28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Single Review: Seed II

21 Oct 2020 // A review by Shade

There's an implicit line in Rock music between the head-banging craze that makes you want to raid the mosh pit, and the refined preciseness of a subtle yet powerful tune. Very few bands can master both. Even less can do so while complementing their own unique style.

Very few bands are also capable of creating songs which possess the power to transport you. Songs which are so enigmatic, yet so persuading. The sort that coax you away from your reality and place you firmly in a domain surrounded by music - where you are not just listening to it, you become it.

Coridian is one such band, and Seed II is a work of art.

The second in a series of 3 (thus far), Seed II has an allure that will captivate you from beginning to end; holding you prisoner in a cell you don't want to escape from. It's obvious that every moment has been carefully thought out and every melody has been purposefully placed. The result is something which is truly hypnotic.

The intro is the magnet of the song; pulling you inwards until you are encapsulated in sound. The lyrics hold a lot of significance and are very relatable on so many levels - this is very much a 'question the knowledge' track. However, the one thing that makes me keep coming back for more is the driving rhythm which is showcased throughout - its seductive nature makes this a very enticing piece of work.

Although I am sure Seed II would sound incredible played live and loud, this is one song which is best played with headphones on and eyes closed.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Coridian

Coridian is an progressive hard rock group from Auckland, New Zealand. Formed in 2015, the band consists of Mike Raven (Guitar), Kris Raven (Drums), Nick Raven (Bass) & Dity Maharaj (Vocals).

They’ve been described, “Raven brothers (Mike, Kris and Nick respectively) work as a well-oiled machine; the gear box of which is Maharaj, his vocals taking the band from a hum to a scream within seconds” (Ambient Light).

They've worked with some of the best names in NZ and Australian music including Zorran Mendonsa (City Of Souls, Shepherds Reign)) Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Claemus) and Ermin Hamidovic (Architects/Intervals).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Eldur
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Shade

Banks Arcade - Album Review: Future Lovers
28 Jul 2022 // by Shade
For the last 23 years I've been completely immersed in New Zealand music, soaked through to my inner core. I've been living it, breathing it and drinking it in.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: No Way Out
13 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Arrays is JP Carroll, a multi-instrumentalist man of many talents, and here we have his new single No Way Out in all its foot-stomping, head-banging and dance-inducing quality.From the very first drop of sound, it's evident that this song is not going to disappoint.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Time Is Laughing
08 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Some songs stand out more than others, cementing themselves in your mind for days on end. This is one such song.
Read More...
In The Shallows - Single Review: Take It Easy
03 Oct 2020 // by Shade
The opening lyrics set the scene well for this charming little number - "I can't help but wonder is this the only way? Get so caught up in the drama that we forget to play.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Rite of Passage
24 Oct 2019 // by Shade
Home.Adverb - deep; to the heart.
Read More...
Channeled - Single Review: Deeper
06 Aug 2019 // by Shade
Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - Single Review: Tell Me What You're Running From?
29 Jul 2019 // by Shade
There's a lot of crazy in this world - it can test you, put you through all sorts of hardship and adversity, and drain all your energy within minutes. It can feel defeating, overwhelming and downright scary, and sometimes we can feel a very real need to run away.
Read More...
Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019
20 May 2019 // by Shade
Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland. I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem