1 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow

12 Oct 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.

The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic. When the beat comes in and takes hold you have no choice but you nod your head along and feel good. Vocal production is slick here, standing up amongst the current pop trend right now. Excellent delivery allows for the lyrics to flow effortlessly over the uplifting beat.

Written by theajsound and co-produced by Dominik Wirsching and Julian Huisel, Sorrow. is a slick and soothing slice of pop. In keeping with his signature style, the song is packed with catchy pop melodies and hooks and set to an atmospheric soundscape with a clear message. "It is all about embracing your life and enjoying every step of the way," he says. "It acknowledges the obstacles you face and how you can often hold yourself back. I want people to listen to Sorrow. and think about how they can move on and leave their baggage behind." AJ describes his music as much more than just songs. He wants listeners to enjoy the whole experience and says if you listen closely to Sorrow. the intricate layers of instrumentation make the perfect soundtrack for a feel-good movie.

This is a really solid and well produced track, make sure to check out Sorrow today.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About theajsound

theajsound is an-up-and coming RnB/Pop artist from Auckland.

Indo-Kiwi AJ has been honing his craft as a musician after dating a pianist with a musically inclined family. But music has always run through his veins, with a guitarist father who encouraged his musical development. AJ took that and then went on to study with a theatrical and operatic vocal coach.

With four previously released singles, there is much more to come from this talented up-and-coming artist, with further releases planned for 2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for theajsound

Releases

There are no releases to display for theajsound.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Dilz - Single Review: Resurrection Feat. He Ra
22 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz is real. He is authentic.
Read More...
Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King
21 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Ride The Wave Feat. Valle
26 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I’m a big fan of Hip-Hop - I teach it at school to my students. Hip-Hop is about being real and it has an honest vibe to it.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: Cotton Candy
16 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Tracks like this deserve a good amount of attention. It's funky, groovy and makes you feel good.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: M.I.A
23 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Combining the forces of artists Sam V, Aidan Fine, JARNA, Brokeboi Ace and producers EDY, CreationKit & M4, Young & $lept On (Y$O) is New Zealand's newest supergroup. This stable of talent is set to disrupt airwaves and social media with their eclectic sense of style, talent and vision - demonstrated by the group's first release M.
Read More...
Ryan Farrell - Single Review: Teenage Dreamer
22 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I love it when these sorts of things happen. At just 18, the new track Teenage Dreamer from Ryan Farrell is another example of a young artist who had a vision for their sound and delivers on it.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin
29 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.
Read More...
Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem