5 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills

05 Nov 2020 // A review by Paul Goddard

Do you miss anything at the moment?

The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright. Sometimes we need to find comfort in the familiar, the past.

New Single Black Magik Pills from Auckland’s The Avondale Spiders is like a blast of smoke and booze fuelled 70’s excess wrapped in a raspy vocal that echo’s Lemmy’s Bourbon damaged rasp.

The Avondale Spiders aren’t just pedalling retro fuelled nostalgia though. Sure, there is familiarity and formula here but there is also a swagger and confidence that is missing in a lot of “new” music being released at the moment.

Black Magik Pills connects because this is a band comfortable in their sound, not worried about wearing influences on their sleeve and that in itself is refreshing.

Sometimes all we need is comfort of the familiar, that simple connection with our core. This is soul music. It reaches deep without a need to overthink things or pander to the latest trends.

Do what you feel and if it feels right to you that is all that matters.

Sounds like The Avondale Spiders understand that concept and we would all feel better if we swallowed one of their Black Magik Pills.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Avondale Spiders

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Avondale Spiders.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Marrow Neck - EP Review: Made Up
23 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Sitting here in a very wet and cold, rainy UK watching the oldies falling out of the local Wetherspoons where they have been on the piss since 9am (yep the UK is weird it's only the old people who can afford to get pissed all day).I am reflecting on the past as I listen to the latest EP Made Up from Auckland-based Mark Hannington.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Tempest
03 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Hardcore.It tends to mean extreme.
Read More...
Big Scout - Album Review: Council Sport
18 Aug 2022 // by Paul Goddard
It’s finally here. The first Long Player from Blenheim noisy buggers Big Scout.
Read More...
Memory Foam - Album Review: Steel Magnolias
28 Jun 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Did you know that Memory Foam creates a matrix of cells through which air can move? Me neither.
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Single Review: Sad Face
26 Apr 2022 // by Paul Goddard
If there is a phrase I can't stand right now it's "let's get ready for the new normal."Fuck that.
Read More...
Nuggiez - Single Review: The Creeps
08 Mar 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Zeitgeist.One of my favourite words.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Ice Cream Man
18 Feb 2022 // by Paul Goddard
I am going to say it. This might be controversial but the best Ice Cream is a simple Vanilla Whip in a cone.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: A Long Time Coming
23 Dec 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Life's a journey.Different phases, ranging from feeling bulletproof to feeling paranoid to eventually feeling resigned to whatever happens.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem