31 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gramsci - Gig Review: Gramsci @ ASB Waterfront Theatre, Auckland - 16/10/2020

18 Oct 2020 // A review by Jason Peters

The anticipation was high for this show for two reasons. One, it was the first gig out for us since Auckland was locked down for the second time this year. Two, seeing one of my favourite LP releases of 2020 performed in its entirety was going to be one hell of a treat.

We arrived to a dark stage with an ominous soundtrack playing and minimal white lights, conjuring up a moody atmosphere. A lone spotlight shines down on Paul McLaney as he looks wistfully into the distance and the title instrumental track Inheritance envelopes the room. The first of three fine instrumentals on the album, halfway through the song the first of many tasty guitar solos chimes in. Paul sounds like he’s channelling Knopfler, Green and Gilmour simultaneously and it’s the perfect opening track to set the scene.

A thinly veiled screen covers the entire front of the stage and on it are projected abstract animated shapes throughout the show which makes for a superb visual companion to each track. Two more characters join Paul on stage. Jol Mulholland on guitar and Greg Haver on drums. They are perched on 3 risers lined up across the front of the stage with a spotlight on each, with the projected graphics on the screen in front, wisps of dry ice and subtle lighting, the stage setting does look very theatrical indeed.

They launch into song two; Achilles Heel, and the first thing that struck me was just how pristine the sound was in this room. These guys really know their sonic dynamics, I was impressed the drum kit sounded so big and lush, with big rolling bottom-end bass and various synth/effect backing tracks and crisp duel guitars melded in the sound was simply sublime, hats off to the sound engineer Chris Gee.

A rousing round of applause ensues, the lads are warming up now as they crack into the next tune Tantalus. An epic track that included a tasty sax solo by Lewis McCallum, and he takes Tantalus into the stratosphere towards the conclusion of the song. One of my faves up next Like A Scar, with its thought-provoking chorus, "Like a scar, just one more drink, cos I deserve it... to take, to take the f**king edge off". Such a cool song.

Paul is relaxed and in good humour, conversing with the audience in between tracks, he comes across as a humble and laid back guy that’s very grateful to have the opportunity to present this latest Gramsci offering to an appreciative audience. The albums overarching theme of the legacies that we inherit through past family lines and the conditioning that shape our lives makes for great soul searching material. I think this is part of the appeal of Inheritance for me, it’s emotionally connected, honest and real.

Pride and Joy is up next and my wife leans in and says this song is her anthem of 2020. An anthem indeed, powerful and punchy. Paul’s voice is in fine form, his vocals have a Bowie/Bryan Ferry vibe, very impressive indeed especially when performed live. Other stand out songs include a beautiful rendition of Ancient History, the sea shanty tinged instrumental Golden Bough and the closer to the album the epic Atlas. The duel guitar mastery of Paul and Jol works so well live, their playing styles complement each other perfectly and Greg is the glue that holds it all together with his tight and solid drumming.

The Inheritance album is now complete and we are treated to three solo acoustic tracks. Stripped back to just guitar and vocals these early tracks showcase Paul’s talents as a gifted songwriter. Jol and Greg come back to join Paul and finish off the show with three tracks from Gramsci’s debut album Permanence. Give Me Strength, Easy and Complicated fit perfectly into this evenings set, they leave the stage thanking the audience to rapturous applause.

A thoroughly enjoyable evening with three men that are very adept at playing their instruments and creating powerful sonic soundscapes. Paul said they plan to take this show around the country and I highly recommend you catch one of their shows.

It’s the first time Gramsci has performed live in 16 years, and what a brilliant comeback.

We are so fortunate to have this level of talent in Aotearoa. Stunning!

 

About Gramsci

The name Gramsci is taken from an infamous Italian political philosopher.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gramsci

Releases

Inheritance
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Like Stray Voltage
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Object
Year: 2002
Type: Album
Permanence
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Jason Peters

Sonar.Suite - Single Review: Flip Siide
09 Sep 2020 // by Jason Peters
Flip Siide kicks off with a lone chilled blues guitar before a sweet vocal style similar to Brittany Howard (Alabama Shakes) kicks into gear. Brendon Thomas is the mastermind behind this slippery little funk number.
Read More...
The Vibes - Single Review: Funk Blaster
20 Aug 2020 // by Jason Peters
Hot of the press this latest offering from The Vibes. Funk Blaster is a tribute to James Brown and the Red Hot Chili Peppers and it's a great big slice of funky fun.
Read More...
SOJØURN - Single Review: Stand Up
20 Aug 2020 // by Jason Peters
As with a lot of established and up and coming Kiwi artists, the pandemic that is Covid-19 has thrown a spanner in the works for recording, releases and live shows and SOJØURN have also been in the same boat. But here it is, the latest offering from these young Northland lads.
Read More...
Summer Thieves - EP Review: Bandaids and Lipstick
30 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
Much like their contemporaries Six60, Summer Thieves started from humble beginnings in Dunedin many moons ago. Starting as a high school band of sorts, Jake and Johnny have been jamming together since the ripe age of 15.
Read More...
Gig Review: L.A.B. @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 3/07/2020
05 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
First off, congrats to L.A.
Read More...
Sola Rosa - Single Review: For The Mighty Dollar Feat. Kevin Mark Trail
01 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
Sola Rosa aka Andrew Spraggon is in a unique position in his career to be able to collaborate with some of the planet's best musicians, and on the second single from the forthcoming album Chasing The Sun he has hit the musical jackpot. The track kicks off with horns, sparse funk guitar and classic strings before kicking into the cool and catchy chorus.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Ruapekapeka
11 Jun 2020 // by Jason Peters
Back in another life (during the 90's), Riqi Harawira used to let my bandmate and I crash at his pad on Fort Street in Auckland whenever we were on tour. He was a good dude, played lead guitar for Dead Flowers and both our bands were on the same label (Wildside).
Read More...
The Slider - Album Review: He Calls Your Name
16 Mar 2020 // by Jason Peters
The Slider features two tortured souls from Auckland heavy rock/blues band His Masters Voice (The Devil's Blues). Rene Black and Az Burns have created a down and dirty little beast here, featuring Rene on lead vocals and drums, with Az tackling all guitars/bass and keys, and there is a stack of talent on display within.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jason Peters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem