20 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Looking For Alaska - Gig Review: Looking for Alaska @ Anthology, Auckland - 6/11/2020

Looking For Alaska - Gig Review: Looking for Alaska @ Anthology, Auckland - 6/11/2020

07 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

This was my first trip to the famous Anthology in K Road, and I soon found a spot at the bar to be able to see and perch my notebook, which was immediately improved when the barman grabbed a stool and asked me if I wanted to sit inside the barrier. From there I could see Kendall Elise tuning her guitar and it was obvious she was incredibly nervous, due to this being her first live show in ages. She kicked off the evening with Between Hello and Goodbye, and her lovely warm voice and strummed guitar immediately started to capture a groove. She was soon relaxed and filling the venue with her wonderful country, folk, singer-songwriter material.

Something's Gotta Give was far more melancholic, with strong consideration to poignant lyrics. In many ways she reminds me of Miss Peach and The Travellin Bones and I can imagine the two of them playing interesting sets together. There was real depth in her music, power in her vocals, and a warmth in her approach. You Got To Be A Little Mad would have benefited from someone on upright bass, although it had some nice changes in tempo, but in no way did it prepare me for the next song which actually me a few bars to work out what it was, as Springsteen’s Dancing In The Dark has never been deconstructed like that. Kendall turned it into a totally different song altogether and was incredibly delicate. The highlight of the evening was Red Earth, the title cut of her last album, which made me think of Johnny Cash and its steam train-driven pace while the picked Slippery Creek was also wonderful. When working as a support act it can be hard with just an acoustic guitar and vocals to get an audience to listen to you, but Kendall did a fine job tonight and I look forward to hearing more from her in the future.

After the fastest changeover I have seen in some time, up came Albi & The Wolves. I was really looking forward to this, as it has been more than five years since I last saw them play, and I was excited to hear they recently signed to AAA Records. When violinist/vocalist Pascal Roggen finished a sentence by Chris Dent (vocals, guitar) they both laughed and said they had been playing together for too long (the line-up is completed of course by double bassist Micheal Young), and when they started playing that familiarity was obvious.

Plaintive violin led us into Holding On which had strong harmony vocals and many different styles with it. The confidence was palpable, a group of musicians who intimately know what each brings to the performance,  what they are going to do, and that they can totally rely on the others to deliver. Playing multiple shows all over the country also means they have developed their stagecraft, so even though the band were fairly static (Chris also provides a bass drum pedal with his foot) the audience were soon on the move, getting ever closer to the stage. They have that quiet confidence of a band who has performed together on many occasions: Pascal and Chris bounce off each other, Micheal provides either foundation or additional melody on the double bass, and the result is dynamic, and a load of fun.

Amy Maynard from Looking For Alaska joined them for I’d Go Anywhere, a song they wrote together, adding her wonderful vocals to take the band to even higher heights, if that were possible. Here Pascal provided Dave Swarbrick-style violin as they come across as their most Fairport Convention to date. Life After Dark is a song about what it is like in post lockdown, and both Chris and Pascal moved into falsetto at one point. The audience had been moving closer to the stage throughout the performance, but it was All I Am which turned out to be the catalyst, as this reel led by Pascal finally got the crowd dancing energetically, something which then continued for most of the night. It certainly did not feel as if this were a support act, as the crowd were really behind the band by now and it felt they could do no wrong.

Chris had been unwell this week, and was still suffering on the day of the gig, so he asked his brother Tom to come down and help him out on a few songs as he was not sure if vocally he would survive. Needless to say, Tom was introduced and given a rapturous applause as he stepped up and sang Fall With You. A very good singer indeed, this song saw the pace drop and was far more atmospheric. The highlight of the night had to be the anthem I Will Not Be Broken, which again saw Tom onstage. It may be quiet and delicate in places, but it is certainly shouty and triumphant in others as the audience joined in the chorus. Aaron came on to provide some keyboards to the more mellow Don’t and then it was over.

Tonight was the launch party for the new album from Looking For Alaska, titled Light and Shadow. Although they normally perform as a duo, here they were a quintet with additional drums, bass, and guitar. This trio started playing, were then joined by Aaron on keyboards before Amy made her entrance and they started with Where Have You Gone. Immediately the world revolved around her wonderful vocals, with the music providing the support to allow Amy to let her voice take her away. It is rare to see a singer so at one with what she is doing, often with eyes closed, arms creating shapes in the air, body swaying among the notes, while her vocals contain both delicacy and power so she comes across as a warmer more friendly version of Janis Joplin.

All The Broken People started with acapella from Amy, before Aaron joined on guitar and finally the rest of the band: classic 70’s rock with strong guitar melodies laid over the music. Amy’s breath control is superb, allowing her to hold long notes without strain, yet always with passion and restrained power. When Aaron joins his voice with hers, he provides the perfect musical foil, a depth to her already broad vocals. Through the evening there were times when Aaron was the lead singer, Amy then providing harmonies, and it showed a different side to their music, an additional facet. They even invited Huia Hamon onstage to provide additional harmonies on songs such as Home, where Aaron and Amy each took lead. By now the crowd were really attentive and, in the groove, and while not as rowdy as they had been during Albi & The Wolves, they were still more than happy to dance and join in the chorus.

Let It Go is musically quite basic, but this is just the foundation and it is all about some simply incredible vocals, and when Amy finally rips into the scream there is so much power it feels like the windows may shatter. She brings it home with a total change in pace, almost childlike in its innocence, with Aaron providing the perfect accompaniment on keyboards. That song was one of the real highlights of a magical evening, alongside the next one, Hine Atarau, which is  real builder. This contains some delicate picking from Aaron, alongside a gentle melodic lead and the drums adding just the right emphasis. Pascal was invited back onstage and joined in for a few numbers, adding additional bite and direction, taking the music in a more country direction with wonderful feel, and there was a feeling that by now everyone was having a party both onstage and off. With Aaron switching instruments, and he and Amy both singing leads, this is an incredibly diverse band and playing as a quintet provided much more depth I am sure, but I am also looking forward to catching them as a duo as I am sure that will be a wonderful experience in a different way.

All too soon it was over, but a quick conversation between Amy and Aaron led to all of Albi & The Wolves, as well as Huia and Chris, being invited up (this did mean Pascal had to stand on the floor as there was simply no room on the stage). A quick “do you know this one” deliberation took place, and then they launched into an unplanned and unrehearsed Superstition to end the night. Tonight, was a wonderful evening from three great acts, and I look forward to catching all of them again in the near future.

 

About Looking For Alaska

Like two weary vagabonds hitch-hiking along the open road with nothing but a guitar and a suitcase of songs and wayward memories, pop-folk duo Looking For Alaska are ready to set the New Zealand folk scene alight.

Members Aaron Gott and Amy Maynard offer up a sound rooted in country-style guitar and soaring harmonies woven together at their very fibre, intensified by their magnetic on-stage chemistry. The duo's familiarity, closeness and authenticity is fueled by their real-life romance, creating a magnetic performance style that captivates their audience time and time again, and has seen them open for the likes of Fly My Pretties and Herbs, and as a featured act at the Auckland Folk Festival.

Having performed together extensively since they bonded during a recording assignment at music school in 2012, Aaron and Amy embarked upon their newest musical endeavour Looking For Alaska two years ago, and have since worked tirelessly to create a collection of original material, ranging from thigh-slapping, foot-stomping folk sing-alongs, to poignant heart-rending ballads drenched in melancholy.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Looking For Alaska

Releases

Light and Shadow
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Looking For Alaska
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

LearningToDive - Single Review: You Said It Best
17 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Learningtodive is one of a series of projects from Bravo Bonez, a musician and producer currently based in Wellington, New Zealand. He released his first single under this name back in November last year, since when he has followed it up with more singles and his debut album Norwegian Pop, which came out in April.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem