27 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Coridian - Gig Review: Coridian w/ Channeled & Mudshark @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 10/10/2020

Coridian - Gig Review: Coridian w/ Channeled & Mudshark @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 10/10/2020

12 Oct 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

First time at the Ding Dong Lounge since we went back into lockdown, and tonight was set to be a special night with Coridian and Outside In back from their wonderful sets on 11th July at the same venue. Unfortunately, Mikey Brown from Outside In was struck down with a lurgy and was unable to perform (although he valiantly attended tonight at least for a while, boy did he look crook) but Channeled stepped in at the last minute, having played The Thirsty Dog the night before, and were up for being part of the Dead Witch Relaunch.

I caught up with Mudshark before the gig, and they were plotting with bar manager Nik for him to join them onstage later that night. So, I wandered upstairs, walked through the door and… stopped. The booths have gone, speakers are now on the floor, the fish tank is gone, there is a new DJ booth, a new lighting rig, PA, and even some new seating next to the sound desk (although I did have to stifle a chuckle when the barman was asked at one point in the evening if it was okay to sit in the VIP area). It is still the Ding Dong we all know and love, but it feels cleaner, more professional, and ready for lift off. I asked Kris Raven what the new sound was like onstage and was told it was really clear, and "bloody loud".

Time was pressing on and I kept checking my watch, as surely Mudshark would soon be on the stage but where was everybody? With bassist Neb now safely(?) in the UK, the band have morphed into a rather unusual quartet in that they have guitar/keyboards and drums, along with Rory at the front. They started with Uncle Blen and definitely let everyone know they were here. There were a few people wearing Mudshark shirts and some congregated at the front where they proceeded to have an absolute blast as the band made full use of the new PA to create something heavy but light, solid with a groove, and a definite sense of swagger. Rory moved between ‘normal’ singing and trying to rip his lungs out of his chest and the longer they played the more relaxed and energetic they became.

Mudshark also played the only cover of the night, Lamb of God’s Laid To Rest, with Nik joining on dual vocals with Rory, and they blasted it out. Every metalhead in the place was certainly satiated by the end of their set. It will be interesting to see if they stay in this format, but certainly the bass was not missed in their sound. What was missing in action though was the crowd, as there were just enough for people to enjoy what was happening but not nearly enough for the bands to be really appreciated.

Before the gig I caught up with Ben Ruegg from Channeled who told me that he is actually a music teacher. He then introduced me to guitarist Matt Garratt and bassist Michelle Anderton and told me they were also music teachers, all at different schools! Drummer Branden Pritchard was doing his best to bring down the average age of the band as he used to a pupil of Ben’s!

As soon as Channeled started playing there was obviously an issue with the sound, as people speaking a few feet away from me were louder than the band, but it wasn’t going to stop the guys from having fun as they ripped into Isolation, a track they released a few months ago. The sound soon improved and as it was cranked up everyone paid close attention to the twin guitar band, which is more hard rock than metal but combining elements of both alongside power pop. Given they were following such a heavy outfit they made the wise decision to drop a softer song from the set and concentrate more on giving the crowd what they wanted, and everyone was soon lapping it up. Both Matt and Ben provide lead guitar, with Ben also providing all vocals, but it is not unusual for the guitars to be missing altogether and for Michelle to be providing the melody, using a pick to provide a definitive strike on the bass. Then at the back was Brendan who is possibly the happiest drummer I have ever seen and played the whole gig with a massive smile on his face, looking as if he simply could not believe where he was, but definitely there on merit providing a strong backbone.

The highlight of the night was probably Is The Glass? which will be on the new album (due later this year); far more complex, this had some string interactions and weaving of melodies. The longer they played the better they were, and it was only later that I discovered they had actually only played a few gigs together, so this is still early days for them in many ways. When We’re Gone is another fine example of bass leading the melody and groove, with the guitars coming crunching in over the top yet also quite dreamy and reflective. By the end of the set the crowd were singing and heavily involved in the music, all having a blast.

What is there left to say about Coridian? The Raven brothers play as if their lives depend on it, and somehow in the middle of the maelstrom is Dity Maharaj whose vocals are always clear no matter how much jumping around he is doing. Kris was resplendent in an Outside In t-shirt, but tonight was a night for baseball caps with all the band wearing their merch, which provided them with a solid look. They kicked off with Algorithm and immediately it was on. This is a band that does not need to warm up or get the crowd on their side: they get onstage, plug in, kick off, and the world is immediately tumultuous, sweaty, and full of energy. Nick is the solid rock, Kris is always in control, while Mike continues to do his best Scott Ian impression and Dity goes between standing still while he belts out some superb vocals to becoming a ball of energy wondering how far he can jump.

The Witness started with some complex drum patterns, and they really know how to build emotion and power, with Dity always at the front. When he announced that it was only their second gig of the year I was amazed as they are just so tight, so together, that one imagines they are gigging all the time, although in fairness 2020 has been somewhat unusual. Their whole set was a blur as the crowd were egging them on, the band were responding, and they soon ripped through the song list. I could not believe it when they started playing Seed 2 as I knew that was the last one, but what happened to the rest of them? It was almost as if everyone there was so in the zone that normal rules of time and space had changed – there was just no way they had played all the songs, it seemed as if they had only been up there for five minutes! Of course, there was no way that was going to be the end, so they came back with Wicked Game before finishing with Blind Faith. Way too soon it was over, and one of the finest Kiwi bands around were looking to pack up their gear while the DJ made his way to the new booth to start his set.

This was a great way to relaunch Dead Witch, who have made some serious investment into improving the experience for punters, and all power to them for doing so at a time when it will not have been easy. Tonight, there were three very different bands, who really complemented each other, and it was a real shame that there were not more people there to see it. Local bands and venues need support, so get out there!


Photos courtesy of Morgan Creative
Coridian
Mudshark
Channeled

 

About Coridian

Take fireball vocal powerhouse Dity and the hard hitting, harder grooving Raven brothers, bind them together and you get Coridian. It's the four-piece Auckland based who are fast becoming one of the best new names in Kiwi rock.

They've worked with some of the best names in NZ and Australian music including Zorran Mendonsa (Blacklistt/City Of Souls), Paul Lawrence (His Master’s Voice), Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Shihad) and Ermin Hamidovic (Architects/Intervals).

They've toured extensively around NZ, including their own headlining tours and performing with high profile NZ acts such as Devilskin, City of Souls, I Am Giant, Skinny Hobos and Written by Wolves, as well as international acts such as P.O.D (USA), Fuel (USA), Fozzy (USA), Sumo Cyco (CAN) & Red Sea (AUS).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Eldur
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem