2 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

On Tick - Gig Review: On Tick @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 20/11/2020

21 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

When everyone at Ding Dong greeted me by name, and soundman Dave asked why I wasn’t at the final of the bands battle the previous week, it made me realise that possibly I have been attending the venue quite a lot in recent times. But when they have bands playing who are as good as these, where else would I be on a Friday night? Apparently, this gig was originally intended to take place back in April, and had been rescheduled twice since then, but finally it was on. Organised by Aidan from On Tick, along with his wonderful partner Eleanor, all the bands were in the recent battle at Ding Dong, although Black Sands had to pull out at the last minute due to illness, with both On Tick and Mariner making it through to the semis.

Openers tonight were Libermere, playing their fourth ever gig, who use an electronic drumkit. Talking to drummer Anaru Broughton before the gig he was saying that he envisages a future where he will be playing a hybrid, as there is always the worry that something could go wrong with the electronics, which is what happened in the soundcheck before the last show. There is no doubt that a band can rehearse as much as they like, but there is no substitute for playing live in front of a real audience and tonight the band were far more settled and relaxed than they were the last time I saw them. Just their fourth show and they were already exuding far more confidence and were way more relaxed, which came through in their playing. Lazarus Effect is quite laid-back and possibly not what I would choose as an opener, but The Alchemist (which is now on Spotify) is far rockier and got everyone moving. While singer Adam Moore provides strong guitar, with Anaru driving from the back, what makes them stand out is the superb bass playing from Shaun Caffell, as he provides a great deal of additional melody and counter melodies. They still have only 5 songs of their own which they are confident enough to play live, so we again had 2 covers in Fairies Wear Boots and No One Knows, the latter really getting everyone singing and having a good time. But the original between those, My Rational Brain, really stood out as the best song of their set, with strong use of harmony vocals. Incredibly powerful, it is going to be interesting to see how this band grows and progresses in future, as if they follow this route then there is real promise.

I had been looking forward to seeing Black Sands in the heats and was incredibly disappointed when they had to pull out so was definitely intrigued to see them tonight. They were originally planned to close the event tonight, but had requested to go on second instead, and put a real effort into the show. They draped a white cloth at the back and used a projector to play video taken from various recent riots: they felt a need to do something a little different to provide a visual focus as these guys are something very rare indeed, an instrumental metal act. I already knew 5-string bassist Matt Hammond as he is also in On Tick, and had previously been talking to guitarist Cameron Owens, and then before the show I was introduced to the incredibly affable and friendly drummer James Rimmer (the line-up is completed by 8-string guitarist Ruaidri Keens). James is incredibly laid-back and mellow, a friendly soul, but I was warned that appearances can be deceiving and that he hits the skins really hard indeed. They were right. The band launched into Uprisings Call and immediately the intensity was incredible: these guys are playing very heavy, very complex music with the two guitarists following intricate melodies, a bassist on the top of his game and a drummer creating multiple patterns and using many different styles all within the same song. In fact, it is the drums which create the cut through, far more than one would normally expect. I was discussing this with James afterwards and he was telling me they break down the material and seriously discuss what should be happening with the percussion at each point. At times they veer into death territory, others it is mathcore, but always it is sonically immense with a great deal going on. They have apparently been having serious discussions on whether they should get a singer, but my advice would be to leave well alone. Kappa was one of the highlights – a shorter number which is massively over the top – while musical tricks and nuances such as Matt repeating a bass motif, yet dropping it an octave, are incredibly effective. Speaking with Cameron afterwards he told me they are currently recording the album, and that is something to look forward to indeed.

When I reviewed Mariner last time I somehow managed to confuse the name of the bassist, so let me make it clear that it is Cullen Erson who looks as if he is in the wrong band, seemingly dropped in from the late Sixties. But again, looks can be deceiving, and there is no doubt he definitely belongs here as he nails the bottom end of a band who merge the pop punk of Blink 182 and Sum 41 and carry it off with aplomb. Given their obvious influences, it is not surprising that their songs are short, melodic, and rammed full of hooks. Singer Adam Salim referred a few times to the fact this was the first time they had ever played a 45-minute set, which meant that some of the songs being played tonight were being featured for the first time. With the competition pressure lifted, here was another band who were stepping up in terms of performance, with the rhythm section nailing it (there was some very good use of bass drum pedals), both guitarists keeping it punchy and clean and a good use of harmony vocals. But as the set progressed it was obvious that Adam was having some problems as he just is not used to singing for this length of time. The longer it went on, the more issues he was having and by the time he came to their cover of All The Small Things he was definitely suffering. Still, the crowd loved it and were more than happy to join in and provide vocals for him. There were 3 more songs after that, but he was shot, and it was a struggle through to the end. Experience will help as the more he sings for longer periods the more he will be able to cope, but in reality, the band should have stopped after that cover and called it a night. But overall, they put on a great show, full of confidence from making it through to the semi-finals, and they are just going to keep getting better.

By now it was past 11:30, and On Tick had yet to appear, but they did the changeover as quickly as they could. But the venue had suddenly emptied, and it looked they were going to be playing for themselves, yet as soon as they launched into Scabs it filled back up again. The trio are full of energy and passion for what they do, and given this was Matt’s second set of the night, and both he and Aidan had been moshing like madmen during the other sets, it was something to see. This is hardcore punk, mixed with the likes of Oi! and plenty of metal, to create something which is massively intense, complex, and straight into the brain. Radioshit continues to be a favourite as they go for the jugular: it didn’t matter how late it was, or how knackered anyone was, they were out to give it their all and take the crowd with them on a wild ride. With Aidan’s brother Brendan providing complex patterns, and somewhat gruff vocals, it allows the others to create an incredibly intense environment. If Aidan smiles any wider, his face will crack, as although he allows himself to do some heavy metal gurning, he is just so happy to do what he does, which means everyone else has a blast as well. He even ended Don’t Know Who I Am by playing with his teeth! He told me beforehand they were really looking forward to playing a cover tonight, Rage Against The Machine’s Bullet In The Head, and while this was quite different to their own material it certainly fitted in well and everyone was having a blast. The highlight of their own material was probably The Box, which had everyone pogoing, but even though everything was going well they decided to cut short the set due to the over-run. However, they weren’t going to be allowed to stop just like that, so even though they genuinely had finished, the crowd demanded an encore which led to Aidan kicking into another cover from RATM, Killling In The Name, with the crowd singing the words as much as he did.

Overall, this was a really interesting evening, with four very different bands indeed. On Tick have nearly completed their album, with just vocals left to record next weekend, and that will be definitely worth checking out. For me it was Black Sands and On Tick who were the bands of the night, but I am sure I will be catching all these guys again in the near future. The Auckland music scene is incredibly vibrant at present so get out there and support the bands and the venues who are making it happen.

 

Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

About On Tick

Three piece band from Auckland belting out heavy tunes for your pleasure.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for On Tick

Releases

There are no releases to display for On Tick.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Primacy @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 27/02/2021
28 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Saturday at the Ding Dong is always guaranteed to be a good night, and tonight was to be no exception with Primacy finally launching their album Seeds of Change. I say “finally” as previous gigs had been cancelled due to lockdown, and in fact this was going to be their first gig since 2019!
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - Single Review: Pocket Change
16 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Cafe Fistfight describe themselves as New Zealand's premiere Acoustic-driven Progressive Rock band, with their music fitting in somewhere between John Mayer/Six60 and Incubus/Tool. To be honest, that is probably as good a description as any, but before someone expects to see the latest Yes, Genesis or Pink Floyd clone, be aware that when they describe themselves as progressive, they mean it in the true sense of the word, in that they are blending and mixing  genres and pushing the music in unusual directions.
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Interpretation
05 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled. Instead of just being a studio project, multi-instrumentalist Ben Ruegg was convinced to turn it into a full operational live band which quickly gelled into an incredibly tight unit which grew with experience and confidence each time they gigged.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Planet B
04 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is the ninth album from David, and while he wrote all the songs, he was assisted in the performances by his son Joseph, and between them we get plenty of keyboards, electronic drums, acoustic, bass, Stratocaster, harmonica and vocals. The result is something that does not really sound like a multi-instrumentalist performance, but rather a band, and even before putting it on I had to smile as while the CD booklet itself is low key, I cannot remember before seeing a track listing for Side A and Side B for a CD, plus the album is less than 45 minutes long so it really is harkening back to the 70’s.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dragon @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 3/02/21
04 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When The Biggest Pub Gig In The World took place at the end of last year, I truly felt there was a band missing from the bill who would have made the line-up complete, Dragon. Not only are they an  iconic New Zealand band, with countless hit singles and songs to their name, but they have been a solid gigging unit since their rebirth around bassist Todd Hunter in 2006.
Read More...
Festival Review: Auckland Folk Festival 2021 - 31/01/2021
02 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The final day of the Auckland Folk Festival 2021 started up, and I headed over in time to catch Being. at Midday.
Read More...
Festival Review: Auckland Folk Festival 2021 - 30/01/2021
01 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The last folk festival I went to prior to this one was when I flew to the other side of the world, attending Fairport Convention’s 50th Anniversary Cropredy Festival in 2017, but for some reason I had never been just down the road to Kumeu to attend the Auckland Folk Festival, which has been running for a great many years. However, based on this weekend’s experience, I know I will be back.
Read More...
WHITE NØISE MAFIA - Gig Review: White Noise Mafia @ The Thirsty, Auckland - 28/01/2021
29 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
So, it was back to The Thirsty, who are starting to put on more metal gigs, and if they are all like this one then I am sure they are going to be deemed to be a raging success. Tonight, it was a three-band bill and a sensible finishing time, which made something of a pleasant change, especially as many of us would be working on the Friday.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem