25 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills

05 Nov 2020 // A review by Paul Goddard

Do you miss anything at the moment?

The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright. Sometimes we need to find comfort in the familiar, the past.

New Single Black Magik Pills from Auckland’s The Avondale Spiders is like a blast of smoke and booze fuelled 70’s excess wrapped in a raspy vocal that echo’s Lemmy’s Bourbon damaged rasp.

The Avondale Spiders aren’t just pedalling retro fuelled nostalgia though. Sure, there is familiarity and formula here but there is also a swagger and confidence that is missing in a lot of “new” music being released at the moment.

Black Magik Pills connects because this is a band comfortable in their sound, not worried about wearing influences on their sleeve and that in itself is refreshing.

Sometimes all we need is comfort of the familiar, that simple connection with our core. This is soul music. It reaches deep without a need to overthink things or pander to the latest trends.

Do what you feel and if it feels right to you that is all that matters.

Sounds like The Avondale Spiders understand that concept and we would all feel better if we swallowed one of their Black Magik Pills.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Avondale Spiders

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Avondale Spiders.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Album Review: Thunderground
18 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Headphones in, let's go.So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer....
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: Back To The Beginning
12 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Looking back to move forward. Musicians have done this from the beginning.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern
21 Jan 2021 // by Paul Goddard
I like to be transported. Moved to a different place.
Read More...
Manzo - Single Review: Working Class Hero (John Lennon Cover)
05 Dec 2020 // by Paul Goddard
In 1946 John Lennon almost became a Kiwi. His estranged father took him to Blackpool with the intention of heading over with John to start a new life in NZ.
Read More...
Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Nothing Ever Happens
25 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
There are ear worms.Then there is this little snaky bastard of a tune from Big Scout.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem