20 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

In The Shallows - Single Review: Hold On

05 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Over the last few years, I have been fortunate enough to have come across some wonderful female singers and folk/acoustic acts, and now I have just stumbled onto the Wellington duo In The Shallows which is Danni Parsons (vocals, guitar, percussion) and Lance Shepherd (vocals, guitar, percussion). This song also features bassist Andy Bain (Fur Patrol) and drummer Nick Brown (Eb & Sparrow, Vorn) and guest cellist Bonnie Schwarz (Good Habits, Manchester – UK). As with their last single, Take It Easy, this  song is taken from their debut album which will be released in the near future, and based on what I have heard so far, will be something very special indeed.

Acoustic guitars and gentle drums provide the background for a song where Lance provides wonderful harmony vocals during the chorus, but for the most part it feels like Danni is duetting with the cello, as it is only just behind her in the mix. This gives the song a quite unusual sound, as there is the lightness and purity of Danni’s vocals almost competing against the stridency of the strings. Of course, the cello is an incredibly versatile instrument, and there are times when it is played more as a violin with a much lighter approach and this transforms the song yet again.

This is modern folk music and with Danni hailing originally from Wales, I do wonder if she has kept in contact with what is happening musically back there, as there are times when this definitely makes me think of the wonderful Elfin Bow. When Lance is also singing the song feels far more complex, as he has a strength within his vocals, but by giving prominence to Danni during the verse it does mean than when he makes his presence felt it has much more impact. I note they are undertaking a countrywide tour over the next few months, and due to perfect timing I am going to miss all the dates, which is a real shame as on the basis of this I very much want to hear more.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About In The Shallows

Blending catchy vocal hooks with soaring harmonies and atmospheric acoustic guitar, weaving in tales of love, loss, connection, redemption and empowerment - leaving audiences spellbound and wanting more.

Full Band includes Andy Bain (Fur Patrol) and Nick Brown (Eb & Sparrow, Vorn).

A little more about In The Shallows...

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for In The Shallows

Releases

In The Shallows
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Perception
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
As I have said previously, 2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled, as Ben Ruegg recorded the second album and formed an operational live band to make it more than just a studio project. They made it through to the final of the Ding Dong Lounge Battle of the Bands and set up a headline show at the same venue with Cafe Fistfight and Mariner as support to celebrate the release of I Heard Penelope Sing, but then disaster struck with Ben being rushed to hospital following a Grand Mal seizure.
Read More...
Empress - EP Review: Trash Dynasty
10 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Empress were formed by guitarist/singer Lora Thompson and drummer Craig Gilliver after the demise of their previous project, Cheshire Grimm with whom they toured the length of NZ, played with international acts and local superstars, as well as releasing material along the way. The lead track from this EP, Sailing the Seas of Grease, was actually released towards the end of 2020 but it has taken until now for their six-track 23-minute-long debut EP to made available.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem