25 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow

12 Oct 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.

The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic. When the beat comes in and takes hold you have no choice but you nod your head along and feel good. Vocal production is slick here, standing up amongst the current pop trend right now. Excellent delivery allows for the lyrics to flow effortlessly over the uplifting beat.

Written by theajsound and co-produced by Dominik Wirsching and Julian Huisel, Sorrow. is a slick and soothing slice of pop. In keeping with his signature style, the song is packed with catchy pop melodies and hooks and set to an atmospheric soundscape with a clear message. "It is all about embracing your life and enjoying every step of the way," he says. "It acknowledges the obstacles you face and how you can often hold yourself back. I want people to listen to Sorrow. and think about how they can move on and leave their baggage behind." AJ describes his music as much more than just songs. He wants listeners to enjoy the whole experience and says if you listen closely to Sorrow. the intricate layers of instrumentation make the perfect soundtrack for a feel-good movie.

This is a really solid and well produced track, make sure to check out Sorrow today.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About theajsound

theajsound is an-up-and coming RnB/Pop artist from Auckland.

Indo-Kiwi AJ has been honing his craft as a musician after dating a pianist with a musically inclined family. But music has always run through his veins, with a guitarist father who encouraged his musical development. AJ took that and then went on to study with a theatrical and operatic vocal coach.

With four previously released singles, there is much more to come from this talented up-and-coming artist, with further releases planned for 2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for theajsound

Releases

There are no releases to display for theajsound.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: Don’t Know For Sure
12 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ignatia : Rising are a 4-piece, occasional more piece, pop/rock group who crafted their style in the Wild West (Auckland, NZ) party and club circuit in the mid 90's. Their newest track, Don't Know For Sure brings about a sense of nostalgia.
Read More...
Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem