27 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Album Review: It's Already Tomorrow

25 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

This compilation is the brainchild of leading New Zealand composer, John Psathas, and past-student guitarist, electronic musician and composer, Jack Hooker. With everyone in bubbles around the world, the idea was to create a collaborative environment for New Zealand artists, where John and Jack created nuggets for others to amend and use as a base for their own musical adventures. The concept was about music being created by artists feeling the changes in the world around them, living through a period of dramatic and unparalleled change, yet that was the only guide.

The result is an album which is incredibly diverse, yet due to the songs all having a grounding in a similar base, there is actually a continuity running through this release that I definitely did not expect. I tend to listen to music which is primarily rock/metal, folk, avant-garde or jazz-based, and it is safe to say there is music on here which does not fit within my normal genres, yet even those from areas I would normally not frequent somehow seem fitting and very much part of a greater whole. Take for instance Purple Pilgrims and their song Ground Piece. They were expecting to be performing at the prestigious South by South West Festival in Texas and instead found themselves stuck in the Coromandel, and they have come up with a piece which is ethereal and beguiling, yet the song which follows, Unlearn by Arjuna Oakes & John Psathas is very different indeed: vocals carry most of the rhythm and melody with a whole host of brass and other instruments providing support in a song which contains elements of lounge jazz and soul and is incredibly compelling.

But it is the two songs which bookend this album which I found the most interesting. The opener is Sappho by Indira Force (indi), and is a combination of voice, woodwind, banjo, kanun (a type of large zither)  and sound effects (plus more) which feels rooted in nature, and each time I play this I imagine being in a small hut in a forest with the rain falling from the sky and then landing on the leaves all around. We finish with Grayson Gilmour and Feather / Folded which according to the musician is thinking about Mother Nature’s indifference to mankind. Ambient and piano-based there is also a real edge to the music, steel within the velvet glove, with radio interference getting in the way. The melody strives to survive, and somehow it does, even though there is so much stacked up against it.

This is an album which really does need to be played a great deal, as although a few songs stood out the very first time I played it, it probably wasn’t until I got to the fifth or sixth listen that it all really started to make sense and I could understand the collective whole and how each song and artist relies so much on the diversity from the others to really make their statement. By setting the simple ground rule that each song had to be developed from what was provided by Psathas and Hooker there is a continuity throughout, while having no other rules whatsoever means the album is incredibly diverse and stays interesting throughout. It brings together 14 New Zealand artists from around the world, across a multitude of genres, with the producers and guest performers living in Germany, Greece, Serbia, as well as right home here in Aotearoa. This is a wonderful album which is worth investigating by anyone who wants their music to be out of the mainstream, yet still melodic and fascinating.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: The First Child @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 22/01/2021
24 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When I sent Mariner the review of their gig the previous week, singer Adam told me they were playing Ding Dong again on the Friday, so I thought to myself why not? So, for the second consecutive Friday I made my way into central Auckland to everyone’s favourite rock dive.
Read More...
Achilles Complex - Single Review: Vice
22 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Achilles Complex started life in Hamilton as a 3-piece power trio in 2019, releasing their debut single Shut It in September of that year, and are now back with their new song Vice having transformed themselves into a quartet of Harley Flynn (guitar, vocals), Jordan Carpenter (bass), Zak Cole (drums) and Reece Gielen (guitar, vocals). They describe themselves as a progressive rock band with roots in rock, funk, indie and metal while also exploring ambient textures such as synthwave, trap, pop and more.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 15/01/2021
16 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
After going back home to Canterbury for Christmas, it was back up to Auckland last weekend and looking forward to my first gig of the year. When I realised that Cafe Fistfight had organised a 4-band bill at the Ding Dong Lounge on the Friday then of course that was the only place to be.
Read More...
Colette Rivers - Album Review: Memory Lake
12 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Colette Rivers is an American-born, New-Zealand raised, self-proclaimed 'Kiwi', with a deep connection to the earth and sea and has named her album after "the bonny, bonny banks of Lake Taupo" where she moved when she was just 11 years old. Her roots are in folk and singer-songwriter, yet while the acoustic guitar is always very important to the sound, she is not averse to bringing in other electric instruments to create soundscapes which mean the songs are very different to each other.
Read More...
Grant Haua - Album Review: Awa Blues
12 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2020 saw me write more than 650 reviews of all manner of music, but the one song which for me really stood head and shoulders above the rest was This is the Place - Tenei Te Ao. It has a raw simplicity and passion which is hard to describe, yet is incredibly effective and grabs me each and every time I play it, and I still enjoy listening to it now as much as I did the very first time.
Read More...
Voodoo Bloo - Album Review: Jacobus
14 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Voodoo Bloo is the new project from ex-Lucifer Gunne frontman Rory McDonald who has decided to take his music in a new direction, and consequently has created a new entity, where for this album he recorded it all himself. Mind you, he hasn’t totally left his old band behind, as the opening song on the album was also the opening number on the last Lucifer Gunne EP, One Day You'll Be The Best Thing That's Ever Happened To Someone, but here Pigs On Antibiotics (Exploding Song) is far more dramatic with the song being way more edgy.
Read More...
Solo Ono - EP Review: Now We Know Who to Blame
14 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Wellington’s Solo Ono are currently operating as a trio, with guitarist/singer Frank Eggleton (Tidal Rave, Echo Beach, Kittentank) and drummer Jordan Stewart (Pleasant Surprise) now joined by bassist Birgit Bachler. It has been two years since their last EP Rogue Planet, which was released as a duo, and these three songs were all partially written that same year, being completed during the 2020 NZ lockdown.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Biggest Pub Gig In The World @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 11/12/2020
13 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
On Friday evening Spark Arena took us all back in time, to a period when many of the punters there that night were going out and having a blast. When I picked up my tickets, I was a little surprised to see they were General Admission, and then as we made our way inside, we had our wrists stamped (with a little guitar).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem