14 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'

08 Oct 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.

On the first track, Fart King, there is an undeniable influence of late 90's west coast hip-hop rap. With its killer bass line, solid beat and exceptional rap delivery, I couldn't help but bop my head and giggle a couple of times, especially the ending. Very clever.

Then to switch things up, after another skit, the next track Just For Summer dials it back a bit and has more laid back vibe. The creative use of autotune here is welcome and adds to the tone of the track. Carrying on into the song is the sound of a campfire from the skit just before this track. The rap here is again delivered so well. From an audio production standpoint, it is ear candy. The vocals sound crisp and clear and allow for the lyrics to be front and centre.

The EP showcases a few different styles that allow Sam V, bKidd and EDY to explore different styles of rap, like on tracks Do It and Shawty, the latter I have already reviewed here.

Crusin' is a stand out track for sure. With the groovy RnB soaked beat holding it all together, this is one track you can imagine cruising to. That chorus just sings to you while also having solid flow in the first verse and then giving the listener or more melodic second verse. Just another demonstration on how this EP delivers so much diversity with its 8 tracks.

Overall, it definitely feels like a throwback EP to some of my favourite moments of rap from the late 90's with artists like Eminem, Wu-Tang and Dr Dre.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Sam V

Sam V makes music and stuff (normally they call it R&B but not always).

He's lightskin.

* 22 Years old

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sam V

Releases

Cruisin'
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
Swerve City @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 13/03/2021
14 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
It's a packed house. That's for sure.
Read More...
Keeley Shade - Single Review: On My Mind
11 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
On My Mind is a perfect example of how simple ideas can become fleshed out to provide the listener an experience worth repeating.Keeley Shade, a Canadian-born New Zealand-based singer-songwriter is releasing her debut single On My Mind.
Read More...
James Loan - EP Review: The Loan To Society
10 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
James Loan is a new young Rap/Drill artist that at only age 16 has just released his EP, The Loan To Society. I commend this effort.
Read More...
JAN - Single Review: Wud?
06 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Wud? is a new track from JAN featuring Anna Bennetto and Sam Higham.
Read More...
Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem