29 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills

05 Nov 2020 // A review by Paul Goddard

Do you miss anything at the moment?

The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright. Sometimes we need to find comfort in the familiar, the past.

New Single Black Magik Pills from Auckland’s The Avondale Spiders is like a blast of smoke and booze fuelled 70’s excess wrapped in a raspy vocal that echo’s Lemmy’s Bourbon damaged rasp.

The Avondale Spiders aren’t just pedalling retro fuelled nostalgia though. Sure, there is familiarity and formula here but there is also a swagger and confidence that is missing in a lot of “new” music being released at the moment.

Black Magik Pills connects because this is a band comfortable in their sound, not worried about wearing influences on their sleeve and that in itself is refreshing.

Sometimes all we need is comfort of the familiar, that simple connection with our core. This is soul music. It reaches deep without a need to overthink things or pander to the latest trends.

Do what you feel and if it feels right to you that is all that matters.

Sounds like The Avondale Spiders understand that concept and we would all feel better if we swallowed one of their Black Magik Pills.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Avondale Spiders

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Avondale Spiders.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Nothing Ever Happens
25 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
There are ear worms.Then there is this little snaky bastard of a tune from Big Scout.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: ...Or That The Hummingbird Is So Seldom Seen
13 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Why?Why is music so important?
Read More...
Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem