23 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge Bands Competition Heat 4 @ Ding Dong, Auckland - 04/11/2020

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge Bands Competition Heat 4 @ Ding Dong, Auckland - 04/11/2020

07 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

So, it was back to Ding Dong for the final heat of the Bands competition, which is being sponsored by Dave Rhodes Productions, SIS Studios, Real Groovy Auckland and Muzic.net.nz. I had been really looking forward to seeing Black Sands as by all accounts they are a great band, but unfortunately one of them fell ill and they had to cancel. On a positive note it did mean that On Tick were brought back to bring it back to a 5 band line-up, and as I thought they should have gone through from their heat it meant they had another opportunity to prove their worth.

First up was Libermere, a trio featuring Adam Moore (guitar, vocals), Shaun Caffell (bass) and Anaru Broughton (drums). They were the first band I have come across in a long time who use an electronic drum kit, so they were on at the beginning to ease the changeovers, as everyone else would be using On Tick’s kit as a base. Nerves were frazzled by the failure of a DI on the kit itself, but that was fortunately resolved and they started with The Lazarus Effect, which seemed somewhat of an unusual choice as this was a slower instrumental, but The Alchemist allowed them to start shaking loose and relax. This was only their third ever gig, but as they turned it up and became more metallic, they definitely started to generate a groove. There were also some interesting things happening at the back, with Anaru using rimshots for effect, as well as some complex patterns. When they covered Fairies Wear Boots they did a good job and generated strong audience response, but both the band and the audience enjoyed the last song most, Queen of the Stone Age’s No One Knows. However, this was a competition and not a normal gig and to play 2 cover songs in a set of just 7 (in total, there was just 1 other cover version played over all 4 heats) was probably not a wise decision.

After a drum kit change, up came On Tick. They had only been asked that day to do the gig, so it was the same setlist as the previous heat, apart from the final song where they swapped WWII for Rats. As before, Radioshit really grabs attention from the off, mixing the likes of System of a Down with a hardcore punk attitude, abrasive and full of energy. Aidan was really going for it tonight, ripping into his guitar and spitting venom in his vocals, while Matt was all over his 5-string, providing either support or counter melodies and Brendan was at the back providing both dynamic assault and beast-like vocals at the right time. There was massive enthusiasm and desire coming from the stage, and the crowd definitely responded. We were getting finger popping on the bass, at times there was some weird funk being brought to us while Don’t Know Who I Am was massively aggressive yet also contained some complex over the top melodies which moved away and then returned. They hit the groove early on and maintained it until the end. There was no doubt they had set the bar very high indeed and given three bands were going through tonight out of the five, even having not seen any of the others I was sure they would be in the semis.

This then brought us to World On Fire who comprise Nick Moriarty (drums, vocals) from Auckland, who lived in Japan for the last decade, and Saki Nakayama (guitar, vocals) from Tokyo, Japan. They started playing together about 6 months ago after the first lockdown when they realised they had a common love of Japanese alternative/indie bands and other British/American alternative music, but although Nick has been in other bands this is a first for Saki, so the preliminary heat was not only the band’s first-ever gig together but the first time she has been on stage, and she was decidedly nervous for tonight. Lyrics are a mix of Japanese and English, with both providing lead vocals for different songs, and right from Nyusion they gained attention from the crowd. The reason is this is alternative music that is very different indeed, abrasive with attitude but also hugely experimental. The more they played the more it reminded me of the styles of music coming out of CBGB’s in the mid Seventies, when there was a real melting pot of expression, and as they continued the more I enjoyed it, with Sonic Proof probably being the highlight. The pace changed throughout by the set, and by the end no-one was quite sure what they had seen and heard, but all felt better for it.

Next up were Electric Moccasins who comprise Sidharth Pagad (vocals, guitar), Hrish Chandratre (guitar), Simon Murcott (bass) and Dyames Ortiz (drums). Not only was this just their second ever gig, but the band had also only been together for a month, so they had already done well in getting through the heats. As they were setting up, I noticed Simon was wearing a fretless bass, which for me is pretty much a guarantee I am going to enjoy the band, as it takes a special character to play one. From the first notes of Garden they hit a groove, with Sidharth providing strong edgy vocals, and the song morphed from something emotional into a sound which was far heavier and in your face while retaining melody. There was a feeling of classic Seventies to much of the music, with a blues base, and in Sidharth they have a commanding frontman while Hrish is a fine guitarist, always in control and providing controlled leads while there was all good interplay between them. The rhythm section laid down a solid base, which then allowed the guitarists to build from there. The sound itself was huge, yet they were prepared to break that with some acapella vocals to provide sonic relief. Passage was the highlight, with a superb guitar solo, and overall, I really enjoyed the set. One wonders what they are going to be like in the future if they have only been together a month.

Last up were Glass Throne, who came into the event with a strong reputation. A three-piece comprising Justin Robinson (lead vocals, bass), Owen McKibbin (guitar, backing vocals) and Daniel Cutfield (drums, backing vocals), they are unusual in that Owen also plays organ while Justin moves to lead guitar. This allows them to be quite different in their musical approach, as they can mix it up in ways the audience may not be expecting, and certainly drive songs in different directions. Just a few bars into Living Dying I was already a fan, as here is a group of youngsters who are determined to put on a show. Whether that is undertaking a guitar solo with the guitar over the heads of the audience, or stick twirling aplenty, these guys realise a live gig is about more than just music. There were times when they were in the centre of the stage egging each other on, and others where Owen ditched his guitar for a few bars of keyboards, before coming back with finger tapping while Justin provided intricate lines and Daniel classic drum fills as well as showboating: they reminded me of Atomic Rooster, yet in an updated manner. Cage saw them finish the set with Justin on electric guitar and Owen on keyboards throughout. This was far more metallic, but for me there was not enough bottom end, so it did not hit quite as hard as it could have.

Now it was all over, and all that was left was for the judges to make their decision and then have Andrew Treeby announce it from the stage. The deliberation took much longer than I expected, but finally they came out and going through was Glass Throne, On Tick, and World of Fire. I admit that last one threw me, but I also understood where the judges were coming from. If it were me then I would have given that slot to Electric Moccasins, but I am very happy I am not judging as the next night would be the first semi-final, and that was going to be tough! Well done Ding Dong for putting on yet another great show at everyone’s favourite rock dive.


Photo Credit: Aaron Leece

 

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem