6 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Russell Harrison - EP Review: Something Over Me

19 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

This four-track seventeen-minute-long EP, Something Over Me, is the debut EP from Russell Harrison, who has been performing on stage since the age of nine. Listening to this is like stepping back in time, to a period where singers had no use for auto tune, and it was all about the voice and the performance. Although this his first release, he performs regularly with his own group The Brown Brothers whose focus is on a tribute to soul music, as well as The Howard Morrison Trio, which is dedicated to the great entertainer, Sir Howard Morrison, and is also a seasoned actor in film and TV.

Musically this feels steeped in the Seventies with delicate soulful instrumentation yet pulled further back into the Sixties with a focus on the voice. There is a breadth, a passion and honesty which is so often missing from modern performers, and when he moves into falsetto it is a natural progression of his range. There is nothing strained about any of this, it just flows, and any one of the four songs could have been the lead number as they are all strong in their own right, each showing a soulful, bluesy approach to music which tugs at the heartstrings as the listener knows here is a performer who is putting everything into this, leaving nothing behind.

On the song Something Over Me Russell reminds me of Seal in his effortless approach and the way his vocals are front and centre of everything he does, the music just there to provide additional colour and tone, creating something very special. Mr Man In The Moon takes us back to bands such as The Drifters, and one can imagine Russell in a suit performing delicate steps with the hands moving just so, then everyone joining in on the falsetto chorus. It is an incredible display of vocal versatility and restraint, with the guitar solo on the bridge leading us gently into the next verse.

It is hard to believe this is a debut, as this is the work of a seasoned performer, not one producing his first recorded work under his own name. All the years of performing in different mediums and onstage have come to fruition with what can only be described as an incredibly polished and dynamic release which allows the world to slow down and step back in time. Come Survive With Me is more delicate, while closer Find Courage In Me finds someone totally confident in their vocals as he pushes more into blues and rich soul.

When speaking about the EP, Russell said, "I’ve attempted to write to my voice, so the melodies sit in the thickness of my timbre and allow for moments of escapism into falsetto (always a handy tool to have as a Maori). I’ve tried to create story lines that constantly reflect my own life experiences, with the hope that they bring joy, healing and help; to ease the pains of an ever-changing world". He has achieved that and more: the result is something which is soulful, delicate, emotional, and powerful.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Russell Harrison

Russell Harrison has performed in many places around the world. “As a songwriter I've attempted to write to my voice, to create story lines that constantly reflect my own life experiences. With the hope that they bring joy, healing and to ease the pains of an ever-changing world”

October 2020 sees Russell release his first EP, Something Over Me. Ollie Harmer has captured a nostalgia of sound that is unapologetically live & unforgiving, with a blatant sense of unadulterated musicianship that has Dixon Nacey’s creative signature all over it.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Russell Harrison

Releases

Something Over Me
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Elmo Strauss - Album Review: Light and Dark
02 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Elmo Strauss began his musical career on Waiheke Island with the B Squared Blues Band which he formed with Louie Bo Charles IV. Eventually they morphed into Vessel, making the Battle of the Bands final in 2012.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: This Is What I Heard
02 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This 22-minute-long 5-track EP is the latest release from Daniel Brown, proudly recorded in his shed, in Feilding with Daniel providing guitars, drums and vocals. For those who have previously not come across Polaroids of Polarbears, this is lo-fi which combines shoegaze, post punk, Simple Minds and ambient styles in a way that is naively engaging.
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 27/02/2021
28 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Saturday at the Ding Dong is always guaranteed to be a good night, and tonight was to be no exception with Primacy finally launching their album Seeds of Change. I say “finally” as previous gigs had been cancelled due to lockdown, and in fact this was going to be their first gig since 2019!
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - Single Review: Pocket Change
16 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Cafe Fistfight describe themselves as New Zealand's premiere Acoustic-driven Progressive Rock band, with their music fitting in somewhere between John Mayer/Six60 and Incubus/Tool. To be honest, that is probably as good a description as any, but before someone expects to see the latest Yes, Genesis or Pink Floyd clone, be aware that when they describe themselves as progressive, they mean it in the true sense of the word, in that they are blending and mixing  genres and pushing the music in unusual directions.
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Interpretation
05 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled. Instead of just being a studio project, multi-instrumentalist Ben Ruegg was convinced to turn it into a full operational live band which quickly gelled into an incredibly tight unit which grew with experience and confidence each time they gigged.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Planet B
04 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is the ninth album from David, and while he wrote all the songs, he was assisted in the performances by his son Joseph, and between them we get plenty of keyboards, electronic drums, acoustic, bass, Stratocaster, harmonica and vocals. The result is something that does not really sound like a multi-instrumentalist performance, but rather a band, and even before putting it on I had to smile as while the CD booklet itself is low key, I cannot remember before seeing a track listing for Side A and Side B for a CD, plus the album is less than 45 minutes long so it really is harkening back to the 70’s.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dragon @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 3/02/21
04 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When The Biggest Pub Gig In The World took place at the end of last year, I truly felt there was a band missing from the bill who would have made the line-up complete, Dragon. Not only are they an  iconic New Zealand band, with countless hit singles and songs to their name, but they have been a solid gigging unit since their rebirth around bassist Todd Hunter in 2006.
Read More...
Festival Review: Auckland Folk Festival 2021 - 31/01/2021
02 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The final day of the Auckland Folk Festival 2021 started up, and I headed over in time to catch Being. at Midday.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem