14 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Album Review: It's Already Tomorrow

25 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

This compilation is the brainchild of leading New Zealand composer, John Psathas, and past-student guitarist, electronic musician and composer, Jack Hooker. With everyone in bubbles around the world, the idea was to create a collaborative environment for New Zealand artists, where John and Jack created nuggets for others to amend and use as a base for their own musical adventures. The concept was about music being created by artists feeling the changes in the world around them, living through a period of dramatic and unparalleled change, yet that was the only guide.

The result is an album which is incredibly diverse, yet due to the songs all having a grounding in a similar base, there is actually a continuity running through this release that I definitely did not expect. I tend to listen to music which is primarily rock/metal, folk, avant-garde or jazz-based, and it is safe to say there is music on here which does not fit within my normal genres, yet even those from areas I would normally not frequent somehow seem fitting and very much part of a greater whole. Take for instance Purple Pilgrims and their song Ground Piece. They were expecting to be performing at the prestigious South by South West Festival in Texas and instead found themselves stuck in the Coromandel, and they have come up with a piece which is ethereal and beguiling, yet the song which follows, Unlearn by Arjuna Oakes & John Psathas is very different indeed: vocals carry most of the rhythm and melody with a whole host of brass and other instruments providing support in a song which contains elements of lounge jazz and soul and is incredibly compelling.

But it is the two songs which bookend this album which I found the most interesting. The opener is Sappho by Indira Force (indi), and is a combination of voice, woodwind, banjo, kanun (a type of large zither)  and sound effects (plus more) which feels rooted in nature, and each time I play this I imagine being in a small hut in a forest with the rain falling from the sky and then landing on the leaves all around. We finish with Grayson Gilmour and Feather / Folded which according to the musician is thinking about Mother Nature’s indifference to mankind. Ambient and piano-based there is also a real edge to the music, steel within the velvet glove, with radio interference getting in the way. The melody strives to survive, and somehow it does, even though there is so much stacked up against it.

This is an album which really does need to be played a great deal, as although a few songs stood out the very first time I played it, it probably wasn’t until I got to the fifth or sixth listen that it all really started to make sense and I could understand the collective whole and how each song and artist relies so much on the diversity from the others to really make their statement. By setting the simple ground rule that each song had to be developed from what was provided by Psathas and Hooker there is a continuity throughout, while having no other rules whatsoever means the album is incredibly diverse and stays interesting throughout. It brings together 14 New Zealand artists from around the world, across a multitude of genres, with the producers and guest performers living in Germany, Greece, Serbia, as well as right home here in Aotearoa. This is a wonderful album which is worth investigating by anyone who wants their music to be out of the mainstream, yet still melodic and fascinating.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

FYVEYES - Album Review: Elephant Room
12 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
FYVEYES, a young Hawkes Bay trio were formed by Harry Champion (guitar, lead vocals) with Harry Young (bass) and Harper Champion (drums) to play some gigs which had already been booked by Harry C prior to his previous band breaking up. The Champion brothers had already been in a band together called Elephant Room and loved the idea of picking out an elephant in the room when you are in a room full of elephants, so this time around they used it as an album title.
Read More...
Gig Review: Written By Wolves @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 09/04/2021
11 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was going to be a few firsts for me, including that this was going to be my first time at Ding Dong for a sell-out gig, as well as the first time I had seen Written By Wolves in concert. For the latter, I had been told I was a WBW virgin, while a certain photographer commented he must be a WBW slut!
Read More...
Elidi - Single Review: Witches Brew
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Christchurch quintet Elidi are back with their latest single, released just in time for their South Island gigs with Pull Down the Sun in April, before they head out on a NZ-wide tour with Stonehurst in a few months’ time. They describe themselves as progressive, but before you start thinking these guys are Genesis or Pink Floyd clones, understand they are talking progressive in its truest sense, which is blending together different styles and types of music into something which refuses to sit sedately within any particular sub-genre and instead goes wherever it leads, being taken on a journey in the same way as the listener.
Read More...
Album Review: The New Blue - Pixie Williams Reimagined
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Before starting on the music on this tribute album, we first need to understand who Pixie Williams was and the impact she had on NZ music. Pixie was the first wahine Maori vocalist to reach number one on the New Zealand singles chart, with the song Blue Smoke in 1949.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/03/2021
02 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was always going to be interesting, as this was the first time myself and my eldest daughter had been to a concert together for more than 16 years. The last time was for Bowling For Soup, and one of her achievements that night was reducing the average age of the audience, something she did again this evening.
Read More...
Bridge Burner - Album Review: Disempath
30 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from 2018’s Null Apostle, Auckland’s Bridge Burner are back with their second album, Disempath. Featuring guitarist Josh Hughes (Vassafor, Graves), vocalist Ben Read (ex-Ulcerate, In Dread Response), bassist Gary Brown, drummer Louis Malloy (ex-Anabyss) and guitarist Maxwell Gravelle (ex-Hexis, Setentis), here we have a group who are determined to push their music and their listeners to the very limits.
Read More...
Blindfolded and Led to the Woods - Album Review: Nightmare Withdrawals
25 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I first came across Christchurch-based band Blindfolded and Led to the Woods some four years back when they released their second album, Modern Adoxography. It had a huge impact on me, and I described it as having a musical foundation built upon brutal death metal, elements of demented grindcore and bizarre sci-fi tones weaving their way into the complex structures, resulting in an engaging and damaging listening experience.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: House of Cards
23 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Back in October I reviewed Palmerston North outfit The Wake Up's latest single, Worthy, which introduced new bassist Nathan Charles, and now here they are back with the seventh single of their career, and this time around they have a new guitarist in Trent Fairhurst. It sounds as if he has made an immediate impact as this is much heavier than their last one, and drummer Caleb Hickmott says, “it is the demon love child of Devilskin, Billie Eilish and Motley Crue”.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem