28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Solomon Cole Band - Single Review: Lucifer's Rising

26 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

The Solomon Cole Band comprise Solomon (vocals, guitar), Fonnie Jo Davies (vocals), Lee Catlin (bass) and Loujean (LJ) Philander (drums), and one has to ask the question as to when did Waiheke Island become part of the Deep South and go back in time? Their latest release, Lucifer’s Rising, is taken from their second album, A Little South Of Heaven, and takes us almost 100 years into the past and geographically into the Southern states of America. It starts off as if it is a chain gang recording, the traditional pre-war blues style, with just vocals, simple guitars (including a steel) and a bass tied in with the bass drum. More vocals are layered on top, and the song gradually builds, with more than small amount of influence taken from the likes of the mighty Son House.

Away from the introduction, the band evoke the spirit of Dr John, the Night Tripper, bringing forth a Cajun-inspired voodoo blues which is so evocative the listener feels as if they are in the heart of Louisiana. This is music which is incredibly emotional, as the listener is taken on a journey which is totally genuine, and it is hard to believe this is coming from New Zealand. Fans of the likes of Leadbelly and Charley Patton are going to be amazed that music like this is being produced in 2020, mixing that traditional sound with swamp rock and roll. The chain gang style keeps coming back through the song as it develops into something which is dark and dirty, not something which should be out during the day as this is music for the night time, when anything is possible.

There is a swagger here, a knowledge that here is the raw genuine deal, with every note soaked in history and power, when music was created on emotion in the fields as opposed to in a studio with everything going through autotune. Each time I play this I “see” cotton fields and labourers, which morphs into something spilling out of a dirty dive in the French Quarter and the pictures in my head become intermingled and on top of each other. If the album is as powerful as the single, then it will be indispensable.  

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Solomon Cole Band

The Solomon Cole Band play the type of music god fearing parents warn their children about - voodoo-drenched rock and roll blues, trance type back beats riding the knife edge of desire and desolation.

Evoking the dark folklore of Tom Waits, their sound marries the blues effigies of Son House, R L Burnside, embraces the spirit of Howlin' Wolf - all the while delivering it with the rock'n'roll swagger of a Black Keys / voodoo inspired mardi gras for the lonesome and downtrodden. The Solomon Cole Band ushered forth an electrifying rock'n'roll momentum with the release of their debut album Bruises in 2016. Hailed as one of the year’s best releases, Bruises erupted onto the local scene – receiving rave reviews, charting on both the NZ Local album and Independent NZ Music Album charts and culminating in a nomination for the Taite Music Prize for Best Debut Album.

The ultimate alt-blues crossover act, The Solomon Cole Band have opened for Martha Davis & The Motels (US), My Baby (Europe), The Animals (UK) and The Supersuckers (US). Solomon Cole was also selected to open for The Marcus King Band (US) in 2020, as part of King's planned tour of Australia and New Zealand. A Little South Of Heaven, their sophomore album set to be released next year, represents the evolution of a band on the threshold of taking hold and their emergence from the underground: from the grinding roots stomp of Lucifer's Rising, the sultry snap of Fixin' To Live to the electric trance groove of Diamond In Your Eye, The Solomon Cole Band will shortly no longer be NZ's best kept little secret.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Solomon Cole Band

Releases

Bruises
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem