25 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jan Preston - Album Review: Piano Boogie Woman

13 Oct 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Jan Preston was born in Greymouth, and after discovering the piano at an early age she went the normal route of classical music exams and ended up taking a 5-year classical piano degree at Auckland university. Having determined she did not want to become a concert pianist or teacher she tried out various different musical styles, moving first to Wellington and then to Sydney where she still resides. It took some time for her to discover her calling, but she is now renowned as Australia’s Queen of Boogie Piano as she concentrates mostly on good time boogie woogie.

The basic tracks for this album were recorded during lockdown in Sydney, but after completing quarantine it was completed in Tauranga, and at the time of writing she is on tour with her trio, so if you are quick you will still catch her. She does have some additional musicians on the album with her, who provide an additional layer, but there are times when it is just Jan and her piano and even when the others are involved the focus is always on her. The reason for this is a simple one, in that her style is welcoming and not aggressive and is incredibly melodic as opposed to the roughhouse which some boogie players epitomise. Add strong songs and lyrics with a voice which is steeped in the blues and jazz styles, and it is something which is both familiar yet quite new.

Added to this is that Preston is a classically trained pianist, so she really knows her way around the keys, and this feels less raw and more refined. I do listen to a lot of jazz, and it is fairy unusual to find musicians prepared to back themselves with their own material, yet the only covers on this album are The Glory Of Love and her arrangement of The Nutcracker Suite, here called Nutboogie. Hearing this makes me smile, as it is a delicate boogie woogie take on a song more than 120 years old, and far gentler than the bombastic version Keith Emerson used to provide!

The finest song on the album isn’t actually a boogie woogie number, but a delicate homage to Jan’s father, There’s Not A Day, and was a highlight of the show I was lucky enough to attend last week, so I was pleased to see it here. Each time I play this it takes me to a quiet place, and I think of my own family, which is some achievement. Overall, this is an album to listen to and enjoy, sitting back and relaxing in a warm and welcoming environment.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Jan Preston

Jan was born in Greymouth on the remote West Coast of the South Island of NZ. Her family had little resources or opportunity, but she grew up in an era where people would gather around the piano and sing together. From when she was very young she played piano while everybody sang along or played tea chest basses, eggbeaters, combs, violins, even an old saxophone.

Jan says "I had an Auntie who played honky tonk style, and heard Winifred Atwell along with early rock n roll on our old Columbus Radio in the kitchen."

"Playing piano from the moment I could reach the keys, and being spurred on by my older sister and brother who both played, I studied classical very seriously, becoming a star student, passing all my grades with distinction and gaining a very prestigious place (one of 4 students from the whole of NZ) to study a 5 year classical piano degree at Auckland University."

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jan Preston

Releases

Piano Boogie Woman
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: The First Child @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 22/01/2021
24 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When I sent Mariner the review of their gig the previous week, singer Adam told me they were playing Ding Dong again on the Friday, so I thought to myself why not? So, for the second consecutive Friday I made my way into central Auckland to everyone’s favourite rock dive.
Read More...
Achilles Complex - Single Review: Vice
22 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Achilles Complex started life in Hamilton as a 3-piece power trio in 2019, releasing their debut single Shut It in September of that year, and are now back with their new song Vice having transformed themselves into a quartet of Harley Flynn (guitar, vocals), Jordan Carpenter (bass), Zak Cole (drums) and Reece Gielen (guitar, vocals). They describe themselves as a progressive rock band with roots in rock, funk, indie and metal while also exploring ambient textures such as synthwave, trap, pop and more.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 15/01/2021
16 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
After going back home to Canterbury for Christmas, it was back up to Auckland last weekend and looking forward to my first gig of the year. When I realised that Cafe Fistfight had organised a 4-band bill at the Ding Dong Lounge on the Friday then of course that was the only place to be.
Read More...
Colette Rivers - Album Review: Memory Lake
12 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Colette Rivers is an American-born, New-Zealand raised, self-proclaimed 'Kiwi', with a deep connection to the earth and sea and has named her album after "the bonny, bonny banks of Lake Taupo" where she moved when she was just 11 years old. Her roots are in folk and singer-songwriter, yet while the acoustic guitar is always very important to the sound, she is not averse to bringing in other electric instruments to create soundscapes which mean the songs are very different to each other.
Read More...
Grant Haua - Album Review: Awa Blues
12 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2020 saw me write more than 650 reviews of all manner of music, but the one song which for me really stood head and shoulders above the rest was This is the Place - Tenei Te Ao. It has a raw simplicity and passion which is hard to describe, yet is incredibly effective and grabs me each and every time I play it, and I still enjoy listening to it now as much as I did the very first time.
Read More...
Voodoo Bloo - Album Review: Jacobus
14 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Voodoo Bloo is the new project from ex-Lucifer Gunne frontman Rory McDonald who has decided to take his music in a new direction, and consequently has created a new entity, where for this album he recorded it all himself. Mind you, he hasn’t totally left his old band behind, as the opening song on the album was also the opening number on the last Lucifer Gunne EP, One Day You'll Be The Best Thing That's Ever Happened To Someone, but here Pigs On Antibiotics (Exploding Song) is far more dramatic with the song being way more edgy.
Read More...
Solo Ono - EP Review: Now We Know Who to Blame
14 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Wellington’s Solo Ono are currently operating as a trio, with guitarist/singer Frank Eggleton (Tidal Rave, Echo Beach, Kittentank) and drummer Jordan Stewart (Pleasant Surprise) now joined by bassist Birgit Bachler. It has been two years since their last EP Rogue Planet, which was released as a duo, and these three songs were all partially written that same year, being completed during the 2020 NZ lockdown.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Biggest Pub Gig In The World @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 11/12/2020
13 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
On Friday evening Spark Arena took us all back in time, to a period when many of the punters there that night were going out and having a blast. When I picked up my tickets, I was a little surprised to see they were General Admission, and then as we made our way inside, we had our wrists stamped (with a little guitar).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem