29 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Alice Foulds - EP Review: The Quieter Ones

16 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

The Quieter Ones is the second EP from singer-songwriter Alice Foulds, following on from her 2018 debut Oxygen. 

This time around she has partnered with Emily Riordan who produced it as well as providing piano and backing vocals, while Noah Goddard is on guitars and bass. Recorded during lockdown, this is a great introduction to another really wonderful singer. For the most part this is acoustic, with the vocals always front and centre. Five songs in sixteen minutes, opener Teardrops In A Teacup, is the most powerful as it is an incredibly atmospheric track. Alice’s vocals are breathy and emotional, with more than a hint of Americana, really inviting the listener in. It is an incredibly layered song, with some delicate electric guitar in the background, as well as poignant bass, and some simple effects. The contrast between that and the introduction to Without You is remarkable as here her voice is bright and clear, and while there are the same layered effects and multi-tracks, this feels more fragile and personal, heartfelt. 

The songs were written during the lockdown of April-May 2020, and there is a real feeling of passion throughout, with Too Long and its strident electric guitar being incredibly powerful. This is far more in your face than the others, and one gets the impression this could become quite the belter in a live setting. In My Skin takes us back to the second song in terms of style, and is my least favourite on the EP, as there are a few note choices which seem a little strange to me, but given they are repeated they are exactly what Alice intended. The Child ends the set, and contains a special naivety, a powerful hook in the chorus and some wonderful harmony vocals. 

Overall, this is a really nice EP indeed and I look forward to catching up with Alice in a live setting sometime in the future. We have some really good releases from female singers at present, and Alice Foulds can definitely be added to that list.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Alice Foulds

Alice Foulds is a singer/songwriter from Auckland. During 2018 she studied Audio Production at the Southern Institute of Technology in Invercargill, where she teamed up with fellow student and Producer Carlos Sierra. Her debut EP Oxygen produced by Sierra, and recorded in the studios of S.I.T was released in November 2018.

She released her second EP The Quieter Ones in October 2020, co-produced with Emily Riordan.

Alice has appeared on the main stage of the New Years' Festival Basscamp two years running, and completed three self managed tours from 2019-2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Alice Foulds

Releases

The Quieter Ones
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Oxygen
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Stealphish - Single Review: Procidens
28 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
I was chatting with the guys from Cafe Fistfight before their recent gig at Ding Dong, when guitarist Josh Barker asked if I would be interested in his brand-new solo release, and I was definitely intrigued. Apart from classical pianist Caitlyn Abbot, and some assistance from Dan Barker who assisted in programming the hi hat rolls at the start and some of the fills, everything on this instrumental release is by Josh.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Today was set to be the launch party for the second album by Channeled, I Heard Penelope Sing, but unfortunately singer and songwriter Ben Ruegg was rushed into hospital on Tuesday, only being allowed home on the Friday itself. The thoughts of everyone at Muzic.
Read More...
The Solomon Cole Band - Single Review: Lucifer's Rising
26 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
The Solomon Cole Band comprise Solomon (vocals, guitar), Fonnie Jo Davies (vocals), Lee Catlin (bass) and Loujean (LJ) Philander (drums), and one has to ask the question as to when did Waiheke Island become part of the Deep South and go back in time? Their latest release, Lucifer’s Rising, is taken from their second album, A Little South Of Heaven, and takes us almost 100 years into the past and geographically into the Southern states of America.
Read More...
Samuel Philip Cooper - Album Review: Breaking The Silence
26 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Young Wellington-based pianist Samuel Philip Cooper is now releasing his debut album, which contains both of his earlier singles, Broken Heart Recovery and Hope In Your Heart. One of the problems I had with Samuel’s work is that it was too short, but hearing the 18 songs on this album (47 minutes long) it makes far more sense as here the different songs become part of one much larger work.
Read More...
Album Review: It's Already Tomorrow
25 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
This compilation is the brainchild of leading New Zealand composer, John Psathas, and past-student guitarist, electronic musician and composer, Jack Hooker. With everyone in bubbles around the world, the idea was to create a collaborative environment for New Zealand artists, where John and Jack created nuggets for others to amend and use as a base for their own musical adventures.
Read More...
Channeled - Album Review: I Heard Penelope Sing
25 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
I was at a gig the other night and bumped into Channeled's main man Ben Ruegg, and of course we soon started up a conversation. I introduced him to some other friends of mine and tried to think how long I had actually known him, and Ben promptly said, "Six weeks".
Read More...
Gig Review: City of Souls @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 21/11/2020
22 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight it was off to one of my favourite venues, The Tuning Fork, to see recent Aotearoa Music Award winners for Te Kaipuoro Rakapioi Toa (Best Rock Artist), City of Souls, at the launch party for their debut album, Synæsthesia. Outside the venue I bumped into Ben Reugg (Channeled) who had brought some of his music students from Waiuku College to see what a proper rock show is like while I spent the evening in the company of Jodie (Miss Peach and The Travellin Bones) and Te Matera Smith (AAA Records), also bumped into Chris Webb (White Nøise Mafia), Francis Wheeler (SIS Studios, a judge at the recent Ding Dong competition), and so many others from the local scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: On Tick @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 20/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
When everyone at Ding Dong greeted me by name, and soundman Dave asked why I wasn’t at the final of the bands battle the previous week, it made me realise that possibly I have been attending the venue quite a lot in recent times. But when they have bands playing who are as good as these, where else would I be on a Friday night?
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem