20 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Wake Up - Single Review: Worthy

30 Oct 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Caleb, Chris and Laura are back with new recruit Nathan, and their latest single as The Wake Up: if there is any justice in the world here is a song which is going to be blasting out of radio stations all over Aotearoa for the next few months.

Written by fellow Palmerston North musician Adam Lee, Worthy hits so many sweet spots it is actually quite hard to know where to begin. Driven by the drums at the back, the guitars are a buzzsaw layering of sound, with a simple melody laid over that, and the breathy innocence of Laura sits nicely over the top of it all. Imagine a mix of Avril Lavigne, The Cranberries and The Bangles thrown together into an Eighties power pop punk mix with strong hooks and nuances which lift it away from the norm, and you may just get close to what these guys are all about.

There is a quiet section, we get "na na nah’s", harmonies, treated vocals, what is there not to love? I’ve just played it half a dozen times on repeat and it makes me smile each and every time. This is fun Summer music which makes the listener want to bounce and singalong – it also stops on a dime, which leaves us wanting that little bit more so of course the only thing to do is play it again! Produced and mixed by Mike Dwyer (Shawn Mendes, The Lumineers, Vance Joy), he came across the band and asked if they could work together as he was so impressed, and anyone who hears this is surely going to feel exactly the same way. Based on this I am really looking forward to hearing an album from these guys.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Wake Up

Both Drummer Caleb and Guitarist Chris met in 2015 when both local bands were going to compete on XFactor NZ, but after a short appearance on telly neither band won, and they went back home to Palmy... only for both to then bump into each other, drink a hot cuppa, record furiously, hone their skills on their instruments and take on the newly appointed singer Laura fresh from Music school, With at least a albums worth of songs already recorded, they set to release a single each upcoming month for 2019!

With a truck load of influences behind each of the 3 members in the band a few stand out in the imaginary musical venn diagram, Such as Paramore, Fall Out Boy & Pink
But don't let that hide the eclectic mix of other artists that inspired their songs along the way.
Truly songs built to remind you of that great summer time vibe, bringing a smile to your face.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Wake Up

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Wake Up.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

LearningToDive - Single Review: You Said It Best
17 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Learningtodive is one of a series of projects from Bravo Bonez, a musician and producer currently based in Wellington, New Zealand. He released his first single under this name back in November last year, since when he has followed it up with more singles and his debut album Norwegian Pop, which came out in April.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem