22 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Russell Harrison - EP Review: Something Over Me

19 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

This four-track seventeen-minute-long EP, Something Over Me, is the debut EP from Russell Harrison, who has been performing on stage since the age of nine. Listening to this is like stepping back in time, to a period where singers had no use for auto tune, and it was all about the voice and the performance. Although this his first release, he performs regularly with his own group The Brown Brothers whose focus is on a tribute to soul music, as well as The Howard Morrison Trio, which is dedicated to the great entertainer, Sir Howard Morrison, and is also a seasoned actor in film and TV.

Musically this feels steeped in the Seventies with delicate soulful instrumentation yet pulled further back into the Sixties with a focus on the voice. There is a breadth, a passion and honesty which is so often missing from modern performers, and when he moves into falsetto it is a natural progression of his range. There is nothing strained about any of this, it just flows, and any one of the four songs could have been the lead number as they are all strong in their own right, each showing a soulful, bluesy approach to music which tugs at the heartstrings as the listener knows here is a performer who is putting everything into this, leaving nothing behind.

On the song Something Over Me Russell reminds me of Seal in his effortless approach and the way his vocals are front and centre of everything he does, the music just there to provide additional colour and tone, creating something very special. Mr Man In The Moon takes us back to bands such as The Drifters, and one can imagine Russell in a suit performing delicate steps with the hands moving just so, then everyone joining in on the falsetto chorus. It is an incredible display of vocal versatility and restraint, with the guitar solo on the bridge leading us gently into the next verse.

It is hard to believe this is a debut, as this is the work of a seasoned performer, not one producing his first recorded work under his own name. All the years of performing in different mediums and onstage have come to fruition with what can only be described as an incredibly polished and dynamic release which allows the world to slow down and step back in time. Come Survive With Me is more delicate, while closer Find Courage In Me finds someone totally confident in their vocals as he pushes more into blues and rich soul.

When speaking about the EP, Russell said, "I’ve attempted to write to my voice, so the melodies sit in the thickness of my timbre and allow for moments of escapism into falsetto (always a handy tool to have as a Maori). I’ve tried to create story lines that constantly reflect my own life experiences, with the hope that they bring joy, healing and help; to ease the pains of an ever-changing world". He has achieved that and more: the result is something which is soulful, delicate, emotional, and powerful.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Russell Harrison

Russell Harrison has performed in many places around the world. “As a songwriter I've attempted to write to my voice, to create story lines that constantly reflect my own life experiences. With the hope that they bring joy, healing and to ease the pains of an ever-changing world”

October 2020 sees Russell release his first EP, Something Over Me. Ollie Harmer has captured a nostalgia of sound that is unapologetically live & unforgiving, with a blatant sense of unadulterated musicianship that has Dixon Nacey’s creative signature all over it.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Russell Harrison

Releases

Something Over Me
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Albi & The Wolves - Gig Review: Rock The Folk @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 18/06/2021
20 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
So, it was back to the lovely little venue which is The Tuning Fork. It is somewhere I always enjoy going to, as not only is the food and beer very good indeed, but there is a good sound and everyone can see.
Read More...
LearningToDive - Single Review: You Said It Best
17 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Learningtodive is one of a series of projects from Bravo Bonez, a musician and producer currently based in Wellington, New Zealand. He released his first single under this name back in November last year, since when he has followed it up with more singles and his debut album Norwegian Pop, which came out in April.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem