23 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Na Noise - Album Review: Waiting For You

24 Nov 2020 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Low-fi Duo-wop group from Auckland Na Noise have just released their debut album Waiting For You, giving us an insight into their sonic, original approach to music. Described as the "Thelma and Louise of modern DIY guitar based music", they have created a sound which is a unique blend of organ, percussion, call and response vocals and a whole lot of fuzzy dark carnivalesque attitude.

Written and recorded over the space of nearly two years, Yolanda Fagan and Hariet Ellis both of (Bozo, Vincent H.L, The Echo Ohs and Three Crockettes) have been joined by Christopher Varnham providing organ and percussion, adding another coat to the murky grungy sound.

This album is an eleven track retro listening experience of warm distorted fuzz, combined with a post punk element. The "new-old sound" lending a freshness laced with familiarity.

It's an interesting debut. Original and polarizing, certainly not dinner by candlelight. Provocative, raunchy and slightly coarse. I loved it.

Among the bands influences are The Velvet Underground and Patsy Cline. I heard elements of both throughout, By the time I got to track four Dance With Me, I could have sworn I also heard a touch of Marianne Faithfull in the vocalization.

Waiting For You is the opening and title track of this album. As I write, a stalker/slasher styled music video has gone to air accompanying the song. It suited the lyrics and tone of the track, with a retro treatment giving it an old school vibe. Directed by Ezra Simons and artistic director Gussie Larkin.

This was the kind of album which steadily grew on me. The more I listened the more I liked it. It has grit, substance and a dirty distorted sound.

The album Waiting For You is definitely something worth sinking your teeth into.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Waiting For You
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Eden Iris - Album Review: The Fuchsia & The Grey
07 Apr 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
LA based New Zealand musical artist Eden Iris has just released her debut album The Fuchsia &The Grey; an evocative eleven track album of beautifully crafted indie-folk songs, which "showcases the evolution of an artist who is highly dedicated to her craft". Eden has been growing her fanbase with a steady release of singles in between major projects, ever since moving to Los Angeles when she was nineteen.
Read More...
wells* - EP Review: Tape 3
24 Mar 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based singer, song writer and producer Wells* (Josh Naley) has just released the latest and final instalment in a three part series of mini EPs. Tape 3 concludes his unique personal project.
Read More...
SHAYNA - Single Review: Alchemy Feat. Rei
26 Feb 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch singer-songwriter SHAYNA has teamed up with Wellingtonian hip-hop artist Rei to create a slick new single Alchemy. Described as "Pop & RnB hooks over a progressive bass line & glittery high-level production", this is a track which flows seamlessly.
Read More...
Grace Duncan - EP Review: Ruminations
25 Feb 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally from Hawkes Bay and currently residing in Wellington is composer and singer-songwriter Grace Duncan who has just released her eight track EP, Ruminations. Offering delicate layers of sound and graceful vocals, making this a haunting yet serenely beautiful collection of previously released singles.
Read More...
JANG - EP Review: COPS
31 Jan 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based, energetic three piece punk outfit JANG have just released their debut EP COPS. The band’s sound described as "Surf Punk Slam" is summed up in this catchy tumultuous wave of five tracks, which took almost two years to complete.
Read More...
Anthony Coulter - Album Review: Memories
18 Jan 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga based singer, song writer and musician Anthony Coulter has just released his debut album Memories. Twelve tracks resplendent in smooth melodic vocal style and theatrical wonder.
Read More...
Iris Zhang - Single Review: Small Ache
14 Dec 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Iris Zhang is a lawyer by qualification, but a musician by heart. She is an incredibly talented young lady, not only academically but also in the musical arts.
Read More...
Jennifer K. Austin - Album Review: Journey
07 Dec 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
American born Kiwi singer Jennifer K. Austin has recently released her second studio album Journey, following on from the release of the first three singles (Shadow, Misery and Old Gin), this beautiful ten track album is highly influenced by her life story.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem