24 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hummucide - EP Review: Hummucide

15 Oct 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

The debut studio EP from Wellington-based jazz quartet Hummucide is the latest release in what has been quite a busy period for the band, as this is their fourth release in recent months. Both 8 Mullups (which has had more than 30,000 plays on Spotify) and Reacher have been released as singles, and this 23-minute-long EP finds them joined by I’m Just A Bag of Bones and The Mothership Left Without Me. These last two, along with Reacher and a few other songs can also be found on Live at the Arcade so arguably there is no actual new material on this release, as all the songs have been released in one way or another already, but for someone like myself coming across them for the very first time that really isn’t an issue at all!

Saxophonist Toby Leman (Dr. Reknaw, Revulva, General Vibe), keyboard player Ben Stewart (Sky Canvas, Dr. Reknaw), drummer Lennox Grootjans (Dr. Reknaw) and bassist Hugo Olsen-Smith (O and the Mo, Evolving Wilds) all started out at the Te Koki NZSM, and have honed their sound on the road, and it shows. Although the rhythm section is as busy as one would expect in this format, the guys actually stay quite a long way in the background. This is particularly true for Olsen-Smith whose electric bass sound is low in the mix, providing more of an ambience than a strong bottom end, which means the drums feel quite free and loose, more vibrant, and sharper.

Both Stewart and Leman are content to take the melodic lead, although Leman is the more dominant while Stewart often uses quite dated keyboard sounds and patches to create something which is warm and inviting. The sax has the presence one expects in jazz, clean and dominant, either tying in with the others or taking the music in different directions and creating its own spell. While not easy listening jazz, there is something incredibly inviting which lets in the listener and allows them to wander around and explore the EP at their leisure. It is intriguing and interesting at the softer end of the spectrum without ever falling into the mistake of lounge or fading into the background.

It feels like jazz from the Sixties, and that is perfectly fine with me.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Hummucide

Born out of the thriving music scene in Te Aro, Wellington, Hummucide is a four-piece minimalist-rock-jazz group. From BadBadNotGood to Aphex Twin to Yussef Kamaal, their influences come from far and wide. Their goal is to get you dancing and feeling something special.

The band comprises of Toby Leman on saxophone (Dr. Reknaw, Revulva, General Vibe), Ben Stewart on keyboard and synths (Sky Canvas, Dr. Reknaw), Lennox Grootjans on drums (Dr. Reknaw) and Hugo Olsen-Smith on bass (O and the Mo, Evolving Wilds). They all started out at the prestigious Te Koki NZSM, before traveling their own musical roads and coming back together to form the Hummucide sound.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hummucide

Releases

Hummucide
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Grawlixes - Album Review: Love You To Death
20 Jul 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I have been reviewing music for more than 30 years and estimate I have written something like 2 million words on the subject, and I have often been asked the question, “Why?”.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single/Video Review: Pay
20 Jul 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Blue River Baby, AKA BRBB, are back with the first single from their second album, which will be due out next year. They created quite a stir with their debut release in 2019, hitting the Top Ten on the Official NZ Music charts as well as topping the NZ Indie (IMNZ) charts.
Read More...
Tall Folk - EP Review: Live From Martin's
19 Jul 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tall Folk are a relatively new band, only coming together at the end of last year and feature Dunedin singer/songwriter Lara Robertson and mid-Western import Jack Ringhand, with both providing lead and harmony vocals and acoustic guitar. It really is a coming together of styles as Lara is obviously more from the folk end of the spectrum, while Jack’s gravellier rasp is far more set in Americana.
Read More...
Shihad - Single / Video Review: Tear Down Those Names
19 Jul 2021 // by Kev Rowland
It is probably hard for anyone outside Aotearoa to realise just how important Shihad have been to the NZ music scene, but they have had five #1 albums, including the most recent, 2014’s FVEY, and hold the record for the most Top 40 singles entries by a local band. The first time I saw them play was at Western Springs supporting AC/DC, and the way the crowd reacted and sang along to all the words was one heck of an experience, and now at long last they are back with their tenth studio album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Cupid Bar, Auckland - 17/07/2021
18 Jul 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This was a gig I thought I would have to miss, as I had been invited to a wedding, but after the ceremony I realised I could still make it, so it was back into Auckland for another venue which is new to me. Cupid Bar is situated in the foyer of the old Ambassador Theatre, and with the bar on the right-hand side, there is quite a narrow entrance which then opens into a small space where bands can set up.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Single Review: Gridlock Party
17 Jul 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There are some songs which are infectious from the start, with a sense of humour coming through the vocals even before listening to the lyrics, all combined with great hooks and Summer joy. Here we have a number which has been released in the middle of winter, which I am listening to on yet another rainy day in Auckland but is full of the joys of Summer – even if those joys are constrained to being stuck in overheating tin boxes as people make their way out of the city to the beaches or far North.
Read More...
Amos/Anon - Album Review: The Empty Afterwards
13 Jul 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Amos/Anon are a Wellington-based project who have been releasing music for more than a decade now. Mind you, if you have not heard of them then that is probably more by design that you may expect, given that on the Bandcamp page it states If you haven't heard of [amos/anon] then the system is working.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Breath
11 Jul 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Viices have been around the Wellington scene for a few years now, but up until now it has always been the work of Jake McComb, but towards the end of last year the band turned into a trio with the arrival of Liam Crawford on drums, Will Jakicevich on bass. Not only has this meant there has been a change in personnel but also a move in musical direction, which has seen them embrace the punk end of the indie genre.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PERMISSION TO DANCE
    BTS
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem