28 Jan 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Album Review: It's Already Tomorrow

25 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

This compilation is the brainchild of leading New Zealand composer, John Psathas, and past-student guitarist, electronic musician and composer, Jack Hooker. With everyone in bubbles around the world, the idea was to create a collaborative environment for New Zealand artists, where John and Jack created nuggets for others to amend and use as a base for their own musical adventures. The concept was about music being created by artists feeling the changes in the world around them, living through a period of dramatic and unparalleled change, yet that was the only guide.

The result is an album which is incredibly diverse, yet due to the songs all having a grounding in a similar base, there is actually a continuity running through this release that I definitely did not expect. I tend to listen to music which is primarily rock/metal, folk, avant-garde or jazz-based, and it is safe to say there is music on here which does not fit within my normal genres, yet even those from areas I would normally not frequent somehow seem fitting and very much part of a greater whole. Take for instance Purple Pilgrims and their song Ground Piece. They were expecting to be performing at the prestigious South by South West Festival in Texas and instead found themselves stuck in the Coromandel, and they have come up with a piece which is ethereal and beguiling, yet the song which follows, Unlearn by Arjuna Oakes & John Psathas is very different indeed: vocals carry most of the rhythm and melody with a whole host of brass and other instruments providing support in a song which contains elements of lounge jazz and soul and is incredibly compelling.

But it is the two songs which bookend this album which I found the most interesting. The opener is Sappho by Indira Force (indi), and is a combination of voice, woodwind, banjo, kanun (a type of large zither)  and sound effects (plus more) which feels rooted in nature, and each time I play this I imagine being in a small hut in a forest with the rain falling from the sky and then landing on the leaves all around. We finish with Grayson Gilmour and Feather / Folded which according to the musician is thinking about Mother Nature’s indifference to mankind. Ambient and piano-based there is also a real edge to the music, steel within the velvet glove, with radio interference getting in the way. The melody strives to survive, and somehow it does, even though there is so much stacked up against it.

This is an album which really does need to be played a great deal, as although a few songs stood out the very first time I played it, it probably wasn’t until I got to the fifth or sixth listen that it all really started to make sense and I could understand the collective whole and how each song and artist relies so much on the diversity from the others to really make their statement. By setting the simple ground rule that each song had to be developed from what was provided by Psathas and Hooker there is a continuity throughout, while having no other rules whatsoever means the album is incredibly diverse and stays interesting throughout. It brings together 14 New Zealand artists from around the world, across a multitude of genres, with the producers and guest performers living in Germany, Greece, Serbia, as well as right home here in Aotearoa. This is a wonderful album which is worth investigating by anyone who wants their music to be out of the mainstream, yet still melodic and fascinating.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
Adam McGrath - Album Review: Dear Companions
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Due to many reasons, I have been somewhat late to the underground NZ scene but over the last few years have been fortunate enough to meet some incredible people, see some amazing performances, and hear some wonderful music. All of these come together in one man, Adam McGrath, leader of The Eastern.
Read More...
Holy Crime - Single Review: Play Toy
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Holy Crime are a relatively new band from Auckland, comprising Benny Richards (guitar, vocals), Tom Anderson (bass, vocals), Jacob Stutton (guitar) and Mat Hinton (drums), with Play Toy being their debut single. Sometimes, just sometimes, one hears a song and immediately a smile comes across the face and it stays there right until the end and that is the case with this one with its unabashed influences of The Darkness and Eighties glam rock.
Read More...
The Rising Tide - EP Review: The Hope We Die For
05 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Palmerston North deathcore band The Rising Tide had a great 2022, touring for the first time in six years and here we are now with their latest EP which is being released in time for a quick nationwide tour which sees them playing Auckland, New Plymouth, Wellington, and Christchurch. They may call themselves deathcore, but to be honest they probably have more in common with “straight” death based on these three songs, although there is a lot going on.
Read More...
EP Review: Chasing Titans
28 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP by Auckland-based metalcore trio Chasing Titans who were formed in 2018 and comprise Adrian Govender (guitar, vocals), Sylvester Porizakova (bass, vocals), and Torrance Kam (drums). The name is inspired by the original Greek Titans and reflects the philosophy of never giving up on one’s biggest dreams and striving for greatness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem