15 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Alice Foulds - EP Review: The Quieter Ones

16 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

The Quieter Ones is the second EP from singer-songwriter Alice Foulds, following on from her 2018 debut Oxygen. 

This time around she has partnered with Emily Riordan who produced it as well as providing piano and backing vocals, while Noah Goddard is on guitars and bass. Recorded during lockdown, this is a great introduction to another really wonderful singer. For the most part this is acoustic, with the vocals always front and centre. Five songs in sixteen minutes, opener Teardrops In A Teacup, is the most powerful as it is an incredibly atmospheric track. Alice’s vocals are breathy and emotional, with more than a hint of Americana, really inviting the listener in. It is an incredibly layered song, with some delicate electric guitar in the background, as well as poignant bass, and some simple effects. The contrast between that and the introduction to Without You is remarkable as here her voice is bright and clear, and while there are the same layered effects and multi-tracks, this feels more fragile and personal, heartfelt. 

The songs were written during the lockdown of April-May 2020, and there is a real feeling of passion throughout, with Too Long and its strident electric guitar being incredibly powerful. This is far more in your face than the others, and one gets the impression this could become quite the belter in a live setting. In My Skin takes us back to the second song in terms of style, and is my least favourite on the EP, as there are a few note choices which seem a little strange to me, but given they are repeated they are exactly what Alice intended. The Child ends the set, and contains a special naivety, a powerful hook in the chorus and some wonderful harmony vocals. 

Overall, this is a really nice EP indeed and I look forward to catching up with Alice in a live setting sometime in the future. We have some really good releases from female singers at present, and Alice Foulds can definitely be added to that list.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Alice Foulds

Alice Foulds is a singer/songwriter from Auckland. During 2018 she studied Audio Production at the Southern Institute of Technology in Invercargill, where she teamed up with fellow student and Producer Carlos Sierra. Her debut EP Oxygen produced by Sierra, and recorded in the studios of S.I.T was released in November 2018.

She released her second EP The Quieter Ones in October 2020, co-produced with Emily Riordan.

Alice has appeared on the main stage of the New Years' Festival Basscamp two years running, and completed three self managed tours from 2019-2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Alice Foulds

Releases

The Quieter Ones
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Oxygen
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • DEVIL IS A LIE
    Tommy Richman
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem