29 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Russell Harrison - EP Review: Something Over Me

19 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

This four-track seventeen-minute-long EP, Something Over Me, is the debut EP from Russell Harrison, who has been performing on stage since the age of nine. Listening to this is like stepping back in time, to a period where singers had no use for auto tune, and it was all about the voice and the performance. Although this his first release, he performs regularly with his own group The Brown Brothers whose focus is on a tribute to soul music, as well as The Howard Morrison Trio, which is dedicated to the great entertainer, Sir Howard Morrison, and is also a seasoned actor in film and TV.

Musically this feels steeped in the Seventies with delicate soulful instrumentation yet pulled further back into the Sixties with a focus on the voice. There is a breadth, a passion and honesty which is so often missing from modern performers, and when he moves into falsetto it is a natural progression of his range. There is nothing strained about any of this, it just flows, and any one of the four songs could have been the lead number as they are all strong in their own right, each showing a soulful, bluesy approach to music which tugs at the heartstrings as the listener knows here is a performer who is putting everything into this, leaving nothing behind.

On the song Something Over Me Russell reminds me of Seal in his effortless approach and the way his vocals are front and centre of everything he does, the music just there to provide additional colour and tone, creating something very special. Mr Man In The Moon takes us back to bands such as The Drifters, and one can imagine Russell in a suit performing delicate steps with the hands moving just so, then everyone joining in on the falsetto chorus. It is an incredible display of vocal versatility and restraint, with the guitar solo on the bridge leading us gently into the next verse.

It is hard to believe this is a debut, as this is the work of a seasoned performer, not one producing his first recorded work under his own name. All the years of performing in different mediums and onstage have come to fruition with what can only be described as an incredibly polished and dynamic release which allows the world to slow down and step back in time. Come Survive With Me is more delicate, while closer Find Courage In Me finds someone totally confident in their vocals as he pushes more into blues and rich soul.

When speaking about the EP, Russell said, "I’ve attempted to write to my voice, so the melodies sit in the thickness of my timbre and allow for moments of escapism into falsetto (always a handy tool to have as a Maori). I’ve tried to create story lines that constantly reflect my own life experiences, with the hope that they bring joy, healing and help; to ease the pains of an ever-changing world". He has achieved that and more: the result is something which is soulful, delicate, emotional, and powerful.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Russell Harrison

Russell Harrison has performed in many places around the world. “As a songwriter I've attempted to write to my voice, to create story lines that constantly reflect my own life experiences. With the hope that they bring joy, healing and to ease the pains of an ever-changing world”

October 2020 sees Russell release his first EP, Something Over Me. Ollie Harmer has captured a nostalgia of sound that is unapologetically live & unforgiving, with a blatant sense of unadulterated musicianship that has Dixon Nacey’s creative signature all over it.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Russell Harrison

Releases

There are no releases to display for Russell Harrison.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Stealphish - Single Review: Procidens
28 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
I was chatting with the guys from Cafe Fistfight before their recent gig at Ding Dong, when guitarist Josh Barker asked if I would be interested in his brand-new solo release, and I was definitely intrigued. Apart from classical pianist Caitlyn Abbot, and some assistance from Dan Barker who assisted in programming the hi hat rolls at the start and some of the fills, everything on this instrumental release is by Josh.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Today was set to be the launch party for the second album by Channeled, I Heard Penelope Sing, but unfortunately singer and songwriter Ben Ruegg was rushed into hospital on Tuesday, only being allowed home on the Friday itself. The thoughts of everyone at Muzic.
Read More...
The Solomon Cole Band - Single Review: Lucifer's Rising
26 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
The Solomon Cole Band comprise Solomon (vocals, guitar), Fonnie Jo Davies (vocals), Lee Catlin (bass) and Loujean (LJ) Philander (drums), and one has to ask the question as to when did Waiheke Island become part of the Deep South and go back in time? Their latest release, Lucifer’s Rising, is taken from their second album, A Little South Of Heaven, and takes us almost 100 years into the past and geographically into the Southern states of America.
Read More...
Samuel Philip Cooper - Album Review: Breaking The Silence
26 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Young Wellington-based pianist Samuel Philip Cooper is now releasing his debut album, which contains both of his earlier singles, Broken Heart Recovery and Hope In Your Heart. One of the problems I had with Samuel’s work is that it was too short, but hearing the 18 songs on this album (47 minutes long) it makes far more sense as here the different songs become part of one much larger work.
Read More...
Album Review: It's Already Tomorrow
25 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
This compilation is the brainchild of leading New Zealand composer, John Psathas, and past-student guitarist, electronic musician and composer, Jack Hooker. With everyone in bubbles around the world, the idea was to create a collaborative environment for New Zealand artists, where John and Jack created nuggets for others to amend and use as a base for their own musical adventures.
Read More...
Channeled - Album Review: I Heard Penelope Sing
25 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
I was at a gig the other night and bumped into Channeled's main man Ben Ruegg, and of course we soon started up a conversation. I introduced him to some other friends of mine and tried to think how long I had actually known him, and Ben promptly said, "Six weeks".
Read More...
Gig Review: City of Souls @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 21/11/2020
22 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight it was off to one of my favourite venues, The Tuning Fork, to see recent Aotearoa Music Award winners for Te Kaipuoro Rakapioi Toa (Best Rock Artist), City of Souls, at the launch party for their debut album, Synæsthesia. Outside the venue I bumped into Ben Reugg (Channeled) who had brought some of his music students from Waiuku College to see what a proper rock show is like while I spent the evening in the company of Jodie (Miss Peach and The Travellin Bones) and Te Matera Smith (AAA Records), also bumped into Chris Webb (White Nøise Mafia), Francis Wheeler (SIS Studios, a judge at the recent Ding Dong competition), and so many others from the local scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: On Tick @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 20/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
When everyone at Ding Dong greeted me by name, and soundman Dave asked why I wasn’t at the final of the bands battle the previous week, it made me realise that possibly I have been attending the venue quite a lot in recent times. But when they have bands playing who are as good as these, where else would I be on a Friday night?
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem