17 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Samuel Philip Cooper - Single Review: Hope In Your Heart

08 Oct 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the second single from Samuel Philip Cooper, the Wellington-based pianist who will be releasing his debut album Breaking The Silence next month. This was originally inspired when a friend of his told him he was suffering from cancer and was having to undergo chemotherapy. Hearing that someone you know has been diagnosed with that awful disease is a massive shock to the system, and Samuel took solace the only way he knew how by sitting at a piano and improvising a melody.

That melody forms the main part of Hope In Your Heart, with plenty of triplets and nuances it again reminds me of water going through a brook, the light shining on the water as it ripples and moves over the stones. “Ultimately, this song is about stepping out of the dark/speaking up about various health struggles will enable more hope and brightness to be put in your heart, especially by your friends, family or GP. Their hope, love and support can put and lead you on a path to a brighter and happier place, instead suffering silently alone in darkness”, Samuel says.

It certainly does that, but for me this number is just too short, as it is less than two minutes in length. I would have preferred for the themes to be more fully developed and extended to at least double that length, allowing for more breadth and depth. The introduction also feels as if it was originally a separate piece of music and although this may be a deliberate mechanism on the part of Cooper to have darkness moving to light it does not work as well as he may have wished. However, he has a deft touch on the keyboard, and I look forward to the album with interest.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Samuel Philip Cooper

Samuel Cooper is a contemporary solo pianist/composer based in Wellington. Composing since 2017, Sam’s compositions are deep, healing, and aim to tell stories that reflect some tough periods he has experienced in his first 25 years of life to help raise awareness for mental health and make a difference. Through his compositions and accompanying messages, he encourages others to speak up about their mental health instead of suffering silently like too many do.

Samuel draws inspiration from a vast array of contemporary pianists like Brian Crain and Michele McLaughlin, as well as many others from around the world. He hopes that his playing uplifts and enlightens listeners, and most importantly brightens people’s days and puts smiles on faces.

The piano is an instrument ingrained in Samuel’s bloodline – being the great-nephew of the late Peter Cooper, a well-known 20th century New Zealand concert pianist and a war pianist in World War II.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Samuel Philip Cooper

Releases

Breaking The Silence
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The RVMES - Album Review: Lifetime
14 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The RVMES (pronounced “rooms”) are back with a ten-track release entitled Lifetime, following from their 9-track self-titled EP in 2019, plus numerous singles. Here we have a band who are determined not to sit within any particular genre, and while much of what they perform could fall under the banners of indie, alternative, pop and/or psychedelic, they bring much more than that into the mix.
Read More...
FYVEYES - Album Review: Elephant Room
12 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
FYVEYES, a young Hawkes Bay trio were formed by Harry Champion (guitar, lead vocals) with Harry Young (bass) and Harper Champion (drums) to play some gigs which had already been booked by Harry C prior to his previous band breaking up. The Champion brothers had already been in a band together called Elephant Room and loved the idea of picking out an elephant in the room when you are in a room full of elephants, so this time around they used it as an album title.
Read More...
Gig Review: Written By Wolves @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 09/04/2021
11 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was going to be a few firsts for me, including that this was going to be my first time at Ding Dong for a sell-out gig, as well as the first time I had seen Written By Wolves in concert. For the latter, I had been told I was a WBW virgin, while a certain photographer commented he must be a WBW slut!
Read More...
Elidi - Single Review: Witches Brew
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Christchurch quintet Elidi are back with their latest single, released just in time for their South Island gigs with Pull Down the Sun in April, before they head out on a NZ-wide tour with Stonehurst in a few months’ time. They describe themselves as progressive, but before you start thinking these guys are Genesis or Pink Floyd clones, understand they are talking progressive in its truest sense, which is blending together different styles and types of music into something which refuses to sit sedately within any particular sub-genre and instead goes wherever it leads, being taken on a journey in the same way as the listener.
Read More...
Album Review: The New Blue - Pixie Williams Reimagined
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Before starting on the music on this tribute album, we first need to understand who Pixie Williams was and the impact she had on NZ music. Pixie was the first wahine Maori vocalist to reach number one on the New Zealand singles chart, with the song Blue Smoke in 1949.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/03/2021
02 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was always going to be interesting, as this was the first time myself and my eldest daughter had been to a concert together for more than 16 years. The last time was for Bowling For Soup, and one of her achievements that night was reducing the average age of the audience, something she did again this evening.
Read More...
Bridge Burner - Album Review: Disempath
30 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from 2018’s Null Apostle, Auckland’s Bridge Burner are back with their second album, Disempath. Featuring guitarist Josh Hughes (Vassafor, Graves), vocalist Ben Read (ex-Ulcerate, In Dread Response), bassist Gary Brown, drummer Louis Malloy (ex-Anabyss) and guitarist Maxwell Gravelle (ex-Hexis, Setentis), here we have a group who are determined to push their music and their listeners to the very limits.
Read More...
Blindfolded and Led to the Woods - Album Review: Nightmare Withdrawals
25 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I first came across Christchurch-based band Blindfolded and Led to the Woods some four years back when they released their second album, Modern Adoxography. It had a huge impact on me, and I described it as having a musical foundation built upon brutal death metal, elements of demented grindcore and bizarre sci-fi tones weaving their way into the complex structures, resulting in an engaging and damaging listening experience.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem