18 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Na Noise - Album Review: Waiting For You

24 Nov 2020 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Low-fi Duo-wop group from Auckland Na Noise have just released their debut album Waiting For You, giving us an insight into their sonic, original approach to music. Described as the "Thelma and Louise of modern DIY guitar based music", they have created a sound which is a unique blend of organ, percussion, call and response vocals and a whole lot of fuzzy dark carnivalesque attitude.

Written and recorded over the space of nearly two years, Yolanda Fagan and Hariet Ellis both of (Bozo, Vincent H.L, The Echo Ohs and Three Crockettes) have been joined by Christopher Varnham providing organ and percussion, adding another coat to the murky grungy sound.

This album is an eleven track retro listening experience of warm distorted fuzz, combined with a post punk element. The "new-old sound" lending a freshness laced with familiarity.

It's an interesting debut. Original and polarizing, certainly not dinner by candlelight. Provocative, raunchy and slightly coarse. I loved it.

Among the bands influences are The Velvet Underground and Patsy Cline. I heard elements of both throughout, By the time I got to track four Dance With Me, I could have sworn I also heard a touch of Marianne Faithfull in the vocalization.

Waiting For You is the opening and title track of this album. As I write, a stalker/slasher styled music video has gone to air accompanying the song. It suited the lyrics and tone of the track, with a retro treatment giving it an old school vibe. Directed by Ezra Simons and artistic director Gussie Larkin.

This was the kind of album which steadily grew on me. The more I listened the more I liked it. It has grit, substance and a dirty distorted sound.

The album Waiting For You is definitely something worth sinking your teeth into.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Waiting For You
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Big Scout - Single Review: How Lovely
07 Jul 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Self-proclaimed “Hillbillies in Hiluxes” Big Scout from Blenheim (Jim Tannock, Mathew Hellriegel and Gregg Slatter) are an original 3-piece band full of loud fast paced energy that may (or may not) be post punk (not to be pigeonholed). The band's third single off their up-and-coming debut album Council Sport is How Lovely, an assault on your senses in the best way.
Read More...
Colette Rivers - Single/Video Review: Memory Lake
08 May 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand-American indie folk artist Colette Rivers has just released a video for her latest song Memory Lake. The video was filmed on the shores of Lake Taupo and is also the theme of her song.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Album Review: Hyperkunt
14 Apr 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based electronic artist Hybrid Rose has just dropped her fifth album which goes by the no nonsense name of Hyperkunt. A futuristic cyberspace like character with attitude occasionally courting controversy, Hybrid Rose continues to deliver inspiring original dance tunes infused with an abundance of attitude.
Read More...
Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Count Me Out
31 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based young singer-songwriter Sabreen Islam, has just released the third and final instalment of her “pop trifecta” the last of three songs called Count Me Out. A light and airy original based around being stood up on a first date.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: One Puff Wonder
15 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Revulva are an eight-piece band from Wellington who describe themselves as “nu-wave, nu-jazz, nu-pop”. A jazzy-pop octet who have just released their third single One Puff Wonder, which follows on from debut singles Sniffy Lady and Turning Out and builds on the foundation for their up and coming EP Girls Gotta Eat, set to be released late March 22.
Read More...
David Kirby - EP Review: Songs To Depress Your Dog
09 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally from Middlesbrough UK now based in Wellington, David Kirby is a singer/songwriter focusing on the unusual musical combination of folk/folk-punk acoustic songs. Songs to Depress Your Dog is Kirby's second EP, following on from his 2020 debut EP Can’t Move For Doom.
Read More...
Little Ripples - Single Review: Little Bee
23 Feb 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Little Ripples are a children's music act from Whangarei Heads comprising of Sam and Emily Benges, plus their youngest son Arlo. The trio have recently released the first song from their album In My Garden.
Read More...
The Wax Birds - Single Review: Kansas
11 Feb 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Based in Oxford Canterbury, smooth sounding acoustic duo The Wax Birds have just released their latest single Kansas. This is the follow up to their first album Slow Rise released in 2020, which impressed me with a lush country/folk mix of beautiful harmony and gentle flowing guitar.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem