16 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Personal Igloo - EP Review: Phone-in Serotonin

17 Nov 2020 // A review by Brendan McCarthy
For the last couple of days I have driven home with my windows down to allow the beautiful Bay of Plenty sunshine to stream into my life and for these journeys I have chilled to the most excellent musical sounds of Phone-in Serotonin by Personal Igloo. This has been perfect timing all round and a joyful reminder of how privileged we are as kiwis to live in paradise and be able to consume our own unique culture.


The six track EP is the debut release from Auckland based
songwriter and producer Hamish Nixon and is a well-crafted mix of Soulful Chill-Pop that will ease you gently into the kiwi summer vibe.

Stylised as a concept album in the form of a phone-in radio show, the intro track Ric’s Intro is a radio voice over and sets the expectations instantly by its simple instructions to "Sit back and enjoy the journey".

The opening line of the first track Lost in the Igloo reads, "I’m on holiday" as the first of several laid back soundscapes take you on the aforementioned journey into a hot summer afternoon with a gentle breeze in your hair and drink in hand.

The songwriting is smart but casual with good clean modern tone choices for all instruments that suit the style and you will definitely find yourself swaying along.

Lyrically the work is strong with a common underlying message to promote mental health awareness and the importance of talking.

The standout track for me is Are my friends OK, an upbeat groove pop track delivered in a very Kiwi singalong style using a loose chorus and some classy instrumental lead lines.

Phone-in Serotonin is definitely worth checking out to get you into the summer vibe.

Well done that man.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Personal Igloo

If Kings of Leon and Steve Lacy hooked up one night and made a baby, that baby might sound something like Personal Igloo.

Personal Igloo is the solo project of Auckland based song writer/producer, Hamish Nixon

Personal Igloo's chill and unique sound blends a variety of alternative pop and RnB influences with soulful, raspy vocals. Keep an eye out for the Debut EP Phone-in Serotonin releasing Friday November 6th on all platforms

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Personal Igloo

Releases

Phone-In Serotonin
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Brendan McCarthy

Gig Review: Crowded House @ Claudelands Arena, Hamilton - 23/03/2021
24 Mar 2021 // by Brendan McCarthy
The Crowded House To The Island tour strolled into Hamilton last night and took a seat at Claudelands Arena. A strong crowd of 4000 fans, comfortably arranged in a theatre style setting waited patiently for this long overdue performance from our favourite sons.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Waihi Beach Hotel, Waihi Beach - 04/01/2021
05 Jan 2021 // by Brendan McCarthy
The Jon Toogood Solo, Acoustic tour rolled into the Waihi Beach Hotel last night and I was indeed an eager attendee. Jon has been regularly performing in this format for the last few years but the stars have not always been aligned to allow me to catch the gig, so I wanted to make sure that I did not let this opportunity pass by again.
Read More...
Michael Morris - Single Review: Pseudoephedrine
20 Dec 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
Dunedin based Alternative Pop/Rock/Punk musician Michael Morris returns home following an extensive journey throughout Europe while based in France. The first single from his upcoming sophomore album is called Pseudoephedrine and is a nice example of what is shaping up to be a noteworthy body of work.
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Single Review: Sunday Drive
17 Jun 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
In the world of lead guitar and instrumental offerings, Sean Bodley needs no introduction. Over the last 10 years, Sean has established a catalogue of six albums that display his dedication to the Guitar as an instrument of creation and clearly highlight his talent; therefore, one could correctly state that his latest single Sunday Drive is not his first rodeo.
Read More...
Andy Snadden - Album Review: The River
27 May 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
The River is the debut album by Japan-based Kiwi singer/songwriter Andy Snadden. Displaying clear influences from some of the greats, one can instantly hear many hours of devotion to the likes of Lennon, McCartney, Dylan, Simon and Garfunkel have gone into the development of Andy's music.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Feelers @ Bay Park Arena, Tauranga - 20/12/2019
22 Dec 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
An enthusiastic crowd of approx. 300 forty-somethings turned out to see Tauranga installment of The Feelers tour with Stellar* and Tablefox.
Read More...
B.A.D.S - EP Review: A.I.R 01
16 Oct 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
Wellington band B.A.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Album Review: Hustle Bustle
26 Sep 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
Reviewing an album is both a pleasure and a responsibility so I wanted to take my time to really listen to this body of work and ensure that I gave it my honest thoughts. The very act of listening to twelve tracks in a row from the same artist is not common behaviour for myself or conceivably any of us these days.
Read More...
View All Articles By Brendan McCarthy

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • I N T E R L U D E
    J. Cole
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem