28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'

08 Oct 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.

On the first track, Fart King, there is an undeniable influence of late 90's west coast hip-hop rap. With its killer bass line, solid beat and exceptional rap delivery, I couldn't help but bop my head and giggle a couple of times, especially the ending. Very clever.

Then to switch things up, after another skit, the next track Just For Summer dials it back a bit and has more laid back vibe. The creative use of autotune here is welcome and adds to the tone of the track. Carrying on into the song is the sound of a campfire from the skit just before this track. The rap here is again delivered so well. From an audio production standpoint, it is ear candy. The vocals sound crisp and clear and allow for the lyrics to be front and centre.

The EP showcases a few different styles that allow Sam V, bKidd and EDY to explore different styles of rap, like on tracks Do It and Shawty, the latter I have already reviewed here.

Crusin' is a stand out track for sure. With the groovy RnB soaked beat holding it all together, this is one track you can imagine cruising to. That chorus just sings to you while also having solid flow in the first verse and then giving the listener or more melodic second verse. Just another demonstration on how this EP delivers so much diversity with its 8 tracks.

Overall, it definitely feels like a throwback EP to some of my favourite moments of rap from the late 90's with artists like Eminem, Wu-Tang and Dr Dre.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Sam V

Sam V makes music and stuff (normally they call it R&B but not always).

He's lightskin.

* 22 Years old

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sam V

Releases

Cruisin'
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Taiotims - EP Review: Thank You For Your Patience
22 Nov 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats.
Read More...
Eliezer - Single Review: Certified Professional Dreamer
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is back after a little while with his new track Certified Professional Dreamer. Produced with long-time collaborator Ten Oh, the track continues to show why Eliezer is name you need to stay aware of.
Read More...
Teazse - Single Review: Love, Money Or Drugs
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Teazse, an independent rap artist from Auckland, brings a lot of what people like about modern hip hop and brings it into his own world, while still acknowledging the sound of those that came before. For example, the sampled pitched voice works well when used well, and it's done here well.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: I'm Life Feat Nawazish Ali Khan
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental.
Read More...
Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem