17 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Na Noise - Album Review: Waiting For You

24 Nov 2020 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Low-fi Duo-wop group from Auckland Na Noise have just released their debut album Waiting For You, giving us an insight into their sonic, original approach to music. Described as the "Thelma and Louise of modern DIY guitar based music", they have created a sound which is a unique blend of organ, percussion, call and response vocals and a whole lot of fuzzy dark carnivalesque attitude.

Written and recorded over the space of nearly two years, Yolanda Fagan and Hariet Ellis both of (Bozo, Vincent H.L, The Echo Ohs and Three Crockettes) have been joined by Christopher Varnham providing organ and percussion, adding another coat to the murky grungy sound.

This album is an eleven track retro listening experience of warm distorted fuzz, combined with a post punk element. The "new-old sound" lending a freshness laced with familiarity.

It's an interesting debut. Original and polarizing, certainly not dinner by candlelight. Provocative, raunchy and slightly coarse. I loved it.

Among the bands influences are The Velvet Underground and Patsy Cline. I heard elements of both throughout, By the time I got to track four Dance With Me, I could have sworn I also heard a touch of Marianne Faithfull in the vocalization.

Waiting For You is the opening and title track of this album. As I write, a stalker/slasher styled music video has gone to air accompanying the song. It suited the lyrics and tone of the track, with a retro treatment giving it an old school vibe. Directed by Ezra Simons and artistic director Gussie Larkin.

This was the kind of album which steadily grew on me. The more I listened the more I liked it. It has grit, substance and a dirty distorted sound.

The album Waiting For You is definitely something worth sinking your teeth into.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Waiting For You
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Iris Zhang - Single Review: Small Ache
14 Dec 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Iris Zhang is a lawyer by qualification, but a musician by heart. She is an incredibly talented young lady, not only academically but also in the musical arts.
Read More...
Jennifer K. Austin - Album Review: Journey
07 Dec 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
American born Kiwi singer Jennifer K. Austin has recently released her second studio album Journey, following on from the release of the first three singles (Shadow, Misery and Old Gin), this beautiful ten track album is highly influenced by her life story.
Read More...
Lady Larisa - Single Review: Four Walls
27 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aotearoa born jazz artist and songwriter Lady Larisa has just released Four Walls, her latest single from the yet to be released up and coming debut EP Honeychild. Currently based in Hawkes Bay, Lady Larissa has learned a lot from her time in LA, New Orleans and New York.
Read More...
Album Review: Ida Lune
17 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
In 2013 Deanne Krieg (WHIM, Dawn Diver), Rose Blake (Blaek, Dawn Diver) and Anna Wooles formed Poneke/Wellington avant-folk trio Ida Lune, forming a strong bond over their shared love of harmony. The trio have released their self-titled debut album which promises to be a lush blend of three part harmonies, yet each bringing to the fore their own unique style of vocals.
Read More...
Emma Rose - Single Review: Happy
03 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Talented young native of Nelson, Emma Common (Emma Rose) has forged ahead with her music recently creating an EP of three songs for the final project in her degree in Bachelor of Commercial Music at Massey University. Happy is the opening track to her Elderflower EP, which due our early 2021.
Read More...
Bravo Bonez - EP Review: Love Blast Lounge
01 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based musician, songwriter, and producer Bravo Bonez has just released his latest lo-fi offering, reminiscent of old school lounge music which is ironic because the title of his five track EP is called Love Blast Lounge.With the intention of spreading a message of "music, hope and love", Bravo Bonez music is a mix of post-punk, ambient, shoegaze and perhaps dreampop.
Read More...
Justin Sane and Huz - Single Review: Days With You
29 Oct 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Based in Auckland, electronic dance duo Justin Sane and Huz have recently released their latest single Days With You which follows on from the feel good message of hope It’s Not Over. Keeping on with spreading the good vibes, these guys have given us another easy to listen to tune with a dance element, creating that slight edge.
Read More...
Gareth Thomas - Single Review: Wake Up
07 Oct 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Kiwi artist, Gareth Thomas well known for his past endeavours with iconic New Zealand band Goodshirt, has released his latest single following on from My Dog on the upcoming 2021 album Bits. Wake Up is described as the "morning anthem for sleepyheads everywhere".
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem