27 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Solomon Cole Band - Single Review: Lucifer's Rising

26 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

The Solomon Cole Band comprise Solomon (vocals, guitar), Fonnie Jo Davies (vocals), Lee Catlin (bass) and Loujean (LJ) Philander (drums), and one has to ask the question as to when did Waiheke Island become part of the Deep South and go back in time? Their latest release, Lucifer’s Rising, is taken from their second album, A Little South Of Heaven, and takes us almost 100 years into the past and geographically into the Southern states of America. It starts off as if it is a chain gang recording, the traditional pre-war blues style, with just vocals, simple guitars (including a steel) and a bass tied in with the bass drum. More vocals are layered on top, and the song gradually builds, with more than small amount of influence taken from the likes of the mighty Son House.

Away from the introduction, the band evoke the spirit of Dr John, the Night Tripper, bringing forth a Cajun-inspired voodoo blues which is so evocative the listener feels as if they are in the heart of Louisiana. This is music which is incredibly emotional, as the listener is taken on a journey which is totally genuine, and it is hard to believe this is coming from New Zealand. Fans of the likes of Leadbelly and Charley Patton are going to be amazed that music like this is being produced in 2020, mixing that traditional sound with swamp rock and roll. The chain gang style keeps coming back through the song as it develops into something which is dark and dirty, not something which should be out during the day as this is music for the night time, when anything is possible.

There is a swagger here, a knowledge that here is the raw genuine deal, with every note soaked in history and power, when music was created on emotion in the fields as opposed to in a studio with everything going through autotune. Each time I play this I “see” cotton fields and labourers, which morphs into something spilling out of a dirty dive in the French Quarter and the pictures in my head become intermingled and on top of each other. If the album is as powerful as the single, then it will be indispensable.  

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Solomon Cole Band

The Solomon Cole Band play the type of music god fearing parents warn their children about - voodoo-drenched rock and roll blues, trance type back beats riding the knife edge of desire and desolation.

Evoking the dark folklore of Tom Waits, their sound marries the blues effigies of Son House, R L Burnside, embraces the spirit of Howlin' Wolf - all the while delivering it with the rock'n'roll swagger of a Black Keys / voodoo inspired mardi gras for the lonesome and downtrodden. The Solomon Cole Band ushered forth an electrifying rock'n'roll momentum with the release of their debut album Bruises in 2016. Hailed as one of the year’s best releases, Bruises erupted onto the local scene – receiving rave reviews, charting on both the NZ Local album and Independent NZ Music Album charts and culminating in a nomination for the Taite Music Prize for Best Debut Album.

The ultimate alt-blues crossover act, The Solomon Cole Band have opened for Martha Davis & The Motels (US), My Baby (Europe), The Animals (UK) and The Supersuckers (US). Solomon Cole was also selected to open for The Marcus King Band (US) in 2020, as part of King's planned tour of Australia and New Zealand. A Little South Of Heaven, their sophomore album set to be released next year, represents the evolution of a band on the threshold of taking hold and their emergence from the underground: from the grinding roots stomp of Lucifer's Rising, the sultry snap of Fixin' To Live to the electric trance groove of Diamond In Your Eye, The Solomon Cole Band will shortly no longer be NZ's best kept little secret.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Solomon Cole Band

Releases

Bruises
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: The First Child @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 22/01/2021
24 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When I sent Mariner the review of their gig the previous week, singer Adam told me they were playing Ding Dong again on the Friday, so I thought to myself why not? So, for the second consecutive Friday I made my way into central Auckland to everyone’s favourite rock dive.
Read More...
Achilles Complex - Single Review: Vice
22 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Achilles Complex started life in Hamilton as a 3-piece power trio in 2019, releasing their debut single Shut It in September of that year, and are now back with their new song Vice having transformed themselves into a quartet of Harley Flynn (guitar, vocals), Jordan Carpenter (bass), Zak Cole (drums) and Reece Gielen (guitar, vocals). They describe themselves as a progressive rock band with roots in rock, funk, indie and metal while also exploring ambient textures such as synthwave, trap, pop and more.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 15/01/2021
16 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
After going back home to Canterbury for Christmas, it was back up to Auckland last weekend and looking forward to my first gig of the year. When I realised that Cafe Fistfight had organised a 4-band bill at the Ding Dong Lounge on the Friday then of course that was the only place to be.
Read More...
Colette Rivers - Album Review: Memory Lake
12 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Colette Rivers is an American-born, New-Zealand raised, self-proclaimed 'Kiwi', with a deep connection to the earth and sea and has named her album after "the bonny, bonny banks of Lake Taupo" where she moved when she was just 11 years old. Her roots are in folk and singer-songwriter, yet while the acoustic guitar is always very important to the sound, she is not averse to bringing in other electric instruments to create soundscapes which mean the songs are very different to each other.
Read More...
Grant Haua - Album Review: Awa Blues
12 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2020 saw me write more than 650 reviews of all manner of music, but the one song which for me really stood head and shoulders above the rest was This is the Place - Tenei Te Ao. It has a raw simplicity and passion which is hard to describe, yet is incredibly effective and grabs me each and every time I play it, and I still enjoy listening to it now as much as I did the very first time.
Read More...
Voodoo Bloo - Album Review: Jacobus
14 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Voodoo Bloo is the new project from ex-Lucifer Gunne frontman Rory McDonald who has decided to take his music in a new direction, and consequently has created a new entity, where for this album he recorded it all himself. Mind you, he hasn’t totally left his old band behind, as the opening song on the album was also the opening number on the last Lucifer Gunne EP, One Day You'll Be The Best Thing That's Ever Happened To Someone, but here Pigs On Antibiotics (Exploding Song) is far more dramatic with the song being way more edgy.
Read More...
Solo Ono - EP Review: Now We Know Who to Blame
14 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Wellington’s Solo Ono are currently operating as a trio, with guitarist/singer Frank Eggleton (Tidal Rave, Echo Beach, Kittentank) and drummer Jordan Stewart (Pleasant Surprise) now joined by bassist Birgit Bachler. It has been two years since their last EP Rogue Planet, which was released as a duo, and these three songs were all partially written that same year, being completed during the 2020 NZ lockdown.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Biggest Pub Gig In The World @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 11/12/2020
13 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
On Friday evening Spark Arena took us all back in time, to a period when many of the punters there that night were going out and having a blast. When I picked up my tickets, I was a little surprised to see they were General Admission, and then as we made our way inside, we had our wrists stamped (with a little guitar).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem