20 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Keeltys - Single review: Humans of Hanrahan

15 Oct 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Keeltys, a new five piece indie/garage rock band recently formed in Christchurch.

The band members are all studying music in some way; front man Samuel Keelty is in his second year at ARA, Ben Townshend is also in his second year at ARA, Liam Makinson is in his second year studying jazz guitar, Ben Henderson is also in his second year studying bass, and Josh Derwahl is in his first year studying the noble art of jazz drumming.

Their first single, Humans of Hanrahan is a medium to quick tempo playful number which lyrically can come across as a cautionary tale regarding drug use and drinking alcohol.

The band released the song on Spotify, and as a single with a lyric video on YouTube. The latter proves helpful as at around the two minute mark the guitarist who the camera follows throughout the video appears under a Hanrahan Street, street sign. One can surmise the Humans of Hanrahan are people who live on Hanrahan Street and consume recreational, but not legal, substances.

The band members’ early musical study is evident as there are some nicely written and played parts to the song.

Sam Keelty’s voice reminds me of a young David or Hamish Kilgour The Clean - not a hundred percent in tune, but it tells the story of the song well.

I can imagine Keeltys would be a good band to see live, and the single Humans of Hanrahan is a great introduction to them.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Keeltys

Keeltys is a five piece indie rock band from Christchurch, New Zealand.

Keeltys was originally started as a solo project by Samuel Keelty, in 2018, while studying at Ara Music Arts. After a couple more years of studying and jamming, Keeltys has expanded to include four other players, and are ready to hit the scene.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Keeltys

Releases

There are no releases to display for Keeltys.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Jam Fish - Single Review: Jane’s The Name
01 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Jam Fish, AKA Sam Higham, takes a step back from his usual full band arrangements to bring you an emotional stripped back song titled Jane's the Name. Featuring just acoustic guitar and vocals, this song portrays 4 different aspects that could control one's life, represented by different names.
Read More...
Casey Evans - Single Review: Wild & Free
01 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Casey Evans is as contemporary pop country as they come - if that’s your jam, this is a track for you. Wild & Free was #1 on the NZ country Charts, and #7 on all genres on iTunes upon release, which is no mean trick for an independent artist from The Catlins coast, currently spending time in Dunedin.
Read More...
Gig Review: PRINS & Vikae @ Dive Bar, Dunedin - 26/09/2020
27 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
With most of New Zealand at Covid alert level 1, dancing is allowed at bars and clubs, and a good number of those who came along to see Auckland-based musicians PRINS and Vikae with local support from Molly Devine and Bryn Massey. Bryn Massey is the first of four women with amazing voices for the evening.
Read More...
Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
Marlin's Dreaming - Album Review: Quotidian
21 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Having been a reviewer of life and recorded music since the late 1980's, it is a rare and wonderful feeling to discover a band from my hometown who I haven’t heard of, until they drop a recording that takes my head clean off. Dunedin band Marlin’s Dreaming have released Quotidian, and are about to (Covid willing) head off on a NZ tour in late September and early October.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Contemplate
07 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is a well-seasoned singer-songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand, who’s just released his new 12 song album, Contemplate. The album is available on Duncan’s Bandcamp page as is the modern way of doing things.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem