22 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Alice Foulds - EP Review: The Quieter Ones

16 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

The Quieter Ones is the second EP from singer-songwriter Alice Foulds, following on from her 2018 debut Oxygen. 

This time around she has partnered with Emily Riordan who produced it as well as providing piano and backing vocals, while Noah Goddard is on guitars and bass. Recorded during lockdown, this is a great introduction to another really wonderful singer. For the most part this is acoustic, with the vocals always front and centre. Five songs in sixteen minutes, opener Teardrops In A Teacup, is the most powerful as it is an incredibly atmospheric track. Alice’s vocals are breathy and emotional, with more than a hint of Americana, really inviting the listener in. It is an incredibly layered song, with some delicate electric guitar in the background, as well as poignant bass, and some simple effects. The contrast between that and the introduction to Without You is remarkable as here her voice is bright and clear, and while there are the same layered effects and multi-tracks, this feels more fragile and personal, heartfelt. 

The songs were written during the lockdown of April-May 2020, and there is a real feeling of passion throughout, with Too Long and its strident electric guitar being incredibly powerful. This is far more in your face than the others, and one gets the impression this could become quite the belter in a live setting. In My Skin takes us back to the second song in terms of style, and is my least favourite on the EP, as there are a few note choices which seem a little strange to me, but given they are repeated they are exactly what Alice intended. The Child ends the set, and contains a special naivety, a powerful hook in the chorus and some wonderful harmony vocals. 

Overall, this is a really nice EP indeed and I look forward to catching up with Alice in a live setting sometime in the future. We have some really good releases from female singers at present, and Alice Foulds can definitely be added to that list.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Alice Foulds

Alice Foulds is a singer/songwriter from Auckland. During 2018 she studied Audio Production at the Southern Institute of Technology in Invercargill, where she teamed up with fellow student and Producer Carlos Sierra. Her debut EP Oxygen produced by Sierra, and recorded in the studios of S.I.T was released in November 2018.

She released her second EP The Quieter Ones in October 2020, co-produced with Emily Riordan.

Alice has appeared on the main stage of the New Years' Festival Basscamp two years running, and completed three self managed tours from 2019-2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Alice Foulds

Releases

The Quieter Ones
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Oxygen
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Albi & The Wolves - Gig Review: Rock The Folk @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 18/06/2021
20 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
So, it was back to the lovely little venue which is The Tuning Fork. It is somewhere I always enjoy going to, as not only is the food and beer very good indeed, but there is a good sound and everyone can see.
Read More...
LearningToDive - Single Review: You Said It Best
17 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Learningtodive is one of a series of projects from Bravo Bonez, a musician and producer currently based in Wellington, New Zealand. He released his first single under this name back in November last year, since when he has followed it up with more singles and his debut album Norwegian Pop, which came out in April.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem