9 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

In The Shallows - Single Review: Hold On

05 Nov 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Over the last few years, I have been fortunate enough to have come across some wonderful female singers and folk/acoustic acts, and now I have just stumbled onto the Wellington duo In The Shallows which is Danni Parsons (vocals, guitar, percussion) and Lance Shepherd (vocals, guitar, percussion). This song also features bassist Andy Bain (Fur Patrol) and drummer Nick Brown (Eb & Sparrow, Vorn) and guest cellist Bonnie Schwarz (Good Habits, Manchester – UK). As with their last single, Take It Easy, this  song is taken from their debut album which will be released in the near future, and based on what I have heard so far, will be something very special indeed.

Acoustic guitars and gentle drums provide the background for a song where Lance provides wonderful harmony vocals during the chorus, but for the most part it feels like Danni is duetting with the cello, as it is only just behind her in the mix. This gives the song a quite unusual sound, as there is the lightness and purity of Danni’s vocals almost competing against the stridency of the strings. Of course, the cello is an incredibly versatile instrument, and there are times when it is played more as a violin with a much lighter approach and this transforms the song yet again.

This is modern folk music and with Danni hailing originally from Wales, I do wonder if she has kept in contact with what is happening musically back there, as there are times when this definitely makes me think of the wonderful Elfin Bow. When Lance is also singing the song feels far more complex, as he has a strength within his vocals, but by giving prominence to Danni during the verse it does mean than when he makes his presence felt it has much more impact. I note they are undertaking a countrywide tour over the next few months, and due to perfect timing I am going to miss all the dates, which is a real shame as on the basis of this I very much want to hear more.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About In The Shallows

Blending catchy vocal hooks with soaring harmonies and atmospheric acoustic guitar, weaving in tales of love, loss, connection, redemption and empowerment - leaving audiences spellbound and wanting more.

Full Band includes Andy Bain (Fur Patrol) and Nick Brown (Eb & Sparrow, Vorn).

A little more about In The Shallows...

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for In The Shallows

Releases

In The Shallows
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Elmo Strauss - Album Review: Light and Dark
02 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Elmo Strauss began his musical career on Waiheke Island with the B Squared Blues Band which he formed with Louie Bo Charles IV. Eventually they morphed into Vessel, making the Battle of the Bands final in 2012.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: This Is What I Heard
02 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This 22-minute-long 5-track EP is the latest release from Daniel Brown, proudly recorded in his shed, in Feilding with Daniel providing guitars, drums and vocals. For those who have previously not come across Polaroids of Polarbears, this is lo-fi which combines shoegaze, post punk, Simple Minds and ambient styles in a way that is naively engaging.
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 27/02/2021
28 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Saturday at the Ding Dong is always guaranteed to be a good night, and tonight was to be no exception with Primacy finally launching their album Seeds of Change. I say “finally” as previous gigs had been cancelled due to lockdown, and in fact this was going to be their first gig since 2019!
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - Single Review: Pocket Change
16 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Cafe Fistfight describe themselves as New Zealand's premiere Acoustic-driven Progressive Rock band, with their music fitting in somewhere between John Mayer/Six60 and Incubus/Tool. To be honest, that is probably as good a description as any, but before someone expects to see the latest Yes, Genesis or Pink Floyd clone, be aware that when they describe themselves as progressive, they mean it in the true sense of the word, in that they are blending and mixing  genres and pushing the music in unusual directions.
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Interpretation
05 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled. Instead of just being a studio project, multi-instrumentalist Ben Ruegg was convinced to turn it into a full operational live band which quickly gelled into an incredibly tight unit which grew with experience and confidence each time they gigged.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Planet B
04 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is the ninth album from David, and while he wrote all the songs, he was assisted in the performances by his son Joseph, and between them we get plenty of keyboards, electronic drums, acoustic, bass, Stratocaster, harmonica and vocals. The result is something that does not really sound like a multi-instrumentalist performance, but rather a band, and even before putting it on I had to smile as while the CD booklet itself is low key, I cannot remember before seeing a track listing for Side A and Side B for a CD, plus the album is less than 45 minutes long so it really is harkening back to the 70’s.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dragon @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 3/02/21
04 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When The Biggest Pub Gig In The World took place at the end of last year, I truly felt there was a band missing from the bill who would have made the line-up complete, Dragon. Not only are they an  iconic New Zealand band, with countless hit singles and songs to their name, but they have been a solid gigging unit since their rebirth around bassist Todd Hunter in 2006.
Read More...
Festival Review: Auckland Folk Festival 2021 - 31/01/2021
02 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The final day of the Auckland Folk Festival 2021 started up, and I headed over in time to catch Being. at Midday.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem