20 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sean Bodley - Album Review: Neon Daydreams

15 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Sean Bodley was first inspired to pick up the guitar at the age of thirteen, being heavily influenced and inspired by Joe Satriani. He followed the normal route of playing in different bands, including cover outfits, and released his self-titled debut album as long ago as 1999. As well as teaching guitar he kept playing in bands until 2010 when he released a solo instrumental album, and he has since followed that up with a further five, of which Neon Daydreams is the latest.

During lockdown Sean spent the time writing and recording, with the plan of releasing singles at three-week intervals, and them combining them into an album at the end. Working this way means that there is no consistent musical thread, as this is more about a collection of tracks in which he experiments with different styles, tones, and genres. This is also the first time he has used Fender guitars in a recording, which provides a totally different edge.

If someone asked me which solo guitarist inspired Sean, I would have said Vai, but also said he was nothing like him either. Here we have an album which is hugely diverse, mixing genres from reggae to Celtic to blues to hard rock, from songs inspired by classical motifs to those which need to be played incredibly loudly while driving a car at full speed which sound as if ZZ Top are in the house. The guitar is always front and centre, while bass and keyboards provide the support. I contacted Sean yesterday to check who the drummer was as they also have a huge impact on the overall sound, and was blown away to discover these were programmed drums as I would have bet money the sound was coming from a sweaty human. Sean proudly informed me that although it was mastered at Tim Julian’s The Colourfield Recording Studio in Welcome Bay, he did absolutely everything else.

One common problem with albums created by just one person is they can be self-indulgent, but here there is a freedom and joy which is palpable, and it brings the listener along for the ride. It is fun, it is energetic, and one of the delights is there is no way of knowing what the next song is going to be like. Bodley is a master of whatever he is playing, and Sinner in particular is crying out to be heard in a live setting with its metallic, polished and rumbunctious sound. This is where he gets closest to the shredders who originally inspired him, with multi-layered guitars, modern effects, and I am sure an almighty grin on his face.

This is a great guitar instrumental album which is diverse yet consistent, comfortable yet surprising, immediate, and vibrant.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sean Bodley

Solo instrumental guitarist, previous albums include:

Sean Bodley (1999)
Acoustic Soundscapes (2014)
Balance (2014)

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sean Bodley

Releases

Neon Daydreams
Year: 2020
Type: Album
I Am Human
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Genesis
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Pitch Black
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Acoustic Soundscapes
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Balance
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Sean Bodley
Year: 1999
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem