6 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Alice Foulds - EP Review: The Quieter Ones

16 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

The Quieter Ones is the second EP from singer-songwriter Alice Foulds, following on from her 2018 debut Oxygen. 

This time around she has partnered with Emily Riordan who produced it as well as providing piano and backing vocals, while Noah Goddard is on guitars and bass. Recorded during lockdown, this is a great introduction to another really wonderful singer. For the most part this is acoustic, with the vocals always front and centre. Five songs in sixteen minutes, opener Teardrops In A Teacup, is the most powerful as it is an incredibly atmospheric track. Alice’s vocals are breathy and emotional, with more than a hint of Americana, really inviting the listener in. It is an incredibly layered song, with some delicate electric guitar in the background, as well as poignant bass, and some simple effects. The contrast between that and the introduction to Without You is remarkable as here her voice is bright and clear, and while there are the same layered effects and multi-tracks, this feels more fragile and personal, heartfelt. 

The songs were written during the lockdown of April-May 2020, and there is a real feeling of passion throughout, with Too Long and its strident electric guitar being incredibly powerful. This is far more in your face than the others, and one gets the impression this could become quite the belter in a live setting. In My Skin takes us back to the second song in terms of style, and is my least favourite on the EP, as there are a few note choices which seem a little strange to me, but given they are repeated they are exactly what Alice intended. The Child ends the set, and contains a special naivety, a powerful hook in the chorus and some wonderful harmony vocals. 

Overall, this is a really nice EP indeed and I look forward to catching up with Alice in a live setting sometime in the future. We have some really good releases from female singers at present, and Alice Foulds can definitely be added to that list.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Alice Foulds

Alice Foulds is a singer/songwriter from Auckland. During 2018 she studied Audio Production at the Southern Institute of Technology in Invercargill, where she teamed up with fellow student and Producer Carlos Sierra. Her debut EP Oxygen produced by Sierra, and recorded in the studios of S.I.T was released in November 2018.

She released her second EP The Quieter Ones in October 2020, co-produced with Emily Riordan.

Alice has appeared on the main stage of the New Years' Festival Basscamp two years running, and completed three self managed tours from 2019-2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Alice Foulds

Releases

The Quieter Ones
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Oxygen
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Elmo Strauss - Album Review: Light and Dark
02 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Elmo Strauss began his musical career on Waiheke Island with the B Squared Blues Band which he formed with Louie Bo Charles IV. Eventually they morphed into Vessel, making the Battle of the Bands final in 2012.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: This Is What I Heard
02 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This 22-minute-long 5-track EP is the latest release from Daniel Brown, proudly recorded in his shed, in Feilding with Daniel providing guitars, drums and vocals. For those who have previously not come across Polaroids of Polarbears, this is lo-fi which combines shoegaze, post punk, Simple Minds and ambient styles in a way that is naively engaging.
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 27/02/2021
28 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Saturday at the Ding Dong is always guaranteed to be a good night, and tonight was to be no exception with Primacy finally launching their album Seeds of Change. I say “finally” as previous gigs had been cancelled due to lockdown, and in fact this was going to be their first gig since 2019!
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - Single Review: Pocket Change
16 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Cafe Fistfight describe themselves as New Zealand's premiere Acoustic-driven Progressive Rock band, with their music fitting in somewhere between John Mayer/Six60 and Incubus/Tool. To be honest, that is probably as good a description as any, but before someone expects to see the latest Yes, Genesis or Pink Floyd clone, be aware that when they describe themselves as progressive, they mean it in the true sense of the word, in that they are blending and mixing  genres and pushing the music in unusual directions.
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Interpretation
05 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled. Instead of just being a studio project, multi-instrumentalist Ben Ruegg was convinced to turn it into a full operational live band which quickly gelled into an incredibly tight unit which grew with experience and confidence each time they gigged.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Planet B
04 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is the ninth album from David, and while he wrote all the songs, he was assisted in the performances by his son Joseph, and between them we get plenty of keyboards, electronic drums, acoustic, bass, Stratocaster, harmonica and vocals. The result is something that does not really sound like a multi-instrumentalist performance, but rather a band, and even before putting it on I had to smile as while the CD booklet itself is low key, I cannot remember before seeing a track listing for Side A and Side B for a CD, plus the album is less than 45 minutes long so it really is harkening back to the 70’s.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dragon @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 3/02/21
04 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When The Biggest Pub Gig In The World took place at the end of last year, I truly felt there was a band missing from the bill who would have made the line-up complete, Dragon. Not only are they an  iconic New Zealand band, with countless hit singles and songs to their name, but they have been a solid gigging unit since their rebirth around bassist Todd Hunter in 2006.
Read More...
Festival Review: Auckland Folk Festival 2021 - 31/01/2021
02 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The final day of the Auckland Folk Festival 2021 started up, and I headed over in time to catch Being. at Midday.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem