9 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jolandi Ford - Single Review: Torn Jeans

22 Oct 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Toe-tapping pop country at its best, with a good dose of sass.

Jolandi Ford’s sound is unashamedly aimed at the commercial country music industry. Her voice soars well over a formulaic backing which sounds like it may have been more programmed than played.

Lyrically Torn Jeans is really good; a young woman who’s not afraid to be down and dirty wearing an ‘old shirt, torn jeans and a baseball cap’. She’s saying she doesn’t follow high fashion, listing some of the world’s top fashion houses saying she has no interest in them..

"Don’t have a stylist on my to do list", is among the stand-out lyrics on this tune.

Musically Torn Jeans is almost too formulaic, like it’s taken from a ‘how to write a modern radio-friendly commercial pop hit' book. I guess the contradiction for me is that for a song with lyrics about being rough and ready, musically it’s anything but. The arrangement is meticulous.

That probably sounds like criticism, and as an alt-country fan, it probably is. But that aside, it is very well constructed, definitely had my toes tapping, and if it get to the better connected social media influencers, and country radio, it’ll blow up huge.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Jolandi Ford

Jolandi Ford is a singing artist born in South Africa. She grew up in a very musically talented family where most of her family members are musicians. She always loved singing and performing from a very young age. She won the Boksburg Idols singing competition in 2012, reached top 4 in East Rand got talent, Top 40 on X-Factor South Africa 2014 and featured on numerous compilation albums.

After the launch of her first debut album Vang My (an Afrikaans & English mixed album) in 2013, her singing career picked up fast. Her country songs have been playing on International radio stations globally.

Jolandi and her family also immigrated to Hamilton New Zealand in 2017 and as a proud resident, she is ready to put everything into her singing career again! She will be launching her first single Torn Jeans in New Zealand in October 2020 and many many more to follow.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jolandi Ford

Releases

There are no releases to display for Jolandi Ford.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Big Scout - Single Review: Mr. Slice
27 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Straight Outta Blenheim, noisy angular post-punk band Big Scout have released an addictive new song, Mr. Slice.
Read More...
Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day
06 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand." It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.
Read More...
James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem