18 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Miles Calder - Single Review: Take Me Back To How It Was

19 Oct 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

I think I just found the band that I really want to jam with; Miles Calder's new song Take Me Back To How It Was is a sound that really does what it says on the tin, it takes you back to the way it was. This late 60's and 70's psychedelic number really softens the soul and enables one to really re-live by gone days that many of us did not even have the opportunity to experience. I get the feeling of being in a time when time itself does not really matter and the spiritual dance that we all succumb to, just taking over the body.

Everything works here, the instruments, the tempo, the way the electric and acoustic sounds complement each other throughout the song, the uppers and downers, to coin a good 1960's phrase. This single is certainly something different from much of the music that is coming out at the moment, and this is certainly a good thing. I cannot remember the last time a band used the influence of the psychedelic rock era to such acclaim.

I love this bands passion; they exude every note with the drive of people who believe in everything they are portraying. This, in itself, is the hallmark to any good song, it also helps that the songs narrative is about yearning for those bygone days of happier times within the bastion of musical innocence that was the 60's and 70's. Though, many would argue that those days were not innocent, but we can all agree that music in the form we see now was highly influenced by the strides made during this era.

Once again, as a reviewer, I find myself in awe at the constant rate of great Kiwi music that seems to be coming out at this present time. It is almost like musicians have had a lot of time to procrastinate over the last 6 months of so, because of some worldwide pandemic, see there is always a silver lining somewhere. This song is well worth the time to listen to, even though it is close to 5 minutes, and musicians run the risk of turning off listeners by going past the 3 minute mark, but this never gets boring.

'Take Me Back To How It Was gets a strong 3.5 stars from me.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Miles Calder

Miles Calder has been busy waking up from unconscious monotony and has a striking new single to show for it. Almost four years since the folk-tinged releases as Miles Calder & The Rumours and his time living in New York City and Geneva, Miles has emerged with a revived sound and a new band. His new sound evokes early-70's Lennon as much as contemporaries like Kevin Morby and Father John Misty.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Miles Calder

Releases

Autopilot Life
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Miles Calder & The Rumours
Year: 2016
Type: Album
The Crossing Over
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me
24 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities.
Read More...
Kokomo - Album Review: A Little Something From The Attic
01 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
16 Blues songs to review was my mission if I chose to accept it, well naturally I did, otherwise you would not be reading this, but let me just tell you something, was I excited? Oh you can bet your bottom dollar I was.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem