6 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Coridian - Gig Review: Coridian w/ Channeled & Mudshark @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 10/10/2020

Coridian - Gig Review: Coridian w/ Channeled & Mudshark @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 10/10/2020

12 Oct 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

First time at the Ding Dong Lounge since we went back into lockdown, and tonight was set to be a special night with Coridian and Outside In back from their wonderful sets on 11th July at the same venue. Unfortunately, Mikey Brown from Outside In was struck down with a lurgy and was unable to perform (although he valiantly attended tonight at least for a while, boy did he look crook) but Channeled stepped in at the last minute, having played The Thirsty Dog the night before, and were up for being part of the Dead Witch Relaunch.

I caught up with Mudshark before the gig, and they were plotting with bar manager Nik for him to join them onstage later that night. So, I wandered upstairs, walked through the door and… stopped. The booths have gone, speakers are now on the floor, the fish tank is gone, there is a new DJ booth, a new lighting rig, PA, and even some new seating next to the sound desk (although I did have to stifle a chuckle when the barman was asked at one point in the evening if it was okay to sit in the VIP area). It is still the Ding Dong we all know and love, but it feels cleaner, more professional, and ready for lift off. I asked Kris Raven what the new sound was like onstage and was told it was really clear, and "bloody loud".

Time was pressing on and I kept checking my watch, as surely Mudshark would soon be on the stage but where was everybody? With bassist Neb now safely(?) in the UK, the band have morphed into a rather unusual quartet in that they have guitar/keyboards and drums, along with Rory at the front. They started with Uncle Blen and definitely let everyone know they were here. There were a few people wearing Mudshark shirts and some congregated at the front where they proceeded to have an absolute blast as the band made full use of the new PA to create something heavy but light, solid with a groove, and a definite sense of swagger. Rory moved between ‘normal’ singing and trying to rip his lungs out of his chest and the longer they played the more relaxed and energetic they became.

Mudshark also played the only cover of the night, Lamb of God’s Laid To Rest, with Nik joining on dual vocals with Rory, and they blasted it out. Every metalhead in the place was certainly satiated by the end of their set. It will be interesting to see if they stay in this format, but certainly the bass was not missed in their sound. What was missing in action though was the crowd, as there were just enough for people to enjoy what was happening but not nearly enough for the bands to be really appreciated.

Before the gig I caught up with Ben Ruegg from Channeled who told me that he is actually a music teacher. He then introduced me to guitarist Matt Garratt and bassist Michelle Anderton and told me they were also music teachers, all at different schools! Drummer Branden Pritchard was doing his best to bring down the average age of the band as he used to a pupil of Ben’s!

As soon as Channeled started playing there was obviously an issue with the sound, as people speaking a few feet away from me were louder than the band, but it wasn’t going to stop the guys from having fun as they ripped into Isolation, a track they released a few months ago. The sound soon improved and as it was cranked up everyone paid close attention to the twin guitar band, which is more hard rock than metal but combining elements of both alongside power pop. Given they were following such a heavy outfit they made the wise decision to drop a softer song from the set and concentrate more on giving the crowd what they wanted, and everyone was soon lapping it up. Both Matt and Ben provide lead guitar, with Ben also providing all vocals, but it is not unusual for the guitars to be missing altogether and for Michelle to be providing the melody, using a pick to provide a definitive strike on the bass. Then at the back was Brendan who is possibly the happiest drummer I have ever seen and played the whole gig with a massive smile on his face, looking as if he simply could not believe where he was, but definitely there on merit providing a strong backbone.

The highlight of the night was probably Is The Glass? which will be on the new album (due later this year); far more complex, this had some string interactions and weaving of melodies. The longer they played the better they were, and it was only later that I discovered they had actually only played a few gigs together, so this is still early days for them in many ways. When We’re Gone is another fine example of bass leading the melody and groove, with the guitars coming crunching in over the top yet also quite dreamy and reflective. By the end of the set the crowd were singing and heavily involved in the music, all having a blast.

What is there left to say about Coridian? The Raven brothers play as if their lives depend on it, and somehow in the middle of the maelstrom is Dity Maharaj whose vocals are always clear no matter how much jumping around he is doing. Kris was resplendent in an Outside In t-shirt, but tonight was a night for baseball caps with all the band wearing their merch, which provided them with a solid look. They kicked off with Algorithm and immediately it was on. This is a band that does not need to warm up or get the crowd on their side: they get onstage, plug in, kick off, and the world is immediately tumultuous, sweaty, and full of energy. Nick is the solid rock, Kris is always in control, while Mike continues to do his best Scott Ian impression and Dity goes between standing still while he belts out some superb vocals to becoming a ball of energy wondering how far he can jump.

The Witness started with some complex drum patterns, and they really know how to build emotion and power, with Dity always at the front. When he announced that it was only their second gig of the year I was amazed as they are just so tight, so together, that one imagines they are gigging all the time, although in fairness 2020 has been somewhat unusual. Their whole set was a blur as the crowd were egging them on, the band were responding, and they soon ripped through the song list. I could not believe it when they started playing Seed 2 as I knew that was the last one, but what happened to the rest of them? It was almost as if everyone there was so in the zone that normal rules of time and space had changed – there was just no way they had played all the songs, it seemed as if they had only been up there for five minutes! Of course, there was no way that was going to be the end, so they came back with Wicked Game before finishing with Blind Faith. Way too soon it was over, and one of the finest Kiwi bands around were looking to pack up their gear while the DJ made his way to the new booth to start his set.

This was a great way to relaunch Dead Witch, who have made some serious investment into improving the experience for punters, and all power to them for doing so at a time when it will not have been easy. Tonight, there were three very different bands, who really complemented each other, and it was a real shame that there were not more people there to see it. Local bands and venues need support, so get out there!


Photos courtesy of Morgan Creative
Coridian
Mudshark
Channeled

 

About Coridian

Take fireball vocal powerhouse Dity and the hard hitting, harder grooving Raven brothers, bind them together and you get Coridian. It's the four-piece Auckland based who are fast becoming one of the best new names in Kiwi rock.

They've worked with some of the best names in NZ and Australian music including Zorran Mendonsa (Blacklistt/City Of Souls), Paul Lawrence (His Master’s Voice), Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Shihad) and Ermin Hamidovic (Architects/Intervals).

They've toured extensively around NZ, including their own headlining tours and performing with high profile NZ acts such as Devilskin, City of Souls, I Am Giant, Skinny Hobos and Written by Wolves, as well as international acts such as P.O.D (USA), Fuel (USA), Fozzy (USA), Sumo Cyco (CAN) & Red Sea (AUS).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Eldur
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Living State - Single Review: One Sided
04 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Whenever I hear anyone bemoaning the state of music on the radio, I tell them to get out to places like Ding Dong and actually live and breathe what is really going on in the scene, not what some people just want to tell you. Last Saturday I was there at yet another gig, and while I was having a chat with one of the musicians a guy came up and joined in.
Read More...
Stealphish - Single Review: Auri
04 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Cafe Fistfight guitarist Josh Barker in his alter ego as Stealphish. The only other person involved on this recording is his wife Nicole who provides piano for the first 35 seconds of the nearly 7-minute-long song.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Water Went Away
03 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Proud Coromandel boy Dan Sharp is back with his latest EP, Water Went Away, and I can only concur with Corinne’s review of his last EP, Slack Tide, in that we really need an album! This collection of five songs loosely follows through the various stages of a breakup and the significant life changes that happen as part of that such as moving to a new house, moving town, being unable to access certain things, wondering what was going to happen next etc.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pencarrow @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/05/2021
02 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I have lost count of how many times I have been to Ding Dong in the last year, I think it is somewhere between “lots” and “loads”, so consequently it is starting to feel very much like a place where every barman knows my name (and what I drink). I have been looking forward to catching Pencarrow since I came across their debut album Growth In The Absence of Light which was released last year.
Read More...
Gig Review: BOTB Winners Tour with Big Tasty & guests @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 30/04/2021
01 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Back off to the Anthology Lounge for a 4-band bill, which I was really looking forward to. It was going to be the first time I had seen Cafe Fistfight in a while, I had heard good things about The Minnehahas (and I know drummer Neo from White Noise Mafia), I had reviewed the album by The RVMES while this was the last night of the tour for BOTB winners Big Tasty so it was all set for a great session.
Read More...
JoshDannMusic - Single Review: Just For A Moment
29 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Josh Dann is a Hamilton-based multi-instrumentalist whose musical journey started at the age of eleven when he was inspired to pick up an instrument when he heard someone playing a clarinet. Since then, he has also taken up other instruments such as saxophone, piano and bass, and his latest single finds him playing all instruments apart from drums, which are provided by Luke Rodgers.
Read More...
Age of Destitute - Single Review: Voiceless
26 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Age of Destitute are a new band formed by Rezwan Ashraf (vocals, lead guitar) and Sammy Iqbal (rhythm guitar, bass). The duo are both originally from Bangladesh, and only met by chance here in New Zealand, and were soon jamming and trying out different ideas.
Read More...
Plague of the Fallen - EP Review: Bleeding and Vehement
25 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
It has been a long road for Plague of the Fallen who released their debut EP Unleash the Vermin some 10 years ago, but the intervening years have seen line-up changes and even a hiatus, but now they are back with a six-track 15-minute-long EP, Bleeding and Vehement. This is brutal death metal, making for a wonderful attack on the senses.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem