20 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge Bands Competition Heat 4 @ Ding Dong, Auckland - 04/11/2020

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge Bands Competition Heat 4 @ Ding Dong, Auckland - 04/11/2020

07 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

So, it was back to Ding Dong for the final heat of the Bands competition, which is being sponsored by Dave Rhodes Productions, SIS Studios, Real Groovy Auckland and Muzic.net.nz. I had been really looking forward to seeing Black Sands as by all accounts they are a great band, but unfortunately one of them fell ill and they had to cancel. On a positive note it did mean that On Tick were brought back to bring it back to a 5 band line-up, and as I thought they should have gone through from their heat it meant they had another opportunity to prove their worth.

First up was Libermere, a trio featuring Adam Moore (guitar, vocals), Shaun Caffell (bass) and Anaru Broughton (drums). They were the first band I have come across in a long time who use an electronic drum kit, so they were on at the beginning to ease the changeovers, as everyone else would be using On Tick’s kit as a base. Nerves were frazzled by the failure of a DI on the kit itself, but that was fortunately resolved and they started with The Lazarus Effect, which seemed somewhat of an unusual choice as this was a slower instrumental, but The Alchemist allowed them to start shaking loose and relax. This was only their third ever gig, but as they turned it up and became more metallic, they definitely started to generate a groove. There were also some interesting things happening at the back, with Anaru using rimshots for effect, as well as some complex patterns. When they covered Fairies Wear Boots they did a good job and generated strong audience response, but both the band and the audience enjoyed the last song most, Queen of the Stone Age’s No One Knows. However, this was a competition and not a normal gig and to play 2 cover songs in a set of just 7 (in total, there was just 1 other cover version played over all 4 heats) was probably not a wise decision.

After a drum kit change, up came On Tick. They had only been asked that day to do the gig, so it was the same setlist as the previous heat, apart from the final song where they swapped WWII for Rats. As before, Radioshit really grabs attention from the off, mixing the likes of System of a Down with a hardcore punk attitude, abrasive and full of energy. Aidan was really going for it tonight, ripping into his guitar and spitting venom in his vocals, while Matt was all over his 5-string, providing either support or counter melodies and Brendan was at the back providing both dynamic assault and beast-like vocals at the right time. There was massive enthusiasm and desire coming from the stage, and the crowd definitely responded. We were getting finger popping on the bass, at times there was some weird funk being brought to us while Don’t Know Who I Am was massively aggressive yet also contained some complex over the top melodies which moved away and then returned. They hit the groove early on and maintained it until the end. There was no doubt they had set the bar very high indeed and given three bands were going through tonight out of the five, even having not seen any of the others I was sure they would be in the semis.

This then brought us to World On Fire who comprise Nick Moriarty (drums, vocals) from Auckland, who lived in Japan for the last decade, and Saki Nakayama (guitar, vocals) from Tokyo, Japan. They started playing together about 6 months ago after the first lockdown when they realised they had a common love of Japanese alternative/indie bands and other British/American alternative music, but although Nick has been in other bands this is a first for Saki, so the preliminary heat was not only the band’s first-ever gig together but the first time she has been on stage, and she was decidedly nervous for tonight. Lyrics are a mix of Japanese and English, with both providing lead vocals for different songs, and right from Nyusion they gained attention from the crowd. The reason is this is alternative music that is very different indeed, abrasive with attitude but also hugely experimental. The more they played the more it reminded me of the styles of music coming out of CBGB’s in the mid Seventies, when there was a real melting pot of expression, and as they continued the more I enjoyed it, with Sonic Proof probably being the highlight. The pace changed throughout by the set, and by the end no-one was quite sure what they had seen and heard, but all felt better for it.

Next up were Electric Moccasins who comprise Sidharth Pagad (vocals, guitar), Hrish Chandratre (guitar), Simon Murcott (bass) and Dyames Ortiz (drums). Not only was this just their second ever gig, but the band had also only been together for a month, so they had already done well in getting through the heats. As they were setting up, I noticed Simon was wearing a fretless bass, which for me is pretty much a guarantee I am going to enjoy the band, as it takes a special character to play one. From the first notes of Garden they hit a groove, with Sidharth providing strong edgy vocals, and the song morphed from something emotional into a sound which was far heavier and in your face while retaining melody. There was a feeling of classic Seventies to much of the music, with a blues base, and in Sidharth they have a commanding frontman while Hrish is a fine guitarist, always in control and providing controlled leads while there was all good interplay between them. The rhythm section laid down a solid base, which then allowed the guitarists to build from there. The sound itself was huge, yet they were prepared to break that with some acapella vocals to provide sonic relief. Passage was the highlight, with a superb guitar solo, and overall, I really enjoyed the set. One wonders what they are going to be like in the future if they have only been together a month.

Last up were Glass Throne, who came into the event with a strong reputation. A three-piece comprising Justin Robinson (lead vocals, bass), Owen McKibbin (guitar, backing vocals) and Daniel Cutfield (drums, backing vocals), they are unusual in that Owen also plays organ while Justin moves to lead guitar. This allows them to be quite different in their musical approach, as they can mix it up in ways the audience may not be expecting, and certainly drive songs in different directions. Just a few bars into Living Dying I was already a fan, as here is a group of youngsters who are determined to put on a show. Whether that is undertaking a guitar solo with the guitar over the heads of the audience, or stick twirling aplenty, these guys realise a live gig is about more than just music. There were times when they were in the centre of the stage egging each other on, and others where Owen ditched his guitar for a few bars of keyboards, before coming back with finger tapping while Justin provided intricate lines and Daniel classic drum fills as well as showboating: they reminded me of Atomic Rooster, yet in an updated manner. Cage saw them finish the set with Justin on electric guitar and Owen on keyboards throughout. This was far more metallic, but for me there was not enough bottom end, so it did not hit quite as hard as it could have.

Now it was all over, and all that was left was for the judges to make their decision and then have Andrew Treeby announce it from the stage. The deliberation took much longer than I expected, but finally they came out and going through was Glass Throne, On Tick, and World of Fire. I admit that last one threw me, but I also understood where the judges were coming from. If it were me then I would have given that slot to Electric Moccasins, but I am very happy I am not judging as the next night would be the first semi-final, and that was going to be tough! Well done Ding Dong for putting on yet another great show at everyone’s favourite rock dive.


Photo Credit: Aaron Leece

 

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Perception
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
As I have said previously, 2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled, as Ben Ruegg recorded the second album and formed an operational live band to make it more than just a studio project. They made it through to the final of the Ding Dong Lounge Battle of the Bands and set up a headline show at the same venue with Cafe Fistfight and Mariner as support to celebrate the release of I Heard Penelope Sing, but then disaster struck with Ben being rushed to hospital following a Grand Mal seizure.
Read More...
Empress - EP Review: Trash Dynasty
10 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Empress were formed by guitarist/singer Lora Thompson and drummer Craig Gilliver after the demise of their previous project, Cheshire Grimm with whom they toured the length of NZ, played with international acts and local superstars, as well as releasing material along the way. The lead track from this EP, Sailing the Seas of Grease, was actually released towards the end of 2020 but it has taken until now for their six-track 23-minute-long debut EP to made available.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem