20 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'

08 Oct 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.

On the first track, Fart King, there is an undeniable influence of late 90's west coast hip-hop rap. With its killer bass line, solid beat and exceptional rap delivery, I couldn't help but bop my head and giggle a couple of times, especially the ending. Very clever.

Then to switch things up, after another skit, the next track Just For Summer dials it back a bit and has more laid back vibe. The creative use of autotune here is welcome and adds to the tone of the track. Carrying on into the song is the sound of a campfire from the skit just before this track. The rap here is again delivered so well. From an audio production standpoint, it is ear candy. The vocals sound crisp and clear and allow for the lyrics to be front and centre.

The EP showcases a few different styles that allow Sam V, bKidd and EDY to explore different styles of rap, like on tracks Do It and Shawty, the latter I have already reviewed here.

Crusin' is a stand out track for sure. With the groovy RnB soaked beat holding it all together, this is one track you can imagine cruising to. That chorus just sings to you while also having solid flow in the first verse and then giving the listener or more melodic second verse. Just another demonstration on how this EP delivers so much diversity with its 8 tracks.

Overall, it definitely feels like a throwback EP to some of my favourite moments of rap from the late 90's with artists like Eminem, Wu-Tang and Dr Dre.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Sam V

Sam V makes music and stuff (normally they call it R&B but not always).

He's ightskin.

* 22 Years old

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sam V

Releases

There are no releases to display for Sam V.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
An Electric Heart - Album Review: Otiose Me
06 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As you press play, the prologue hits you hard and it is obvious that Luke Pell, known as An Electric Heart, has a great understanding on sonics and dynamics on his new album Otiose Me.Luke Pell describes the An Electric Heart sound as 'alternative pop'.
Read More...
Matt Bizzle - Single Review: Just Let Me Know with Kevin Posey Feat. Lily Jackson
05 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The reggaeton beat has been quite the staple in music trends for some time now, and with the new track Just Let Me Know from Matt Bizzle, it isn't the main feature. Instead, it is used in the right places to give this track a different vibe at the exact moment it is needed.
Read More...
Lester - Single Review: Sometimes Feat. Aunty Rae
29 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On Lester's latest track Sometimes, featuring Aunty Rae, the New Zealand Hip-Hop artist turns his focus inward and discusses the things that we miss when we are away from home; which in his case is a list of memories that make home what it is. And yet, the real meaning of home is blurred and put to question.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem