9 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Die! Die! Die! - Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ Pioneer Hall, Port Chalmers - 06/11/2020

Die! Die! Die! - Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ Pioneer Hall, Port Chalmers - 06/11/2020

07 Nov 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Bliss Point are a Dunedin based high school band with musical lineage including drummer Tane Cotton, son of audio engineer Dale Cotton, and nephew of Shayne P Carter. Bliss Point take to the end of the room which is used as a stage to a quarter full room of their parents, school pals and unfashionably early concert goers, your humble scribe included.

Bliss Point are in the same math post punk mold as Die! Die! Die! and are a good fit for the evening.

During the Logan Park High School band’s blistering and brilliant set, Logan Park alumni, Die! Die! Die! front-man Andrew Wilson watches Bliss Point like a proud uncle or a teacher.

The two guitarists and bass player swap vocal duties during the set.

Musically the band are a blend of post-punk with liberal dashes of 90's grunge. Their musicianship is brilliant, regardless of age. If there is one thing I’d recommend, it’d be vocal coaching for the singers. I waited too many years to accept coaching, but am happy with my voice most days.

Their last song Servant was fast, with fuzzed out and crunchy guitars. It has an excellent structure and was an excellent way to lay down te wero [the challenge] to the following bands to bring their 'A' game.

Francisca Griffin and the Bus Shelter Boys are the second act on and their opening song One Eye Open is a blistering way to start.

Francisca Griffin totally has her own style, it's been similar through her extensive career, from her days under her former name in pioneering and influential Flying Nun band Look Blue Go Purple. And now with the Bus Shelter Boys (Gabriel Griffin on drums and Mick Elborado on bass) she's found a unit which gives her an added drive. By the time they're four songs in, the Port Chalmers Pioneer Hall is more than half full and there's a wide demographic of people, from people who remember The Enemy from back in the day, to high school pupils.

Francisca's fifth song Broken Heart opens slower, it's a wonderfully plodding dirge, imagine opiated krautrock. As it's a quieter song it's really nice to hear Francisca's voice on top of the mix.

Francisca Griffin and the Bus Shelter Boys’ last song, to my ears sounds like a cross between Francisca and Die! Die! Die! It's a great way to segue into the main event.

The morning after the show I sent Die! Die! Die! singer guitarist Andrew Wilson a message asking for their set list from their show. Here is a cut and paste.

Set list : New song, I Seek Misery - 450, Attitude, New song, New song, New song, New song, Britomart Sunset, Blue Skies, New song
.

Die! Die! Die! come on after a 15 minute changeover, which is pretty expedient with no messing about. As per the set list they open with a new song, and by the second chorus both Andrew and bass player Lachlan Anderson had played in the crowd.

The members playing in the crowd and bouncing along with the audience is a wonderful part of a Die! Die! Die! performance.

The first song built to the more customary Die! Die! Die! speed, with members finishing in unison, showing, as the set list of new songs does, they’ve been spending a bunch of time in a rehearsal room working together. They’re focused and watertight.

During the second song, I Seek Misery merges into 450, the band’s new current single, available on actual vinyl 7" (which I deeply regret not picking up a copy last night) features the typical, and wonderful beat displacement fans have come to know and love from the band.

The sound mix for Die! Die! Die! tonight is absolutely brilliant, Danny Brady and Nick Graham did a fabulous job of isolating Andrew’s vocal, it sounded to me like they’d multi-tracked it, and put the tracks slightly out of phase ( a trick used with Motorhead’s Lemmy Killminster). When I asked Danny he said they used, "a bit of reverb and delay".

Attitude has Andrew in the crowd, singing and bouncing along with the audience members.

The next ‘new song’ builds gradually before exploding into life with the mathematical precision of a NASA scientist making life and death calculations.

Many bands are either a wall of constant noise, or quieter. Die! Die! Die! are a rare band; they leave space, then can suck all the oxygen from a room with a brutal onslaught. They are true sonic trail blazers, taking the quiet then loud style of music making to great highs and lows.

"Here’s a new song", Andrew announces and they launch into a song with a phat groove, bass line and Mikey's drums are pure pop, just louder and faster.

I look up from note taking for this review into my phone, and Lachlan is playing bass in from of me, two feet away, and I'm halfway to the back of the hall. With both him and Andrew making trips into the crowd I wonder when they'll loop Mikey so he can come dancing too?

Die! Die! Die! write clever, and brutal pop songs, with many hooks and very danceable grooves.

Andrew announces Blue Skies is the last song, no one believes him, but at its conclusion he and Lachy leave guitars feeding back and go out the back door. The cheers of the now full Pioneer Hall are clearly audible over the wall of noise still coming from the amplifiers.

Mikey’s first back and sets the tempo, it's around 200 bpm, hope the others can keep up, which they do. It’s a glorious and wonderfully brutal way to close an epic night.


Photos courtesy of Andrew Mackay / Kea Photos

 

About Die! Die! Die!

Die! Die! Die! is a three-piece band from Auckland that was formed out of the ashes of Xanadu, Carriage H and Rawer. They play songs that are abrasive and catchy, fast and loud and like people who dance at their shows.

In the year since their first show together they played over 100 shows including three tours (each) of New Zealand and Australia, and one small one of USA.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Die! Die! Die!

Releases

O
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Charm.Offensive
Year: 2017
Type: Album
What Did You Expect?
Year: 2015
Type: EP
SWIM
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Harmony (Special Edition)
Year: 2013
Type: Unknown
Harmony
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Form
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Promises Promises
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Locust Weeks
Year: 2006
Type: EP
Die! Die! Die!
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Die! Die! Die!
Year: 2005
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Big Scout - Single Review: Mr. Slice
27 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Straight Outta Blenheim, noisy angular post-punk band Big Scout have released an addictive new song, Mr. Slice.
Read More...
Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day
06 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand." It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.
Read More...
James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem