4 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jolandi Ford - Single Review: Torn Jeans

22 Oct 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Toe-tapping pop country at its best, with a good dose of sass.

Jolandi Ford’s sound is unashamedly aimed at the commercial country music industry. Her voice soars well over a formulaic backing which sounds like it may have been more programmed than played.

Lyrically Torn Jeans is really good; a young woman who’s not afraid to be down and dirty wearing an ‘old shirt, torn jeans and a baseball cap’. She’s saying she doesn’t follow high fashion, listing some of the world’s top fashion houses saying she has no interest in them..

"Don’t have a stylist on my to do list", is among the stand-out lyrics on this tune.

Musically Torn Jeans is almost too formulaic, like it’s taken from a ‘how to write a modern radio-friendly commercial pop hit' book. I guess the contradiction for me is that for a song with lyrics about being rough and ready, musically it’s anything but. The arrangement is meticulous.

That probably sounds like criticism, and as an alt-country fan, it probably is. But that aside, it is very well constructed, definitely had my toes tapping, and if it get to the better connected social media influencers, and country radio, it’ll blow up huge.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Jolandi Ford

Jolandi Ford is a singing artist born in South Africa. She grew up in a very musically talented family where most of her family members are musicians. She always loved singing and performing from a very young age. She won the Boksburg Idols singing competition in 2012, reached top 4 in East Rand got talent, Top 40 on X-Factor South Africa 2014 and featured on numerous compilation albums.

After the launch of her first debut album Vang My (an Afrikaans & English mixed album) in 2013, her singing career picked up fast. Her country songs have been playing on International radio stations globally.

Jolandi and her family also immigrated to Hamilton New Zealand in 2017 and as a proud resident, she is ready to put everything into her singing career again! She will be launching her first single Torn Jeans in New Zealand in October 2020 and many many more to follow.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jolandi Ford

Releases

There are no releases to display for Jolandi Ford.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ Pioneer Hall, Port Chalmers - 06/11/2020
07 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Bliss Point are a Dunedin based high school band with musical lineage including drummer Tane Cotton, son of audio engineer Dale Cotton, and nephew of Shayne P Carter. Bliss Point take to the end of the room which is used as a stage to a quarter full room of their parents, school pals and unfashionably early concert goers, your humble scribe included.
Read More...
Gig Review: Delaney Davidson @ ADJO, Dunedin - 3/11/2020
04 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Cantabrian entertainer Delaney Davidson is on a smaller venues tour which saw him play in Ophir this week, along with shows at Dunedin’s boutique venue ADJO and at The Galley in Port Chalmers. A mostly seated crowd of around 30 people waited, looking at the stage set up in the corner of ADJO, before Delaney Davidson swaggered his way through the crowd from the back area.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Single Review: Same Boat
30 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Same Boat is Mecuzine’s first release in two years, showcasing a new direction for brothers Joseph and Tony Johns. Lyrically it reflects the global climate situation, "we’re all in the same boat and it’s sinking" from the chorus, spells it out pretty well.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem