29 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kendall Elise - Album Review: Red Earth

19 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

A few weeks ago, I was fortunate enough to see Looking For Alaska at their album launch, and the opening act that night was Kendall Elise accompanying herself on an acoustic guitar. I enjoyed her set a great deal and was intrigued enough to seek out her debut album, Red Earth, which was released in 2019. Here she is joined by her band The Belgraves, comprising John Segovia (guitars, backing vocals), Robert Scott (bass, backing vocals), Chris Kemp (drums) and Louis Jarlov (keyboards). When I saw her perform, I felt she would be the perfect fit with Miss Peach and The Travellin Bones and I can see that anyone who enjoys the latter’s Sand definitely needs to have this alongside.

There were a few times during Kendall’s performance where I thought it would be better if she had a full band with her, and here she has just that, and it allows her to spread her musical wings so there is more depth and breadth within the music. She says she chose the songs on the album, some of which had been released some time previously, because they are representations of her childhood growing up in Papakura, South Auckland. That may be the case, but this album feels as if it has its roots in America as opposed to Aotearoa, as she moves delicately through styles of blues, country, singer-songwriter, Americana, and folk. She is as content supporting Gin Wigmore as she is Big Country, finding a connection through her music to fans of different genres, always with her vocals at the front, and here often being driven by a powerful band.

Kingseat is a grooving rocker which gets the blood pumping, as one really wants to stomp along to the bassline which is infectious as it repeats the pattern. Over the top of that is some frantic jagged guitar yet Kendall’s delicate vocals smooth it all, although she does let loose the odd scream. It has the same infectious way of moving as The Swinger’s Counting The Beat. The contrast between that and the song which follows it, Great South Road, is immense as here we have a singer baring her soul with delicate picked guitar as support. This song contains a great many long held notes, which shows the confidence in her own vocals as this is not an easy feat, but one she achieves easily.

The highlight for me of her recent gig was the title track of the album, Red Earth, and here it is transformed again into a singalong stomper. This is a song which deserves to be in the live environment, and when the boys join on the chorus it makes this listener smile each and every time. This is solid country, Johnny Cash to the core, and in many ways quite different to the rest of the album, but in some ways that is true for most of the songs. One thing which surprised me when playing this is that there while Kendall sticks to a few genres, the songs themselves are incredibly diverse within that format. This means that one is never quite sure what is going to happen next. I was undertaking some writing the other day when I wasn’t actually reviewing and placed this album on repeat , and due to the changes in musical style throughout it always felt fresh and inviting even though it was on for multiple plays. From the picked opening on Belgrave Place (which also contains some luscious slide guitar) through to the rockabilly raucousness of The Best of Town and Country, Kendall’s voice is always to the fore and The Belgraves provide great support.

This is music with character, a strength, passion, and honesty which is so different to what is often portrayed as popular music. It flows from Kendall’s heart to our ears, and we are all the better for sharing the experience.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Kendall Elise

Kendall Elise is an intriguing story teller with a hint of yesteryear. With trademark quirky touches and flawless vocal delivery she has been turning heads since the release of her EP in 2017 I Didn’t Stand A Chance . Fresh from touring with Kiwi born, LA based Gin Wigmore and supporting Larkin Poe at their sold out Auckland show.
 
Her Debut single Heart Full of Dirt was a finalist for the APRA Best Country Music Song 2017.

Kendall Elise has just released her debut album, of which singles The Clock Tower and Valentine Street feature. The album debuted at number 12 on the NZ Music Album Charts.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kendall Elise

Releases

Red Earth
Year: 2019
Type: Album
I Didn't Stand A Chance
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Stealphish - Single Review: Procidens
28 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
I was chatting with the guys from Cafe Fistfight before their recent gig at Ding Dong, when guitarist Josh Barker asked if I would be interested in his brand-new solo release, and I was definitely intrigued. Apart from classical pianist Caitlyn Abbot, and some assistance from Dan Barker who assisted in programming the hi hat rolls at the start and some of the fills, everything on this instrumental release is by Josh.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Today was set to be the launch party for the second album by Channeled, I Heard Penelope Sing, but unfortunately singer and songwriter Ben Ruegg was rushed into hospital on Tuesday, only being allowed home on the Friday itself. The thoughts of everyone at Muzic.
Read More...
The Solomon Cole Band - Single Review: Lucifer's Rising
26 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
The Solomon Cole Band comprise Solomon (vocals, guitar), Fonnie Jo Davies (vocals), Lee Catlin (bass) and Loujean (LJ) Philander (drums), and one has to ask the question as to when did Waiheke Island become part of the Deep South and go back in time? Their latest release, Lucifer’s Rising, is taken from their second album, A Little South Of Heaven, and takes us almost 100 years into the past and geographically into the Southern states of America.
Read More...
Samuel Philip Cooper - Album Review: Breaking The Silence
26 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Young Wellington-based pianist Samuel Philip Cooper is now releasing his debut album, which contains both of his earlier singles, Broken Heart Recovery and Hope In Your Heart. One of the problems I had with Samuel’s work is that it was too short, but hearing the 18 songs on this album (47 minutes long) it makes far more sense as here the different songs become part of one much larger work.
Read More...
Album Review: It's Already Tomorrow
25 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
This compilation is the brainchild of leading New Zealand composer, John Psathas, and past-student guitarist, electronic musician and composer, Jack Hooker. With everyone in bubbles around the world, the idea was to create a collaborative environment for New Zealand artists, where John and Jack created nuggets for others to amend and use as a base for their own musical adventures.
Read More...
Channeled - Album Review: I Heard Penelope Sing
25 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
I was at a gig the other night and bumped into Channeled's main man Ben Ruegg, and of course we soon started up a conversation. I introduced him to some other friends of mine and tried to think how long I had actually known him, and Ben promptly said, "Six weeks".
Read More...
Gig Review: City of Souls @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 21/11/2020
22 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight it was off to one of my favourite venues, The Tuning Fork, to see recent Aotearoa Music Award winners for Te Kaipuoro Rakapioi Toa (Best Rock Artist), City of Souls, at the launch party for their debut album, Synæsthesia. Outside the venue I bumped into Ben Reugg (Channeled) who had brought some of his music students from Waiuku College to see what a proper rock show is like while I spent the evening in the company of Jodie (Miss Peach and The Travellin Bones) and Te Matera Smith (AAA Records), also bumped into Chris Webb (White Nøise Mafia), Francis Wheeler (SIS Studios, a judge at the recent Ding Dong competition), and so many others from the local scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: On Tick @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 20/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
When everyone at Ding Dong greeted me by name, and soundman Dave asked why I wasn’t at the final of the bands battle the previous week, it made me realise that possibly I have been attending the venue quite a lot in recent times. But when they have bands playing who are as good as these, where else would I be on a Friday night?
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem