listener feels as if they are in the heart of Louisiana. This is music which is incredibly emotional, as the listener is taken on a journey which is totally genuine, and it is hard to believe this is coming from New Zealand. Fans of the likes of Leadbelly and Charley Patton are going to be amazed that music like this is being produced in 2020, mixing that traditional sound with swamp rock and roll. The chain gang style keeps coming back through the song as it develops into something which is dark and dirty, not something which should be out during the day as this is music for the night time, when anything is possible.

There is a swagger here, a knowledge that here is the raw genuine deal, with every note soaked in history and power, when music was created on emotion in the fields as opposed to in a studio with everything going through autotune. Each time I play this I “see” cotton fields and labourers, which morphs into something spilling out of a dirty dive in the French Quarter and the pictures in my head become intermingled and on top of each other. If the album is as powerful as the single, then it will be indispensable.  

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Solomon Cole Band

The Solomon Cole Band play the type of music god fearing parents warn their children about - voodoo-drenched rock and roll blues, trance type back beats riding the knife edge of desire and desolation.

Evoking the dark folklore of Tom Waits, their sound marries the blues effigies of Son House, R L Burnside, embraces the spirit of Howlin' Wolf - all the while delivering it with the rock'n'roll swagger of a Black Keys / voodoo inspired mardi gras for the lonesome and downtrodden. The Solomon Cole Band ushered forth an electrifying rock'n'roll momentum with the release of their debut album Bruises in 2016. Hailed as one of the year’s best releases, Bruises erupted onto the local scene – receiving rave reviews, charting on both the NZ Local album and Independent NZ Music Album charts and culminating in a nomination for the Taite Music Prize for Best Debut Album.

The ultimate alt-blues crossover act, The Solomon Cole Band have opened for Martha Davis & The Motels (US), My Baby (Europe), The Animals (UK) and The Supersuckers (US). Solomon Cole was also selected to open for The Marcus King Band (US) in 2020, as part of King's planned tour of Australia and New Zealand. A Little South Of Heaven, their sophomore album set to be released next year, represents the evolution of a band on the threshold of taking hold and their emergence from the underground: from the grinding roots stomp of Lucifer's Rising, the sultry snap of Fixin' To Live to the electric trance groove of Diamond In Your Eye, The Solomon Cole Band will shortly no longer be NZ's best kept little secret.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Solomon Cole Band

Releases

Bruises
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

FYVEYES - Album Review: Elephant Room
12 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
FYVEYES, a young Hawkes Bay trio were formed by Harry Champion (guitar, lead vocals) with Harry Young (bass) and Harper Champion (drums) to play some gigs which had already been booked by Harry C prior to his previous band breaking up. The Champion brothers had already been in a band together called Elephant Room and loved the idea of picking out an elephant in the room when you are in a room full of elephants, so this time around they used it as an album title.
Read More...
Gig Review: Written By Wolves @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 09/04/2021
11 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was going to be a few firsts for me, including that this was going to be my first time at Ding Dong for a sell-out gig, as well as the first time I had seen Written By Wolves in concert. For the latter, I had been told I was a WBW virgin, while a certain photographer commented he must be a WBW slut!
Read More...
Elidi - Single Review: Witches Brew
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Christchurch quintet Elidi are back with their latest single, released just in time for their South Island gigs with Pull Down the Sun in April, before they head out on a NZ-wide tour with Stonehurst in a few months’ time. They describe themselves as progressive, but before you start thinking these guys are Genesis or Pink Floyd clones, understand they are talking progressive in its truest sense, which is blending together different styles and types of music into something which refuses to sit sedately within any particular sub-genre and instead goes wherever it leads, being taken on a journey in the same way as the listener.
Read More...
Album Review: The New Blue - Pixie Williams Reimagined
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Before starting on the music on this tribute album, we first need to understand who Pixie Williams was and the impact she had on NZ music. Pixie was the first wahine Maori vocalist to reach number one on the New Zealand singles chart, with the song Blue Smoke in 1949.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/03/2021
02 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was always going to be interesting, as this was the first time myself and my eldest daughter had been to a concert together for more than 16 years. The last time was for Bowling For Soup, and one of her achievements that night was reducing the average age of the audience, something she did again this evening.
Read More...
Bridge Burner - Album Review: Disempath
30 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from 2018’s Null Apostle, Auckland’s Bridge Burner are back with their second album, Disempath. Featuring guitarist Josh Hughes (Vassafor, Graves), vocalist Ben Read (ex-Ulcerate, In Dread Response), bassist Gary Brown, drummer Louis Malloy (ex-Anabyss) and guitarist Maxwell Gravelle (ex-Hexis, Setentis), here we have a group who are determined to push their music and their listeners to the very limits.
Read More...
Blindfolded and Led to the Woods - Album Review: Nightmare Withdrawals
25 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I first came across Christchurch-based band Blindfolded and Led to the Woods some four years back when they released their second album, Modern Adoxography. It had a huge impact on me, and I described it as having a musical foundation built upon brutal death metal, elements of demented grindcore and bizarre sci-fi tones weaving their way into the complex structures, resulting in an engaging and damaging listening experience.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: House of Cards
23 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Back in October I reviewed Palmerston North outfit The Wake Up's latest single, Worthy, which introduced new bassist Nathan Charles, and now here they are back with the seventh single of their career, and this time around they have a new guitarist in Trent Fairhurst. It sounds as if he has made an immediate impact as this is much heavier than their last one, and drummer Caleb Hickmott says, “it is the demon love child of Devilskin, Billie Eilish and Motley Crue”.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem