23 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Imperial April - Single Review: Release Me

08 Oct 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

Imperial April are releasing their new single Release Me on 9 October 2020, and by golly it's an absolute corker, and I will not let anyone else say different. This song has so much going for it, from its production, to the wonderfully enchanting singing, to the 80's summer vibe that will just keep the summer of 2020 a positive time considering the rest of the garbage we have all had to deal with. This is a sure fire hit within every BBQ party that has the privilege to be set alight.

With so many great things to say about this song, I really want to zero in on the uplifting spirit it creates from the get go. The opening riff to the sultry sounds of the chorus instantaneously gets the foot tapping without you even knowing. The song is so good that there really does not need to be much change throughout its glorious 3 minutes of ear time. It certainly helps that I cannot hide my love for the type of sound this band has produced, so much so, that I happy to bet on my two rabbits that you to will not be disappointed by taking the time to listen to the song, and then purchase it to continue to help out local New Zealand talent during this trying time.

I really believe that the less talking I do about this song the better, it really speaks for itself, you just have to make that leap of faith and trust old me, because I know what I am talking about. Once you have, I will be seeing you on the dance floor at one of those BBQ's. Great song, great mood changer, positive vibes, I cannot wait to see what comes next.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Imperial April

One band's trash is another band's treasure. Imperial April began as a way to up-cycle songs that didn’t quite fit the mould of Victoria and Andy Knopp’s electro-pop project The Response. At first just a selection of songs burnt to CD-R for a mother’s day present, the project has taken on a life of it’s own. After years as a supporting musician lurking in the shadows, Victoria has found a voice as front person. Blending catchy melodies and contemplative lyrics, Imperial April deliver guitar heavy power pop that is sure to get stuck firmly in your head.

For fans of Weezer, The Beths, The Cars, Lucy Dacus and Angel Olsen.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Imperial April

Releases

An April Christmas
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem