20 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Alice Foulds - EP Review: The Quieter Ones

16 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

The Quieter Ones is the second EP from singer-songwriter Alice Foulds, following on from her 2018 debut Oxygen. 

This time around she has partnered with Emily Riordan who produced it as well as providing piano and backing vocals, while Noah Goddard is on guitars and bass. Recorded during lockdown, this is a great introduction to another really wonderful singer. For the most part this is acoustic, with the vocals always front and centre. Five songs in sixteen minutes, opener Teardrops In A Teacup, is the most powerful as it is an incredibly atmospheric track. Alice’s vocals are breathy and emotional, with more than a hint of Americana, really inviting the listener in. It is an incredibly layered song, with some delicate electric guitar in the background, as well as poignant bass, and some simple effects. The contrast between that and the introduction to Without You is remarkable as here her voice is bright and clear, and while there are the same layered effects and multi-tracks, this feels more fragile and personal, heartfelt. 

The songs were written during the lockdown of April-May 2020, and there is a real feeling of passion throughout, with Too Long and its strident electric guitar being incredibly powerful. This is far more in your face than the others, and one gets the impression this could become quite the belter in a live setting. In My Skin takes us back to the second song in terms of style, and is my least favourite on the EP, as there are a few note choices which seem a little strange to me, but given they are repeated they are exactly what Alice intended. The Child ends the set, and contains a special naivety, a powerful hook in the chorus and some wonderful harmony vocals. 

Overall, this is a really nice EP indeed and I look forward to catching up with Alice in a live setting sometime in the future. We have some really good releases from female singers at present, and Alice Foulds can definitely be added to that list.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Alice Foulds

Alice Foulds is a singer/songwriter from Auckland. During 2018 she studied Audio Production at the Southern Institute of Technology in Invercargill, where she teamed up with fellow student and Producer Carlos Sierra. Her debut EP Oxygen produced by Sierra, and recorded in the studios of S.I.T was released in November 2018.

She released her second EP The Quieter Ones in October 2020, co-produced with Emily Riordan.

Alice has appeared on the main stage of the New Years' Festival Basscamp two years running, and completed three self managed tours from 2019-2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Alice Foulds

Releases

The Quieter Ones
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Oxygen
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem