15 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Personal Igloo - EP Review: Phone-in Serotonin

17 Nov 2020 // A review by Brendan McCarthy
For the last couple of days I have driven home with my windows down to allow the beautiful Bay of Plenty sunshine to stream into my life and for these journeys I have chilled to the most excellent musical sounds of Phone-in Serotonin by Personal Igloo. This has been perfect timing all round and a joyful reminder of how privileged we are as kiwis to live in paradise and be able to consume our own unique culture.


The six track EP is the debut release from Auckland based
songwriter and producer Hamish Nixon and is a well-crafted mix of Soulful Chill-Pop that will ease you gently into the kiwi summer vibe.

Stylised as a concept album in the form of a phone-in radio show, the intro track Ric’s Intro is a radio voice over and sets the expectations instantly by its simple instructions to "Sit back and enjoy the journey".

The opening line of the first track Lost in the Igloo reads, "I’m on holiday" as the first of several laid back soundscapes take you on the aforementioned journey into a hot summer afternoon with a gentle breeze in your hair and drink in hand.

The songwriting is smart but casual with good clean modern tone choices for all instruments that suit the style and you will definitely find yourself swaying along.

Lyrically the work is strong with a common underlying message to promote mental health awareness and the importance of talking.

The standout track for me is Are my friends OK, an upbeat groove pop track delivered in a very Kiwi singalong style using a loose chorus and some classy instrumental lead lines.

Phone-in Serotonin is definitely worth checking out to get you into the summer vibe.

Well done that man.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Personal Igloo

If Kings of Leon and Still Woozg hooked up one night and made a baby, that baby might sound something like Personal Igloo.

Personal Igloo is the solo project of Auckland based song writer/producer, Hamish Nixon

Personal Igloo's chill and unique sound blends a variety of alternative pop and RnB influences with soulful, raspy vocals. Keep an eye out for Personal Igloo's upcoming live shows coming 2021!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Personal Igloo

Releases

Phone-In Serotonin
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Brendan McCarthy

Brian Baker - EP Review: Open Up Your Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Brendan McCarthy
Brian Baker is an established Kiwi songwriter whose career spans 40 years and is still going strong. His latest release is a 5-track EP entitled Open Up Your Heart and it brilliantly showcases Brian's musical experience and the journey that his art has taken him on.
Read More...
ShockOne x Lee Mvtthews - Single Review: Thinkin About
09 Jun 2022 // by Brendan McCarthy
If you are entrenched in and or familiar with the world of EDM (specifically Drum n Bass) then Lee Mvtthews will require no introduction, but for those of us that are perhaps not keeping up, here is the group summary in three sentences from a Kiwi perspective: A few years back in 2012, a couple of Auckland blokes named Graham Matthews and Tom Lee were knocking the top off a few beers while shooting the shizness about the music business. They found that they were both into the same stuff, right and decided to have a crack at making a few tunes on the computer.
Read More...
Goodspace - Single Review: Sit Down
05 May 2022 // by Brendan McCarthy
Goodspace are an Auckland 4-piece band in the style of what I want to call Glitch Dream Rock. A style that fuses together traditional songwriting styles with modern EDM soundscapes over Dream Pop vocal styles.
Read More...
Neil Beales - Single Review: Missing Words
13 Apr 2022 // by Brendan McCarthy
Missing Words is the latest solo offering from Wellington based songwriter Neil Beales who is also a member of the band Tower of Flints. The track was Recorded at the Outland Sessions, a week long songwriting collaboration event where Neil has been a regular attendee for the last few years.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crowded House @ Claudelands Arena, Hamilton - 23/03/2021
24 Mar 2021 // by Brendan McCarthy
The Crowded House To The Island tour strolled into Hamilton last night and took a seat at Claudelands Arena. A strong crowd of 4000 fans, comfortably arranged in a theatre style setting waited patiently for this long overdue performance from our favourite sons.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Waihi Beach Hotel, Waihi Beach - 04/01/2021
05 Jan 2021 // by Brendan McCarthy
The Jon Toogood Solo, Acoustic tour rolled into the Waihi Beach Hotel last night and I was indeed an eager attendee. Jon has been regularly performing in this format for the last few years but the stars have not always been aligned to allow me to catch the gig, so I wanted to make sure that I did not let this opportunity pass by again.
Read More...
Michael Morris - Single Review: Pseudoephedrine
20 Dec 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
Dunedin based Alternative Pop/Rock/Punk musician Michael Morris returns home following an extensive journey throughout Europe while based in France. The first single from his upcoming sophomore album is called Pseudoephedrine and is a nice example of what is shaping up to be a noteworthy body of work.
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Single Review: Sunday Drive
17 Jun 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
In the world of lead guitar and instrumental offerings, Sean Bodley needs no introduction. Over the last 10 years, Sean has established a catalogue of six albums that display his dedication to the Guitar as an instrument of creation and clearly highlight his talent; therefore, one could correctly state that his latest single Sunday Drive is not his first rodeo.
Read More...
View All Articles By Brendan McCarthy

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem